Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 2, 2003, 03:36 AM   #1
illumin8
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: East Coast, US
Question After your G5 arrives, what will your setup look like?

I just placed the order for my dual 2.0 ghz. G5 and I can't wait until September...

Anyway, I just thought I would post what my setup will be like in my office after it arrives, and I was wondering what other's setups will be like as well:

Computers:
  • Dual 2.0 Ghz. PowerMac G5
  • 4GB PC3200 RAM
  • 2x 120GB SATA 8MB cache hard drives
  • 4x Superdrive
  • ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB
  • Logitech Cordless MX Duo (black/silver)
  • Dell Dimension 8300 P4 2.6-C (800 mhz. FSB, Hyperthreading)
  • 2GB PC3200 RAM
  • 2x 120GB ATA133 8MB cache hard drives
  • Pioneer 4x DVD-R (DVR-105)
  • ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB
  • Logitech Cordless MX Duo (black/silver)
Displays:
  • 2x Dell 1900FP 19" 1280x1024 flat panels.
  • One connected to each computer.
  • Secondary VGA cable on each monitor cross-connected to other computer.
  • This is the neatest thing... it allows me to use both displays side by side (extended desktop support) with either computer if I want to, or use one on each computer.

Other accessories:
  • 30GB iPod
  • Kodak CX4320 digital camera
  • Tascam US-428 USB sound card
  • Klipsch Promedia GMX D-5.1 speakers
  • One really wide desk to fit it all on

Total price for everything: Less than $6000...

I think on the displays is where I really saved money... Sure, it's not a 23" Cinema display, but stick two high quality 19" 1280x1024 flat panels next to each other and now you've got basically an inexpensive plasma display in your office.

What setup will you guys have when your G5 gets here?
illumin8 is offline   0
Old Jul 2, 2003, 04:04 AM   #2
akushlan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Send a message via AIM to akushlan Send a message via Yahoo to akushlan
Dual 2.0 Ghz. PowerMac G5
8GB PC3200 RAM
2x 250GB SATA 8MB cache hard drives
4x Superdrive
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB
Apple Keyboard/Mouse

17" PowerBook
1GB RAM
60GB Hard Drive
SuperDrive

14" 900 MHz iBook
640MB RAM
60 GB Hard Drive
Combo Drive

Alienware Area-51
3.2 GHz P4 w/ 800MHz FSB
2 GB RAM
2 x 200 GB Hard Drive
DVD Burner
Combo Drive
etc.

30GB iPod
2 x 23" Cinema Display
AEBS
other cool stuff
akushlan is offline   0
Old Jul 2, 2003, 04:18 AM   #3
edesignuk
Moderator emeritus
 
edesignuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London, England
Quote:
Originally posted by akushlan
Dual 2.0 Ghz. PowerMac G5
8GB PC3200 RAM
2x 250GB SATA 8MB cache hard drives
4x Superdrive
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB
Apple Keyboard/Mouse

17" PowerBook
1GB RAM
60GB Hard Drive
SuperDrive

14" 900 MHz iBook
640MB RAM
60 GB Hard Drive
Combo Drive

Alienware Area-51
3.2 GHz P4 w/ 800MHz FSB
2 GB RAM
2 x 200 GB Hard Drive
DVD Burner
Combo Drive
etc.

30GB iPod
2 x 23" Cinema Display
AEBS
other cool stuff
WOW! You must have spent a ***** load in the last month or two on that little lot! It's all the latest stuff! ...so jealous...

edit: OMG! That New PM w/ 2 x 23" displays is a $11,500+ system, sweet jesus!
__________________

Last edited by edesignuk; Jul 2, 2003 at 04:20 AM.
edesignuk is offline   0
Old Jul 2, 2003, 09:15 AM   #4
akushlan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Send a message via AIM to akushlan Send a message via Yahoo to akushlan
I just have connections!!
akushlan is offline   0
Old Jul 2, 2003, 09:38 AM   #5
Alte22a
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: back in London
Send a message via AIM to Alte22a
We're hoping to get 4 of those Dual 2Ghz babies in the standard setup. With 2 of them connected to a pair of mitsubishi 19" CRT pro monitors and the other 2 connected to 22" CRT mitsubishi or Lacie. Then we'll think about memory arrangements and stuff. Now we're just pondering over the idea of Xraid for one of the machines. Seems expensive, since Fire800 can offer a cheaper alternative. Anyhow we are still contemplating since we are hoping to shell out round about Xmas time. Well we see how things work out.
__________________
Macbook Pro 15.4" 2.8Ghz Antiglare w/320GB 7200RPm, Mac Pro Quad core Xeon 2.8 w/ 4TB, iPod Touch 16GB
Alte22a is offline   0
Old Jul 2, 2003, 01:06 PM   #6
illumin8
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: East Coast, US
Quote:
Originally posted by akushlan
Dual 2.0 Ghz. PowerMac G5
8GB PC3200 RAM
Wow, you're going with the full 8GB... nice. I decided to go with 4GB because the 4GB only cost me $584, but the 8GB would have cost me $3750 from Apple's site.
illumin8 is offline   0
Old Jul 2, 2003, 01:07 PM   #7
illumin8
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: East Coast, US
Quote:
Originally posted by akushlan
I just have connections!!
Hey, if you'd ever like to hook a brother up... Just let me know.
illumin8 is offline   0
Old Jul 2, 2003, 02:38 PM   #8
Makosuke
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Cool Part of CA, USA
Wish I had the money to deck a system out like that. I'm going to be spending as much as I can scrounge up, though. With any luck:

Dual 2Ghz G5
Radeon 9800
17" LCD (Apple? Depends on upgrades)
19" KDS Trinitron CRT
2GB RAM (4 if I can afford it)
1 WD Raptor 10K RPM SATA HD (boot)
1 250GB 8MB SATA HD (whatever Apple ships)
80+120GB 7200RPM drives in a dual-drive FW400 case
Logitech MX500 mouse.

I'm as excited about anything by the SATA, since my HDs are usually the bottleneck in my work. 36GB Raptor, here I come! I just hope Apple drops the price on the current 17" LCD or ships an upgrade (preferably both), since I'd hate to have to go with another brand, but I'm relatively poor, so it'll be a stretch to justify one.

Say, the new Radeon cards still support dual VGA/ADC out, don't they?
Makosuke is offline   0
Old Jul 2, 2003, 03:15 PM   #9
Pete_Hoover
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
I don't have a mac(can't afford one because I can't get a job because I am too young). So here is how my setup will look:

1.3 GHz P4
512 MB RAM
WIn XP Home
CDRW/DVD Drive
40GB HD
17" Dell Monitor

Not the best, but it works. Sort of.
__________________
-Pete
You need an adapter.
Pete_Hoover is offline   0
Old Jul 2, 2003, 03:30 PM   #10
hvfsl
macrumors 68000
 
hvfsl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London, UK
I can beat most of you, except for the G5 Mac:

- AMD 2500XP, Radeon 8500, Win2000pro, 19in and 15in CRT screen
- AMD 1700XP, Geforce 3Ti, Win2000pro, 15in CRT screen
- AMD 1300, AllinWonder Radeon, Win2000pro, 15in CRT screen
- AMD 1200, Radeon 7200, Win2000pro, 15in CRT screen
- AMD 800, SIS315e, Win98se, 26in TV screen
- P3 450, SIS730, Win98se, 14in CRT screen
- AMD 350, SIS730, Win98se, 14in CRT screen

- PowerBook G3 233
- PowerBook G4 550
- Performa 6200, 13in CRT screen
- iMac G3 500

- Nintendo GameCube
- Nintendo 64
- Sega Dreamcast (all connected to 30in CRT screen)

I will have to get a job before I get anymore computers now since most of the computers I have were paid for by the gov because I am dyslexic.

Last edited by hvfsl; Jul 2, 2003 at 03:40 PM.
hvfsl is offline   0
Old Jul 2, 2003, 04:07 PM   #11
illumin8
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: East Coast, US
Quote:
Originally posted by Makosuke
Say, the new Radeon cards still support dual VGA/ADC out, don't they?
Yes, they do support dual output, with both an ADC and a VGA connector.
illumin8 is offline   0
Old Jul 2, 2003, 04:57 PM   #12
QCassidy352
macrumors G3
 
QCassidy352's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Francisco
good lord, you people have got sickening amounts of computer goodies. And to think I make do with just a 900 mhz ibook 14" 640 RAM... my only computer. Nice set ups guys!
QCassidy352 is offline   0
Old Jul 2, 2003, 05:08 PM   #13
zarathustra
macrumors 6502a
 
zarathustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Quote:
Originally posted by hvfsl
I can beat most of you, except for the G5 Mac:

- AMD 2500XP, Radeon 8500, Win2000pro, 19in and 15in CRT screen
- AMD 1700XP, Geforce 3Ti, Win2000pro, 15in CRT screen
- AMD 1300, AllinWonder Radeon, Win2000pro, 15in CRT screen
- AMD 1200, Radeon 7200, Win2000pro, 15in CRT screen
- AMD 800, SIS315e, Win98se, 26in TV screen
- P3 450, SIS730, Win98se, 14in CRT screen
- AMD 350, SIS730, Win98se, 14in CRT screen

- PowerBook G3 233
- PowerBook G4 550
- Performa 6200, 13in CRT screen
- iMac G3 500

- Nintendo GameCube
- Nintendo 64
- Sega Dreamcast (all connected to 30in CRT screen)

I will have to get a job before I get anymore computers now since most of the computers I have were paid for by the gov because I am dyslexic.
Whaaaaa? So the gov't in the UK pays for Nintendos and all those computers? Hard to believe...

I somehow have a hard time believing that akushlan has/will have that setup... I picture a teenager typing away on a P3 inherited from his dad, pretending to "have connections". Whatever. Keep the economy going akushlan; I certainly hope that you indeed purchased all those items.
zarathustra is offline   0
Old Jul 2, 2003, 05:54 PM   #14
tazo
Guest
 
tazo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pacific Northwest, Seattle, WA actually
Send a message via ICQ to tazo Send a message via AIM to tazo Send a message via Yahoo to tazo
imac 600 g3
384mb ram



no g5 thats for sure.
tazo is offline   0
Old Jul 2, 2003, 06:56 PM   #15
applemacdude
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Over The Rainbow
Send a message via ICQ to applemacdude Send a message via AIM to applemacdude Send a message via MSN to applemacdude Send a message via Yahoo to applemacdude Send a message via Skype™ to applemacdude
375mhz G3 Minitower
320 Mb's Of RAM

Not a G5 either...
applemacdude is offline   0
Old Jul 2, 2003, 07:21 PM   #16
wirewyrm
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
My Setup

I currently have a G4 400, 10+60Gb HDD's Combo Drive, 768mb RAM,

on order is...

PowerMac G5 1.8Ghz
512mb RAM
160Gb HDD
Combo Drive
Bluetooth Module Built-in
nVidia GeForce fx5200

I also have ordered...

Samsung 152T Digital 15" TFT
2 10" Cold-Cathodes, Blue (To pretty up that ugly case)

I already have...

1st Gen 10Gb iPod
JBL Creature Speakers (White)
MS Intellimouse Explorer

Still to be ordered (With more Cash!!!)

Radeon 9800pro Retail (or best card on the market when I come to buy)
Pioneer A06 DVD-R/+RW Drive

Other assorted items for my setup....

Handspring Visor Prism
HP318 Digital Camera

Girlfriend has an iBook 500 CDROM w/384mb RAM
wirewyrm is offline   0
Old Jul 3, 2003, 09:37 AM   #17
akushlan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Send a message via AIM to akushlan Send a message via Yahoo to akushlan
My only connections are some family friends who are higher ups at apple, so they provide massive discounts. Sorry can't reveal names!!!
akushlan is offline   0
Old Jul 3, 2003, 10:35 AM   #18
Anticipat3
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Send a message via AIM to Anticipat3
Hot Damn! I feel like I'm on the low end now

Computer:
Powermac G5 Dual 2.0 Ghz
1 Gig RAM
Radeon 9600 Pro
250GB SATA Hard Drive
Superdrive
Logitech MX700 Mouse
Microsoft Ergonomic Wireless Black Keyboard (PLEASE MAKE ME A BLUETOOTH ONE APPLE)

Displays:
Samsung Syncmaster 172T Flat Panel
24" Sony WEGA TV (for the Movies)

Others:
10 Gig 3G iPod
Logitech Z560 400w Speakers (anyone know about getting 4 Channels out of a Mac?)
Canon Powershot S200 Digital Camera
Canon Elura 50 DV Camcorder (incoming)

Planned upgrades:
Another gig of RAM in a few months
Next Generation video card from ATI (R420)

I'm in a dorm room, so dual displays is out, unfortunately -- no room!
Anticipat3 is offline   0
Old Jul 3, 2003, 10:43 AM   #19
Zenith
macrumors 6502
 
Zenith's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Norway
Send a message via AIM to Zenith
I'm going for a dual, but considering I'm only a student it has to be stripped... It's not too bad being a student and could afford the high-end G5. But again, I also have some connections, so the price will be reasonable. I'll also use the G5 for work, and I think that buying a dual 2 gig now will make it last longer than a single G5 - seen from a graphics proffesional's perspective.

Here's what my setup will look like:
(notice the well-placed smileys...)

PowerMac G5 dual 2 Ghz
512 MB RAM (will add more later)
160 GB
Combo Drive
ATi Radeon 9600 Pro
ViewSonic G90f 19"

Extras:
Wacom Graphire 2
Palm m505 with 64 MB SD card
Edirol USB MIDI interface (1 I/O)
Korg Triton Workstation
Motorola T720

And that's about it. I actually want a new screen too, but there's no rush for that at the moment.
__________________
Listen to my music at espenberg.no, Listen!
Official avatarist of 2002. Yeah, I'm growing old in these forums.
Zenith is offline   0
Old Jul 3, 2003, 11:36 AM   #20
evil
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: chicago ex-toronto
i KNEW i didnt want to read this thread.
it depresses me.
evil is offline   0
Old Jul 3, 2003, 11:37 AM   #21
Moxiemike
Banned
 
Moxiemike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
all i've gotta say is:

"my c0ck is bigger than your c0ck"



Who cares about what system you have... the question is, will you be PRODUCTIVE on it.
Moxiemike is offline   0
Old Jul 3, 2003, 12:08 PM   #22
Alte22a
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: back in London
Send a message via AIM to Alte22a
Productive!!

Hell yes thats why we have more ram, faster processors. We spend more money so that it increases productivity right? I mean back in the days when you would render a video it would take alsolutely hours and during that time you would sit there and look at you power mac. Now the G5 has arrived who really cares what it looks like. ITS FAST!! there is no time to look at it, just work!!

Productivity!! thats what its all about..
__________________
Macbook Pro 15.4" 2.8Ghz Antiglare w/320GB 7200RPm, Mac Pro Quad core Xeon 2.8 w/ 4TB, iPod Touch 16GB
Alte22a is offline   0
Old Jul 3, 2003, 12:12 PM   #23
Moxiemike
Banned
 
Moxiemike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Quote:
Originally posted by Alte22a
Productive!!

Hell yes thats why we have more ram, faster processors. We spend more money so that it increases productivity right? I mean back in the days when you would render a video it would take alsolutely hours and during that time you would sit there and look at you power mac. Now the G5 has arrived who really cares what it looks like. ITS FAST!! there is no time to look at it, just work!!

Productivity!! thats what its all about..
but remember, it's just a tool. who cares if you can render video quickly if your video sucks arse.
Moxiemike is offline   0
Old Jul 3, 2003, 12:21 PM   #24
jelloshotsrule
macrumors 601
 
jelloshotsrule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: serendipity
Quote:
Originally posted by Moxiemike
but remember, it's just a tool. who cares if you can render video quickly if your video sucks arse.

no computer has bandwidth capable of processing my creative genius in realtime.
__________________
until the last lock breaks, none of us are free
jelloshotsrule is offline   0
Old Jul 3, 2003, 12:22 PM   #25
Moxiemike
Banned
 
Moxiemike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Quote:
Originally posted by jelloshotsrule
no computer has bandwidth capable of processing my creative genius in realtime.
hehe. you're too frickin' much man.
Moxiemike is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My 5s arrives today. What should I do first? gdourado iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Oct 29, 2013 07:29 AM
New Airport Extreme Setup - Wireless or Wired For Out-Of-Box Setup? crellion Mac Peripherals 4 Aug 16, 2013 12:41 PM
What not to do...when your Iphone Arrives. morecowbell Wasteland 32 Sep 18, 2012 02:25 PM
Activating iPhone5 (When it Arrives)? jazz1 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Sep 14, 2012 04:35 PM
In for a sub-$400 hi-fi digital setup, opinion on proposed setup? Prodo123 Digital Audio 2 Jun 24, 2012 06:49 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC