Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 26, 2007, 02:58 PM   #1
masreipan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
XP Without Bootcamp

Thumb resize.
Connecting to ghost session.


Thumb resize.
Start the session.


Thumb resize.
Starting.


Thumb resize.
All Done!

Thumb resize.
EFI is working, looking good.


Thumb resize.
I see a Boot CD and a Windows Disk!


Thumb resize.
Now I just see Windows XP!


Thumb resize.
TA DAAAAAAAA!


The video of the reboot is on youtube

MAS

Last edited by masreipan; Jul 27, 2007 at 10:57 AM. Reason: [timg]'ed all images, for readability...
masreipan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2007, 03:21 AM   #2
M@lew
macrumors 68000
 
M@lew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
So you pretty much just got rid of OSX? Smooth move...
__________________
My Blog
Flickr
Photo Blog
M@lew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2007, 03:33 AM   #3
Sbrocket
macrumors 65816
 
Sbrocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: /dev/null
No, sorry. You're still using BIOS emulation (which is an element of the "Boot Camp" that most people are referring to when they say the phrase) if you're running XP on a Mac. All you've accomplished with this convoluted method is to wipe out your OSX partition and replace it with a single XP partition. Avoiding use of the Boot Camp Assistant does not equate to not using Boot Camp.

Hope you've got a drivers CD.

Question for you, though...what's the screen with the lock and input box that you have a screenshot of during bootup? My first guess is that's its a dialog for an EFI password, and if it is, I'd be delighted to know how you set that up. Most tips refer to the Firmware Password Utility on the OSX Install Disc which, sadly, doesn't do what yours is displaying (at least in my tries).
__________________

Unibody MBP 15" | 2.53GHz | 4GB DDR3 | 320GB @ 7200RPM
Sbrocket is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2007, 04:04 AM   #4
DaftUnion
macrumors 6502a
 
DaftUnion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Send a message via AIM to DaftUnion
Why buy a Mac if you're just going to use only windows on it. Just buy a cheap pc.
__________________
iMac G5 Rev. B/20"/2Ghz/SuperDrive/1GB RAM/400GB HD/Mac OS X.4.11
Switched 8/25/05
Custom 2.4Ghz Core2Duo/1GB Ram/NVIDIA 7600
iPhone 8gb
DaftUnion is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2007, 08:08 AM   #5
ilkevinli
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
As has been said a million times already. Bootcamp is nothing more than a program that contains drivers and allows you to partition the hard drive. Thats all it does.
ilkevinli is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2007, 09:49 AM   #6
Aea
macrumors 6502a
 
Aea's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Denver, Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilkevinli View Post
As has been said a million times already. Bootcamp is nothing more than a program that contains drivers and allows you to partition the hard drive. Thats all it does.
And it emulates BIOS...
Aea is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2007, 10:28 AM   #7
masreipan
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
The thing is...

I know may Mac Zealots are asking why on earth I would do this to begin with? Let me answer that question first, the customer PAID me to do it!

Now to the underlying;

When imaging the IMac through NetRestore or Apple's ASR. If your windows image is 30 gig and then your OSX install is 20 gig then you have to xfer all 50gig when imaging. Notice the 7 gig total image size on these images. This is my production version of a Windows XP image that will serve 2500 users + a day in my environment.

This install (Ghost) has two partitions both native to the PC environment, no OSX partition period. I never said I wasn't using the proper hardware drivers :-)

The 30 min image time is SWEET! Which is really all I was after.

Last edited by masreipan; Jul 27, 2007 at 10:35 AM. Reason: Speling
masreipan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2007, 10:44 AM   #8
masreipan
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaftUnion View Post
Why buy a Mac if you're just going to use only windows on it. Just buy a cheap pc.
Because I can run any OS I want to on my Imac
masreipan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2007, 10:44 AM   #9
TBi
macrumors 68030
 
TBi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aea View Post
And it emulates BIOS...
Nope. The BIOS emulation comes from an update in the EFI firmware that was released at the same time as bootcamp. It comes as default with all new macs.
__________________
<BLANK>
TBi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2007, 03:15 PM   #10
Sbrocket
macrumors 65816
 
Sbrocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: /dev/null
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aea View Post
And it emulates BIOS...
Technically, it doesn't. However, when most people (read: less-than highly technical users) refer to "Boot Camp", they're actually referring to the BIOS emulation that was introduced to Intel Macs firmware a while back. Its not actually correct, but you have to be aware of what people mean when they say "Boot Camp." In actuality, Boot Camp is just a small OSX utility to nondestructively repartition your drive (just a frontend for diskutil) and burn you a copy of the Boot Camp Drivers CD, the 2nd part of Boot Camp.

So, technically, he got XP running "without Boot Camp." That's not all that much of an accomplishment, though, because all Boot Camp does resize your OSX partition and create a new partition for Windows (which he neglected to do). Of course, it's a bit useless -- unless he actually did use Boot Camp, he won't have all the Mac hardware drivers to use in XP. Seems like a pointless venture to me.
__________________

Unibody MBP 15" | 2.53GHz | 4GB DDR3 | 320GB @ 7200RPM
Sbrocket is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2009, 03:25 PM   #11
cwrighta70
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sbrocket View Post
Of course, it's a bit useless -- unless he actually did use Boot Camp, he won't have all the Mac hardware drivers to use in XP. Seems like a pointless venture to me.
My apologies for resurrecting such an old thread, but I just installed XP without using BootCamp (I booted from the CD to install, which very well may have been a mistake). Now I'm curious as to how I can get the necessary drivers? Can I use a different computer to download the drivers and burn to a disc? Obviously I cannot get online with the Mac, wired or wireless, since I don't have the right drivers.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Chris
cwrighta70 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2009, 03:35 PM   #12
Rodus
macrumors 6502a
 
Rodus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Midlands, UK
They are on the Leopard disc. Just install them from that in Windows.
__________________
27" iMac i5, iPad, iPhone 4S
John Pierce: After growing wildly for years, the field of computing appears to be reaching its infancy.
Rodus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2009, 03:40 PM   #13
iphone529
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Just get Parallels, in my opinion its much better, it runs slower but you dont have to reboot your computer to run windows programs. you can also dl windows 7 for free still.
__________________
4 iPhone 16GB
Aluminum Macbook 2.0
iphone529 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2009, 03:55 PM   #14
cwrighta70
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Rodus, I will give that a shot. Thank you.

iphone, unfortunately that is not the best option for me. The kind of software development I do requires a quick machine. I've tried Parallels before, and it was just to slow for my needs.
cwrighta70 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2009, 04:00 PM   #15
cwrighta70
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Rodus,

Does the CD needs to be run at boot? With the OS up and running, it just spits the disc back out.
cwrighta70 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2009, 05:39 PM   #16
The Flashing Fi
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwrighta70 View Post
Rodus,

Does the CD needs to be run at boot? With the OS up and running, it just spits the disc back out.
No. Start up Windows and throw the disk in. If auto run doesn't start the disk up, go into "My Computer" and double click on the DVD drive.
The Flashing Fi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2009, 08:48 PM   #17
Stridder44
macrumors 68040
 
Stridder44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaftUnion View Post
Why buy a Mac if you're just going to use only windows on it. Just buy a cheap pc.

I can't seem to find the part in his original post where he said he was only going to run Windows on it. Perhaps you could point it out?


Quote:
Originally Posted by iphone529 View Post
Just get Parallels, in my opinion its much better, it runs slower but you dont have to reboot your computer to run windows programs.
It's also more expensive. And how long does it take you to reboot your computer? All of 30 seconds?
__________________
iPhone 5
MacBook Pro 2.53GHz/320GB HDD/4GB RAM
iMac G4 800MHz/80GB HDD/512MB RAM
Stridder44 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2009, 07:52 AM   #18
cwrighta70
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Flashing Fi View Post
No. Start up Windows and throw the disk in. If auto run doesn't start the disk up, go into "My Computer" and double click on the DVD drive.
It does neither. The drive just spits the disc back out at me.
cwrighta70 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2009, 08:18 AM   #19
cwrighta70
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Thanks guys, everything works great! Appreciate the help very much!

Chris

Last edited by cwrighta70; Jul 15, 2009 at 12:07 PM.
cwrighta70 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Black screen after installing bootcamp drivers onto bootcamp partition. ADangerousTaco Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Mar 15, 2014 02:39 PM
Changed info.plist in Bootcamp 5.1.0 now Bootcamp won't start ecy5maa Mac Basics and Help 0 Oct 25, 2013 11:37 PM
How to read files from MacOS Bootcamp win partition done with bootcamp on PC? help :( navigates Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 2 Mar 10, 2013 07:14 PM
can i reinstall windows on bootcamp without bootcamp ??? 10-Dee-Q Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 2 Oct 27, 2012 01:13 AM
Mountain Lion bootcamp versus Lion bootcamp: Anyone? MJL Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 3 Aug 16, 2012 01:15 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC