Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 30, 2007, 01:20 AM   #1
powerbook911
macrumors 68030
 
powerbook911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Mac Address on Box?

One thing with my iPhone was having a hard time finding the mac address, to add it to my wireless router. It was only found inside the phone's menus.

What about on the Apple TV? Does the box list the mac address? Trying to get things ready, for when it comes, so I'd like to know where to find it, when it gets here.

Thanks!
__________________
*12in Powerbook G4 1.5ghz, *20in iMac 2.4 Core 2 Duo, *Mac Mini (Early 09), *Mini Server ('11), *11in Air (Late 10) *20in Cinema Display,
*AppleTV, *iPhone 64GB; *Airpot Extreme (2011) *iPod 160GB
powerbook911 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2007, 02:11 AM   #2
zephead
macrumors 68000
 
zephead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: in your pants
Just one thing I couldn't help but notice: A lot of newbies and such make the mistake of referring to their Macs as "my MAC", which is the acronym for Media Access Control. I've never seen it done the opposite way though.

And I'd imagine the MAC address would be right on the bottom or back of the TV, as well as on the box.
__________________
California sunlight, Sweet Calcutta rain, Honolulu starbright, The Song Remains the Same....
13" MacBook Pro 2.4GHz/250/4/10.6.5/ ~ iPhone 3G/16/4.0
zephead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2007, 12:43 PM   #3
powerbook911
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
powerbook911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by zephead View Post
Just one thing I couldn't help but notice: A lot of newbies and such make the mistake of referring to their Macs as "my MAC", which is the acronym for Media Access Control. I've never seen it done the opposite way though.

And I'd imagine the MAC address would be right on the bottom or back of the TV, as well as on the box.
I apologize for not capitalizing every letter in MAC. I just always figured if you were talking about wireless stuff people would know you meant the Media Access Control.
__________________
*12in Powerbook G4 1.5ghz, *20in iMac 2.4 Core 2 Duo, *Mac Mini (Early 09), *Mini Server ('11), *11in Air (Late 10) *20in Cinema Display,
*AppleTV, *iPhone 64GB; *Airpot Extreme (2011) *iPod 160GB
powerbook911 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2007, 02:10 PM   #4
theBB
macrumors 68020
 
theBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
I think the settings menu has that info, but I am not sure.
theBB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2007, 05:48 PM   #5
imlucid
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by theBB View Post
I think the settings menu has that info, but I am not sure.
Its either on the packaging or on the unit itself (bottom). It is also listed in the network settings menu.
imlucid is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New AirPort Extreme: Dedicate IP address by MAC address? hipnetic Mac Peripherals 5 Feb 8, 2014 11:01 AM
How to access Yahoo address book from Mac Address Book app or Mac Mail...? rhimbo Mac Basics and Help 0 Oct 12, 2012 05:07 PM
Billing address is a P.O. box - how do I order?! soleilvie iPhone 12 Sep 14, 2012 03:18 AM
What Flat rate box will 13" MBP Box fit in (USPS) Gator24765 MacBook Pro 7 Jun 13, 2012 03:03 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC