Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 29, 2003, 11:19 AM   #1
Haberdasher
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Send a message via AIM to Haberdasher
Can't Remember Password

Ok...I'm in a string of really "good happenings" today, and right as I'm about to finish being on a roll, I have to go and forget my system password.

Long story short and right to the problem...this is on my second internal drive, which I never boot up from, so I've forgotten the administrator password to change things. Is there any way to figure it out? This is only the password to change things...I can log in, and I have complete access to my first drive.

Any help is appreciated, thanks.
Haberdasher is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2003, 11:45 AM   #2
dynamicd
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Chicago
Putting in the the OSX disc and then restarting while holding the c key should prompt a message allowing you to change all passwords. That should work.
dynamicd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2003, 11:50 AM   #3
Mr. Anderson
Moderator emeritus
 
Mr. Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: VA
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Anderson
Quote:
Originally posted by dynamicd
Putting in the the OSX disc and then restarting while holding the c key should prompt a message allowing you to change all passwords. That should work.
Damn that's a nice one to remember. I'll keep that handy in the future. But that's also a huge flaw in the system, isn't it?

D
__________________
"Klaatu varada nikto!"
Mr. Anderson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2003, 12:01 PM   #4
rainman::|:|
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: iowa
Send a message via Yahoo to rainman::|:|
Quote:
Originally posted by Mr. Anderson
Damn that's a nice one to remember. I'll keep that handy in the future. But that's also a huge flaw in the system, isn't it?

D
One would think. But consider, if there weren't a way to do this, a 3rd party would come along, and then it would be a *serious* vulnerability, better that Apple should have control. But they should make it so that you need *the* original CD that came with the computer--

pnw
rainman::|:| is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2003, 12:45 PM   #5
GeeYouEye
macrumors 68000
 
GeeYouEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: State of Denial
Send a message via AIM to GeeYouEye Send a message via Yahoo to GeeYouEye
Quote:
Originally posted by Mr. Anderson
Damn that's a nice one to remember. I'll keep that handy in the future. But that's also a huge flaw in the system, isn't it?

D
Not really... it means you have to have physical access to the machine in order to do it. Plus there's always a firmware password, which is practically untouchable.
__________________
I bring order to chaos. You are in chaos Windows, you are the contradiction, a bug wishing to be an OS.
Visit Softyards Software
NEW DEFINITION OF GEEK
Like politics, free speech, computers, entertainment, and more? Join us at Wordforge.net
GeeYouEye is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2003, 01:10 PM   #6
zimv20
macrumors 601
 
zimv20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: chicago
Re: Can't Remember Password

Quote:
Originally posted by Haberdasher

Any help is appreciated, thanks.
did you try "tkl#4d$k9"?

what passwords _have_ you tried?
__________________
Oct 2011: check out my band's first album @ boxsetauthentic.com
zimv20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2003, 06:09 PM   #7
Haberdasher
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Send a message via AIM to Haberdasher
Re: Re: Can't Remember Password

Quote:
Originally posted by zimv20
did you try "tkl#4d$k9"?

what passwords _have_ you tried?
Certainly not that. Who uses pound signs anymore? It's more of a 0%^io with a good old home row a;lsdfj for good measure.
Haberdasher is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2003, 11:28 PM   #8
zimv20
macrumors 601
 
zimv20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: chicago
Re: Re: Re: Can't Remember Password

Quote:
Originally posted by Haberdasher
Certainly not that. Who uses pound signs anymore?
well that's my point. maybe it's so old that it has the #!

(i'm glad _someone_ found it amusing :-)
__________________
Oct 2011: check out my band's first album @ boxsetauthentic.com
zimv20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2003, 03:15 AM   #9
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
It amuses me when I see people call the # a pound sign. In my (most?) countries they are:

# Hash
Pound

Don't mind me, just getting a bit off topic
Nermal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2003, 03:40 AM   #10
irmongoose
macrumors 68030
 
irmongoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sometimes Tokyo, sometimes California
Quote:
Originally posted by Nermal
It amuses me when I see people call the # a pound sign. In my (most?) countries they are:

# Hash
Pound

Don't mind me, just getting a bit off topic
In Japan it's called the 'Sharp' sign.

Oh, about the password reset... just by booting to the CD won't help. Once you do, you have to go to the Apple menu and select 'Reset Password'.



irmongoose
__________________
A Film and Artwork Portfolio and Re: Gruber
irmongoose is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2003, 03:55 AM   #11
maradong
macrumors 65816
 
maradong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Luxembourg
# = sharp
= pound
IMO. ;-)
maradong is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2003, 09:35 AM   #12
Haberdasher
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Send a message via AIM to Haberdasher
Quote:
Originally posted by Nermal
It amuses me when I see people call the # a pound sign. In my (most?) countries they are:

# Hash
Pound

Don't mind me, just getting a bit off topic
Well, I'm an ignorant American, and I don't know about foreign keyboards, but on my standard American one, there is no obvious key combination to produce a pound sign...I'm sure someone will tell me very quickly how to make one, though.
Haberdasher is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2003, 12:29 PM   #13
amnesiac1984
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Europe
Quote:
Originally posted by Haberdasher
Well, I'm an ignorant American, and I don't know about foreign keyboards, but on my standard American one, there is no obvious key combination to produce a pound sign...I'm sure someone will tell me very quickly how to make one, though.
I'm guessing its alt 3 as that is the way us UK ppl make # signs where the is visible on above the 3 key. As for # being sharp thats also what it means in musical notation. F# Fb or just F for example.
amnesiac1984 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2003, 12:56 PM   #14
Haberdasher
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Send a message via AIM to Haberdasher
Quote:
Originally posted by amnesiac1984
I'm guessing its alt 3 as that is the way us UK ppl make # signs where the is visible on above the 3 key. As for # being sharp thats also what it means in musical notation. F# Fb or just F for example.
I should have guessed about the whole musical sharp thing.

Oh, and you're right.
Haberdasher is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2003, 10:27 PM   #15
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
Holding Alt/Option as you go through the numbers gives you all sorts of neat stuff

??

Edit: Except a couple of those didn't come through and get changed to a question mark. They were the infinity symbol, and the "does not equal" symbol. By the way, that first one is not a lowercase I, it's an upside down !
Nermal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2003, 10:38 PM   #16
irmongoose
macrumors 68030
 
irmongoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sometimes Tokyo, sometimes California
Quote:
Originally posted by Nermal
Holding Alt/Option as you go through the numbers gives you all sorts of neat stuff
Then there's the whole option+shift thing....

???????ڸ???¯?



irmongoose
__________________
A Film and Artwork Portfolio and Re: Gruber
irmongoose is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2003, 10:47 PM   #17
kray
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Quote:
Originally posted by dynamicd
Putting in the the OSX disc and then restarting while holding the c key should prompt a message allowing you to change all passwords. That should work.

Or... Just boot into single user mode (hold down the cntrl-s while rebooting) This will drop you into single user mode. It will skip the graphics stuff and you will be at a root prompt. From there you can use the comand # 'passwd username' to change any users password
kray is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2003, 12:00 AM   #18
Haberdasher
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Send a message via AIM to Haberdasher
Quote:
Originally posted by kray
Or... Just boot into single user mode (hold down the cntrl-s while rebooting) This will drop you into single user mode. It will skip the graphics stuff and you will be at a root prompt. From there you can use the comand # 'passwd username' to change any users password
Elaborate on this...sounds sneaky.
Haberdasher is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2003, 11:47 AM   #19
kray
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Quote:
Originally posted by Haberdasher
Elaborate on this...sounds sneaky.
Not at all sneaky. This owes to osx's bsd roots. In freebsd (or just about any other 'nix, I can think of), you boot into single user mode from the boot prompt by typing 'boot -s', osx gives you this option with the key combination of 'apple- or propellar- (or whatever that key is called) s.

Any UNIX machine can boot into single user mode (which by definition gives you root access). It is for this reason that the first rule of security is to control physical access to the machine.
kray is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2003, 12:56 PM   #20
Haberdasher
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Send a message via AIM to Haberdasher
Quote:
Originally posted by kray
Not at all sneaky. This owes to osx's bsd roots. In freebsd (or just about any other 'nix, I can think of), you boot into single user mode from the boot prompt by typing 'boot -s', osx gives you this option with the key combination of 'apple- or propellar- (or whatever that key is called) s.

Any UNIX machine can boot into single user mode (which by definition gives you root access). It is for this reason that the first rule of security is to control physical access to the machine.
Ok, I can boot into single user mode, and I know the smallest bit about navigating folders and listing stuff in the terminal, so i thought it was a pretty neat feature. When I try to get the "passwd" function to work though, I'm having some trouble understanding it.

I realize you're supposed to use passwd User Name, but then it give me this list of options...I then typed passwd [location of password file] [new password], but I don't think it worked. Am I supposed to put something else in the last field? Am I supposed to have 3 fields like the confusing help diagram in the terminal suggests?

Any help?
Haberdasher is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2003, 01:30 PM   #21
TEG
macrumors 604
 
TEG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Langley, Washington
Send a message via ICQ to TEG Send a message via AIM to TEG Send a message via MSN to TEG Send a message via Yahoo to TEG Send a message via Skype™ to TEG
Personally

# = Pound Key (On Phone), Sharp (When Doing Music), Number Sign (Most Other Times)
= British Pound, or Dollar Pound

Also Don't Forget
$ = Dollar Sign (For Many), Money Sign (For Others)
Don't even make me drag out the arguments over 2 lines or 1.

& = Ampersand (Most Americans Don't know that), And Sign (What Most Americans call it)

* = Astrisk (Normal Name), Star (With Computers)

Any Others

TEG
__________________
Apple and Dell are the only ones in this industry making money. They make it by being Wal-Mart. We make it by innovation, - Steve Jobs
The Tegian Zone-Glass Onion Radio
TEG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2003, 04:46 PM   #22
kray
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Quote:
Originally posted by Haberdasher
I realize you're supposed to use passwd User Name,

from the root promt '#' you would type 'passwd user_name'

then you will be asked for a new password, so type 'new_password'

then you will be asked to confirm the new password, so type it again. If you didn't make any typos and the two passwords match. You will get the message that your password has been changed... that's it. There should not be any junk about location fo password files.

but then it give me this list of options...I then typed passwd [location of password file] [new password], but I don't think it worked. Am I supposed to put something else in the last field? Am I supposed to have 3 fields like the confusing help diagram in the terminal suggests?

The only other thing that I can think of is that you may need to mount a partition or two with the comand 'mount' e.g. 'mount /etc'

Any help?
It was quite a while ago that I helped someone else do this (they forgot their password too) and I seem to remember that there was a message or two as you boot into single user mode. Just follow the directions. Single user mode on osx may not automatically mount all the needed partitions (explanation... if the command 'passwd' is not located on the mount point that osx brings up by itself in single user mode, then you will have to mount it yourself, otherwise the command will not be understood by the system)...

After you pull this off check out a unix for osx book. Oreilly probably published a few...
kray is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2003, 05:35 AM   #23
favedave
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
of course if OS X were a GOOD OS

Of course, if OS X were an actual decent OS you would never have to use a password at all.

Remember the good old days? Before the Mac OS became a shell on top of Unix?


I would like to turn my computer on and use it without EVER having to:

log in
go to a CLI.


OS X is a giant step backwards in useability. But everyone keeps telling me it's necessary for Apple to survive.

I just want to turn my computer on and use it and never log in as long as I live

But Apple - who control the hardware AND the software - decided to go to a third party outdated primitive OS like Unix for their modern computers.

This is a really bad sign...what's next - an advance to punch cards?
favedave is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2003, 05:41 AM   #24
irmongoose
macrumors 68030
 
irmongoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sometimes Tokyo, sometimes California
Re: of course if OS X were a GOOD OS

Quote:
Originally posted by favedave
Of course, if OS X were an actual decent OS you would never have to use a password at all.

Remember the good old days? Before the Mac OS became a shell on top of Unix?


I would like to turn my computer on and use it without EVER having to:

log in
go to a CLI.


OS X is a giant step backwards in useability. But everyone keeps telling me it's necessary for Apple to survive.

I just want to turn my computer on and use it and never log in as long as I live

But Apple - who control the hardware AND the software - decided to go to a third party outdated primitive OS like Unix for their modern computers.

This is a really bad sign...what's next - an advance to punch cards?
In the System Preferences>Users panel, you could set it to automatically login to a specific account...

And the good old days with no passwords are gone because viruses and hackers are becoming more and more obnoxious so that unless you don't have a secure system like OS X which requires you to type in a password at only critical moments and no more, it would be like leaving the front door open in a gangster neighborhood.



irmongoose
__________________
A Film and Artwork Portfolio and Re: Gruber
irmongoose is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2003, 10:33 AM   #25
Haberdasher
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Send a message via AIM to Haberdasher
Re: Re: of course if OS X were a GOOD OS

Quote:
Originally posted by irmongoose
In the System Preferences>Users panel, you could set it to automatically login to a specific account...

And the good old days with no passwords are gone because viruses and hackers are becoming more and more obnoxious so that unless you don't have a secure system like OS X which requires you to type in a password at only critical moments and no more, it would be like leaving the front door open in a gangster neighborhood.



irmongoose
Exactly. Besides, the password I had to fix was not a login password, as I have automated login like was mentioned above. This was an administrator password I don't use much, but protects my computer if someone I didn't want changing things came in and started doing so.
Haberdasher is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Find Friends password remember thinkadam Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 5 Jun 6, 2014 07:54 AM
is it possible for Mail.app to not remember email password Acorn OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 5 Nov 19, 2013 12:23 PM
I Cant remember admin password!! fitworldmac MacBook Pro 2 Nov 10, 2013 04:42 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC