Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 1, 2007, 09:09 AM   #1
vickalamode
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Medway, MA
Free up Local Disk Space on MacBook?

OK, so I am completely new to mac. The last time I used a mac computer was when my family had one around 1994/1995. So, I don't know how to do completely basic things like this.

I got my macbook on Saturday, less than a week ago. Last night I bought the Sims 2 at the apple store and I asked the guy if it would run good on it. He went through all of the requirements and said that my computer surpassed all of them.

So I go to run it and it won't run and says I need to free up local disk space. Basically I'm wicked pissed right now and am worrying that something is wrong with my computer or he was lying and I can't return it. Someone help? How do I free this up? Is it a big deal that I need to do this after having the computer for less than 5 days? This is the only big program I've installed so far. I've only installed basic stuff like office and my printer so I don't know how it could be out of space already.
vickalamode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2007, 09:13 AM   #2
iBookG4user
macrumors 604
 
iBookG4user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Send a message via MSN to iBookG4user
How much hard drive space do you have left? (It'll show you when you open a Finder window in the lower center.)
__________________
*Super high tech stuff goes here*
iBookG4user is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2007, 09:14 AM   #3
vickalamode
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Medway, MA
52.86 GB available
vickalamode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2007, 09:16 AM   #4
techlover828
macrumors 68020
 
techlover828's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by vickalamode View Post
52.86 GB available
Thats plenty of disk space for the sims
techlover828 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2007, 09:18 AM   #5
iBookG4user
macrumors 604
 
iBookG4user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Send a message via MSN to iBookG4user
Quote:
Originally Posted by vickalamode View Post
52.86 GB available
That's more than enough space for The Sims, it only takes up about 5 or so GB when I had it installed and that was with 2 expansion packs. Have you tried restarting your Mac and then trying again?
__________________
*Super high tech stuff goes here*
iBookG4user is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2007, 09:21 AM   #6
vickalamode
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Medway, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by techlover828 View Post
Thats plenty of disk space for the sims
Yeah, I know. It says I need 3GB. But when I try to run it, I get a message that says "The Sims 2 requires at least 1MB of free disk space, free up some space on your local disk and restart the Sims 2", I honestly don't really know how to do that and to be completely honest I don't even know how different it is from the hard drive or anything.
vickalamode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2007, 09:24 AM   #7
xUKHCx
Administrator emeritus
 
xUKHCx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The Kop
Sounds like a bug with the installer, as iBookG4user suggested i would try a restart before attempting anything else.
xUKHCx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2007, 09:31 AM   #8
vickalamode
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Medway, MA
OK, I restarted 2x and I'm getting the same notice. Should I reinstall the game?
vickalamode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2007, 09:32 AM   #9
xUKHCx
Administrator emeritus
 
xUKHCx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The Kop
Quote:
Originally Posted by vickalamode View Post
OK, I restarted 2x and I'm getting the same notice. Should I reinstall the game?
I think that would be best.
xUKHCx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2007, 09:35 AM   #10
iBookG4user
macrumors 604
 
iBookG4user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Send a message via MSN to iBookG4user
Quote:
Originally Posted by vickalamode View Post
OK, I restarted 2x and I'm getting the same notice. Should I reinstall the game?
Yeah, I would reinstall it. If it doesn't come with an uninstaller you could use uapp.
__________________
*Super high tech stuff goes here*
iBookG4user is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2007, 09:57 AM   #11
vickalamode
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Medway, MA
It's working perfectly now! Thank you so much for your help everyone I'll probably be back here all the time with questions haha
vickalamode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2007, 10:00 AM   #12
xUKHCx
Administrator emeritus
 
xUKHCx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The Kop
Glad it is sorted and feel free to ask questions as often as you need, and feel free to chime in with possible solutions. Welcome to the forums.
xUKHCx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2007, 10:15 AM   #13
iBookG4user
macrumors 604
 
iBookG4user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Send a message via MSN to iBookG4user
Happy to help
__________________
*Super high tech stuff goes here*
iBookG4user is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2007, 08:18 PM   #14
Masque33
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Free up Local Disk Space on MacBook-2

I am having the same problem and unfortunately, i cannot figure it out. i just bought Civilization IV today and when i try to install, it says "Civ IV needs at least 1 MB of free disk space". I deleted stuff and i have 48.02 GB space on my MacBook. I am getting extremely flustered. I restarted my computer and everything. What should I do?
Masque33 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2008, 06:01 AM   #15
superrrmodel
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
help

hi! im having exactly the same problem. i jsut bought sims2 yesterday.. and my macbook is only 3weeks old, it doesnt have much files in it. it also says the same thing "sims needs at least 1 MB of free disk space" somethin like that... and im so pissed off cos i wasted my money! help me pls!!!!
superrrmodel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2008, 12:07 AM   #16
jscantechiekid
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
hopefully answer to sims 2 problem

ok, so i was sort of angry when i read this and it helped none. I had the same problem, but this is what I did: You know the window that pops up when you enter in the disk and click on it, drag and drop the folder that says sims 2 into the folder on the desktop that says Macintosh HD, or the one that looks like a hard drive. Once you do this a little window should open up that says copying to hard drive. Then ex out of the pop-up window and click on the icon on the desktop that says macintosh HD there should be many folders in there one of which is titled sims 2 open that folder and click on the icon that says sims 2. That should work, and if it doesn't I'm really sorry. It is very crucial to ex-out of the pop-up window. This may not make sense. If something is unclear, just tell me and i will try to make it clearer.http://cdn.macrumors.com/vb/image...s/rolleyes.gif

P.S. make sure the disk is in the drive while you are doing all this. You need the disk to run the game.
jscantechiekid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2008, 01:08 AM   #17
need-hellp
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Hellp!!!!

pleazzzz hellp....

i have the sims2 and whenever i try to play it it says i need to free up some space on the local disk space...ive restarted the computer ive reinstalled the sims i even tryed taking the battery out but that just resulted in me having to reinstall everything else too and it still wants me to free up space what do i do???????its so frustraiting
need-hellp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2008, 05:46 PM   #18
jakeskate872
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Problems with Civilization IV install

I am having the same problems with Civ IV i cannot get it to install. It either says that i do not have enough disk space or that it failed loading XML file assets//XML\Gameinfo\CIV4PlayerOptioninfos.xml
Im getting very frustrated if someone could please help me that would be great thanks.
jakeskate872 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2008, 09:16 PM   #19
niicholeee
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
omg! help!

Ok, so today i bought the sims2.
i have a macbook osx
and its not letting me load it. it says blah blah the sims 2 requires at least 1 mb of free disc space.
i have pleanty of hard drive left like 58 or something. and its still not working.
ive tried all suggested above and no help at all!!
help pleasseee!!

ill love you forever if you help me !! [:

-Nichole
niicholeee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2008, 05:36 AM   #20
Jamsey123
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Please help

I really really need some help with my game, i have an apple eMac and the other day I bought age of empires 2 gold edition, it will sometimes install but other times it doesn't!!!. When it does I will load it up and the people and buildings will be invisible!!

Please can you help me!!!!

Thanks!
Jamsey123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2008, 07:53 PM   #21
Tumi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Package installer problem after installing the sims2 Help please

I installed the sims2 on my macbook but the package installer cannot be installed, it says my computer does not meet the recommended processor speed requirement and after i click ok it says package installer requires at least 1mb of free disk of space and says please free up your local disk and then re-launch package installer...

i can play the sims2 but my problem is any costume content that i try to download won't work.

info about my mac : 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory,160GB hard drive


I tried to delete some unwanted folders but with no success and I will appreciate if any one can try to help me fix this or figure it out why its not working because i love to download stuff for the sims game:


confused:

Last edited by Tumi; Sep 28, 2008 at 07:55 PM. Reason: spelling
Tumi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2008, 01:40 AM   #22
MikkiZ
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
It worked!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jscantechiekid View Post
ok, so i was sort of angry when i read this and it helped none. I had the same problem, but this is what I did: You know the window that pops up when you enter in the disk and click on it, drag and drop the folder that says sims 2 into the folder on the desktop that says Macintosh HD, or the one that looks like a hard drive. Once you do this a little window should open up that says copying to hard drive. Then ex out of the pop-up window and click on the icon on the desktop that says macintosh HD there should be many folders in there one of which is titled sims 2 open that folder and click on the icon that says sims 2. That should work, and if it doesn't I'm really sorry. It is very crucial to ex-out of the pop-up window. This may not make sense. If something is unclear, just tell me and i will try to make it clearer.http://cdn.macrumors.com/vb/image...s/rolleyes.gif

P.S. make sure the disk is in the drive while you are doing all this. You need the disk to run the game.
Thank you, this worked perfectly!!!!!!
MikkiZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2008, 07:03 PM   #23
electricgrace
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
me too

i just got it today, and it kept saying i needed space but i know i have a lot of space because i recently got rid of lots of old files. i hope re-installing helps. it sounds like it will. thanks for the suggestion!

grace
electricgrace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2008, 03:52 PM   #24
Balplayer8
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Simplified Version of what they Said

1: Make sure that the folder that says *Game Name* is in the hard drive

2: Open that folder from the hard drive

3: LAUCH THE GAME FROM HERE

The End
Balplayer8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2008, 12:42 PM   #25
billfbrennan1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
uninstall?

sorry but i just dont see the option.. could be right in front of me, just not used to macs i guess. how do i simply uninstall the game. im haveing trouble with civilization 4 and i just dont see an option for just uninstall. please if anyone can help me out that would be great. thanks
billfbrennan1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Available Disk Space and Free Space Doesn't Fit! BaronStein OS X Mavericks (10.9) 1 Nov 4, 2013 08:47 PM
How much free disk space is in a new Macbook Air? climater MacBook Air 8 Oct 22, 2013 08:50 PM
Disk Utility Availible Space doesn't match Finder's Free Space rcappo OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 13 Feb 10, 2013 10:50 AM
Free up disk space Lukewarmwinner MacBook Air 2 Nov 1, 2012 02:02 PM
43GB of disk space DISAPPEARED when I DISABLED time machine local snapshots!! Winter Charm Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 21 Jul 9, 2012 10:58 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC