Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 24, 2007, 11:00 AM   #1
RubberShoes
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Send a message via AIM to RubberShoes
iMac as xbox 360 monitor

After looking around on the forums I've yet to find a clear answer to my question. Is there a HDTV tuner that will allow me to display a 1080i signal from my xbox 360 (through component or VGA) right onto the iMac display? I know Eglato makes the EyeTV but that's only a 480i composite plug.

I'm wondering if there are any other tuners that will allow me to do this, having an actual TV Tuner is not a big deal to me, just a simple component/VGA input to USB converter...

Any Ideas?

PS: I don't think it needs to be compatible with OS X either, I will be dual-booting Vista as well so I can use Windows too
__________________
"Computers are like Air Conditioners, they don’t work when you have Windows open…”
--RubberShoes--
RubberShoes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2007, 11:03 AM   #2
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
I'm afraid that any converter will have too much lag for effective game play. A quality converter will also cost you more than a 19" LCD screen. Component/VGA to USB is not simple (internally), esp. not at 1080i.
__________________
Expert
Ex = former, no longer. Spurt = a leak, esp. when caused by water pressure. Expert = a has-been drip under pressure.
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2007, 11:10 AM   #3
barr08
macrumors 65816
 
barr08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Would a VGA box work? I don't know anything about them, I just know my roomie ahs one on his PC. If you are going to be using Bootcamp, it might be worth looking into.
__________________
Gaming PC: Intel i7 920 OC@3.60, Radeon 6870, 12gb DDR3, 42" Vizio 1080p LCD
Portable: Macbook Air 11" 1.4GHz C2D, 64GB SSD
barr08 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2007, 11:48 AM   #4
glennyboiwpg
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
hmmmmm... you can't use a "vga" anything to use as the input for video and expect to get any kind of 1080i signal.


The only inputs that support HD would be HDMI, DVI (DVI IN) USB or Firewire I guess could but you would have to get some sort of HDMI to USB cable. (Or DVI to firewire, etc)

Or am I wrong?
glennyboiwpg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2007, 11:54 AM   #5
CarlsonCustoms
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Sorry you are wrong about vga not doing 1080i.. i used to have my xbox hooked up to my dell monitor with the microsoft vga converter and that was the only way to get 1080P out of the xbox at that time. Now they patched the xbox where you can get 1080p through component also.

But to hook up to your imac? i'm not sure but sounds like more work then worth. Sorry I couldnt help more

Zack
CarlsonCustoms is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2007, 12:21 PM   #6
iTeen
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Washington
Send a message via MSN to iTeen
try the eyetv line of tuners...i use my macbook with my 360 all the time.
good luck
iTeen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2007, 04:04 PM   #7
dannewell15
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by iTeen View Post
try the eyetv line of tuners...i use my macbook with my 360 all the time.
good luck
Hey. I was just wondering, I have a Hybrid and a Macbook which I currently use with my PS2. What does the Xbox 360 look like and play like using the Hybrid? Is there any latency or lag?

If it wouldn't be to much hassle, could you post a couple of screen shots of native size for the window and full screen at 1280x800? Thanks!
__________________
Macbook
2.0ghz Core 2 Duo
2gb RAM
GMA950 (hmm)
120gb
dannewell15 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2007, 04:22 PM   #8
iTeen
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Washington
Send a message via MSN to iTeen
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannewell15 View Post
Hey. I was just wondering, I have a Hybrid and a Macbook which I currently use with my PS2. What does the Xbox 360 look like and play like using the Hybrid? Is there any latency or lag?

If it wouldn't be to much hassle, could you post a couple of screen shots of native size for the window and full screen at 1280x800? Thanks!
there is not horrible lag...but a little...not good for online play. i will post a few shots in a couple of days when i am back home
iTeen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2007, 04:23 PM   #9
crazzyeddie
macrumors 68030
 
crazzyeddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida, USA
The ElGato hybrid has a "Game Mode" that is supposedly lag free. So any video input (composite or s-video) will work fine for games.

The only problem is that neither of these inputs are HD. They only support 480p, so thats the best resolution you can use. There are currently no HD input boxes for OS X (or Windows) that I know of.
__________________
Macbook Air 2010
Core 2 Duo 2.13Ghz
4GB DDR3 RAM
iPhone 5 Black
crazzyeddie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2007, 07:33 PM   #10
jimsoff
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
You can use your imac as a monitor for your xbox 360 with this. The EyeTV EZ

http://www.elgato.com/index.php?file=products_eyetvez

It even says it's ideal for gaming because it has almost no lag. (In the milliseconds)

So there's your answer.

EDIT: Also, here is a link to an inside mac games review of the EyeTV EZ.
http://www.insidemacgames.com/reviews/view.php?ID=714
jimsoff is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2010, 03:37 AM   #11
drpiety
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Have to warm up this, the eyetv EZ seems unavailable anymore. Is there an alternative to use the Imac with the XBOX 360?
drpiety is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2010, 04:07 AM   #12
Vylen
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
http://www.kanexlive.com/products/item-id-3662.html

and just recently

http://www.engadget.com/2010/06/24/b...play-xbox-360/
Vylen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2010, 06:41 AM   #13
bearvsshark
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
http://www.atlona.com/ATLONA-HDMI-MI...-SWITCHER.html

it's $280 from the site, but can be found around $240 online at other places.

takes the 1080p signal and outputs it at 2560x1440 on your imac 27 inch.

IMO looks the best out of all the other ones that can only output at 720p, but I believe it would look best if apple allowed 1080p output on the imac.
bearvsshark is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2010, 09:18 AM   #14
tuna
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
http://arstechnica.com/apple/reviews...h-your-ps3.ars

As others have said the iMac mDP input it limited to 720p, but that shouldn't be too much of a problem for the Xbox 360 as very few games run at 1080p native. Microsoft is a little "fraud-y" because most of the games that have the "1080p" badge on their case are actually running 1080p upscaled from 720p or less. For example, with Halo 3 they had the gall to write "1080p" on the back when the game was actually running at 640p native.
tuna is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2010, 02:55 AM   #15
BengalDuck
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
...are the lag and the avoid online play warnings from a few years ago still valid with these upgraded, expensive converters?
BengalDuck is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2010, 03:11 PM   #16
LPPanther
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bearvsshark View Post
http://www.atlona.com/ATLONA-HDMI-MI...-SWITCHER.html

it's $280 from the site, but can be found around $240 online at other places.

takes the 1080p signal and outputs it at 2560x1440 on your imac 27 inch.

IMO looks the best out of all the other ones that can only output at 720p, but I believe it would look best if apple allowed 1080p output on the imac.
$185 here. I've done my research and this is the only way to get 1080p and this is the cheapest price I have found.
__________________
White iPhone 3GS 32GB - iOS 4.1/Jailbroken/Unlocked
27" iMac/3.06 GHz/4GB RAM/1TB HDD
LPPanther is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2011, 09:01 PM   #17
ezzyregal
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
could this work?

http://www.amazon.com/Mini-DisplayPo.../ref=de_a_smtd

xbox has an hdmi port so it should right?
ezzyregal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2012, 02:51 AM   #18
myselfdasilva
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
IMAC 24 monitor

Guys, let me bring this issue on using IMAC 24" as an external monitor.

I do understand IMAC 24" (differently from the IMAC 27") doesn't have input port, therefore one would assume it cannot be used as external monitor. However, I have a MAC digital TV tuner which uses the USB port of my IMAC 24", so I can watch crystal clear realtime TV.

Why wouldn't I be able to display video from an equipment with VGA or DVI-A output on my IMAC 24" as long as I have VGA-USB or VGA-DVI-A converter?

I guess I would need also a driver so the IMAC would recognize the equipment.

Any thoughts?

Best regards,
myselfdasilva is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2012, 02:09 PM   #19
Jeevster
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
I use this:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Kanex-HDMIMD...5794101&sr=8-5

Although I have the 27 inch imac, but it works perfectly! Command and F2 and you are away
Jeevster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 04:30 PM   #20
praza co
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: L.A.
Smile How to Turn a 27” iMac into a Game Console Display

http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/27-i...display-124552

Boom.
praza co is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 04:45 PM   #21
majkom
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
all that works only with pre-thunderbolt imacs
majkom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 05:29 PM   #22
jonfarr
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Portland
is there anything that works with the 27" Thunderbolt Display?
__________________
iMac, Macbook Air, iPhone 5s, riPad mini w/ LTE
jonfarr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 05:45 PM   #23
majkom
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonfarr View Post
is there anything that works with the 27" Thunderbolt Display?
AFAIK nope... or, there are some recording stuffs that may be used for just transmitting video signal from xbox to imac, but it is costly and I am not sure whether it works 100 %... only hope is next xbox with thunderbolt output.. how much possible is that, onl y ballmer knows (but I wouldnt put my money on it)
majkom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 06:22 PM   #24
jonfarr
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Portland
Thanks for the post. Not that big of a deal to me, but it would be cool to be able to do.
__________________
iMac, Macbook Air, iPhone 5s, riPad mini w/ LTE
jonfarr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 07:35 PM   #25
ezekielrage_99
macrumors 68040
 
ezekielrage_99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
You best bet would be BMD Intensity though the issue is going to be lag IMHO... I've tried it before with a PS3 and XBOX360, it's "playable" but can get a little laggy from frame drops for long use.

I'd recommend running at 720p as well.
__________________
"There is a world elsewhere" - Coriolanus
ezekielrage_99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2012 iMac Connectivity to Xbox 360 Question SteveniMac iMac 13 Jun 3, 2013 06:13 PM
OS X: Xbox 360 to iMac 27 inch. RocYourSox Mac and PC Games 7 Apr 20, 2013 07:54 PM
Can I connect my Xbox 360 to my macbook pro monitor? nicotennis MacBook Pro 2 Jan 6, 2013 08:28 PM
Looking to share music/videos from my iMac to Xbox 360 DestroVega Mac Basics and Help 2 Jan 3, 2013 06:18 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC