Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Old Aug 11, 2003, 03:55 PM   #1
mayzenb
macrumors newbie

How can i convert exe. files into a Mac

I never thought that i'd run into trouble with this magnitude. I recently purchased a Mac, i'm a first time. I've been using the windows format for 12 years, and Dos before windows. Now that i have a new system i would like to upload my old exe. files into the Mac. I don't want to waste 2 hundred on the virtual pc 6 software, so how can i get around without purchasing any software.

Thank you
mayzenb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2003, 03:58 PM   #2
edesignuk
Moderator emeritus

You can't, plain and simple. Windows executables cannot and will not run on a Mac (without VPC), neither can they (to my knowledge) be converted in any way. Sorry.
Old Aug 11, 2003, 04:03 PM   #3
MacsRgr8
macrumors 604

That's a problem. .EXE is an executable application, written for DOS/Windows on x86. Not for any Mac OS. You cannot just "convert" applcations, as you can do with documents.
If you really MUST run DOS/Windows applications on your Mac, then I am afraid you will be needing VP6 (or Real PC <where are you???>).
Maybe if those .EXE-files are just self executing compressed archives, then maybe you could borrow someone's PC, to extract the files, then copy the uncompressed files to your Mac.
Old Aug 11, 2003, 04:03 PM   #4
mayzenb
macrumors newbie

furhter...

how can i then run exe. files, without converting on my MAc with out purchasing virtual pc 6. I know that there are emulators available, i just don't which one i should use and where to locate one.
mayzenb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2003, 04:07 PM   #5
MacsRgr8
macrumors 604

Re: furhter...

Quote:
Originally posted by mayzenb
how can i then run exe. files, without converting on my MAc with out purchasing virtual pc 6.
Steal it