Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 12, 2003, 02:42 AM   #1
sredhead
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Japan
Thumbs down Airport auto connecting by itself

Airport connects to the internet automatically, irrespective of whether the computer is on or not. When the computer is on the internet connect icon on the menu shows a connection, after disconnect it will continue to reconnect by itself. No internet related software is running (happens even in the middle of the night)
Using snow Airport with V4.0.8 software and airport card software v 1.3.1
Ibook 700 mhz with 640 mb ram, aircard, OS10.2.6
__________________
Thank you for you ideas and help,
Regards,
STeven
sredhead is offline   0
Old Aug 12, 2003, 07:32 AM   #2
MisterMe
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
Re: Airport auto connecting by itself

Quote:
Originally posted by sredhead
Airport connects to the internet automatically, irrespective of whether the computer is on or not. When the computer is on the internet connect icon on the menu shows a connection, after disconnect it will continue to reconnect by itself. No internet related software is running (happens even in the middle of the night)
Using snow Airport with V4.0.8 software and airport card software v 1.3.1
Ibook 700 mhz with 640 mb ram, aircard, OS10.2.6
Although you don't say so, I assume that you have a broadband connection. That means that your broadband modem is always on unless you have PPPoE. An Airport base station is a router. Just like any other router, it is always connected to the Internet. So far, you have described nothing out of the ordinary. It may also be that "friends" on the outside are borrowing your wireless connection. FWIW, which computer you have has nothing to do with it. It certainly has nothing to do with it if it is turned off.
MisterMe is offline   0
Old Aug 12, 2003, 10:06 AM   #3
Kwyjibo
macrumors 68040
 
Kwyjibo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
try mac address filtering and then WEP just to see if anyone is stelaing your WIFI
Kwyjibo is offline   0
Old Aug 12, 2003, 11:20 AM   #4
TEG
macrumors 604
 
TEG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Langley, Washington
Send a message via ICQ to TEG Send a message via AIM to TEG Send a message via MSN to TEG Send a message via Yahoo to TEG Send a message via Skype™ to TEG
If you have dial-up, it is a common problem for both the computer and Airport BS to want to connect, even with out any TCP Activity.

Solution (Works 90% of the time)
Set your computer's dial-up settings to not dial automatically.
In the Airport Administrator, there should be a setting with in there that allows you to set the station to not automatically.

About 10% of the time, it doesn't matter what you do, it will still automatically dial. A Friends G4 Sawtooth, would always dial-up durring start-up, in OS9 or OSX. It didn't bother him because it had its own line, but he had to use a network with his roomate to connect when he moved, because the thing wouldn't stop dialing with a phone line installed.

TEG
__________________
Apple and Dell are the only ones in this industry making money. They make it by being Wal-Mart. We make it by innovation, - Steve Jobs
The Tegian Zone-Glass Onion Radio
TEG is offline   0
Old Aug 12, 2003, 03:26 PM   #5
patrick0brien
macrumors 68040
 
patrick0brien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The West Loop
Send a message via AIM to patrick0brien Send a message via Yahoo to patrick0brien
Quote:
Originally posted by Kwyjibo
try mac address filtering and then WEP just to see if anyone is stelaing your WIFI
-sredhead

Also creat a "Closed Network". It makes invisible the network broadcast to all PC based Wardriving apps.

WEP first
Access Control second (MAC addy list)
Closed Network Third

The only way to connect to the base station is to know the name of the SSID and PW.
__________________
This comment has been edited for Content, Formatted to Fit Your Screen and to Run in the Time Allotted

Last edited by patrick0brien; Aug 12, 2003 at 03:28 PM.
patrick0brien is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted: Auto-connecting Block Arrows Qaanol Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Feb 17, 2014 03:04 PM
Mavericks Wifi Not Auto-connecting (rMBP) jclardy OS X Mavericks (10.9) 1 Nov 13, 2013 03:49 PM
Mac computer not auto-connecting to wireless router redhawk87 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 3 Apr 11, 2013 09:01 PM
Resolved: MBP not auto-connecting to home network. vong MacBook Pro 8 Sep 26, 2012 02:50 PM
Auto-login/autofill when connecting to wifi Aylwin Mac Basics and Help 4 Aug 21, 2012 02:06 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC