Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 4, 2007, 08:35 AM   #1
anti-microsoft
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Edinburgh, UK
What is the quickest and simplest way of getting movies from a DVD to an iPod???

I've tried handbrake + iTunes (convert for iPod) but it takes like 2 hours to complete the process quicker ways??
anti-microsoft is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2007, 08:39 AM   #2
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Why isn't the Handbrake preset to iPod working?
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / GTX 970 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2007, 08:40 AM   #3
aidanpendragon
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Sounds like that is the "quickest and simplest way." Did you read the guide here? They say it takes hours. Re-encoding video, unless you're running an 8-core Mac Pro, will be a looong process.
aidanpendragon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2007, 08:41 AM   #4
overcast
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by anti-microsoft View Post
I've tried handbrake + iTunes (convert for iPod) but it takes like 2 hours to complete the process quicker ways??
Get hardware faster than a 1.8ghz CoreDuo.
overcast is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2007, 08:43 AM   #5
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by overcast View Post
Get hardware faster than a 1.8ghz CoreDuo.
MPEG-4 in Handbrake using the iPod presets shouldn't take more then an hour (50-60 fps) even on that hardware.

The biggest bottleneck would still be the optical drive.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / GTX 970 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2007, 08:44 AM   #6
anti-microsoft
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by overcast View Post
Get hardware faster than a 1.8ghz CoreDuo.
I'm using a 2.33GHz Macbook Pro with 8x Superdrive why does it take so long??
anti-microsoft is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2007, 08:45 AM   #7
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by anti-microsoft View Post
I'm using a 2.33GHz Macbook Pro with 8x Superdrive why does it take so long??
1. It looks like you're doing two steps instead of one.
2. The Quicktime encoder sucks, badly.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / GTX 970 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2007, 08:52 AM   #8
joshuachay
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kuala Lumpur
Send a message via AIM to joshuachay Send a message via MSN to joshuachay Send a message via Yahoo to joshuachay
I noticed the same thing too when I had to rip a couple of Bollywood films from DVD to .mov files for an assignment (and I'm Chinese...) and handbrake immediately told me it would take 9 hours to rip a 3 hour film (!).

What I did was I dragged the dvd's contents to my desktop, which took not more than 15 mins, then pointed handbrake to it. Went down to 2-ish hours after that (or shorter).

Yeah, I know its a 2 step process, but it works for me. Its true what Eidorian said, the optical drive is the bottleneck. Just sharing my (less than prefect) methods
__________________
Macbook Pro SR 2.4GHz, Powerbook G4, iBook G4
iPhone 8GB, iPod Touch, iPod Video 60GB & 30GB, iPod Shuffle, iPod Mini
KeepMovingForward
joshuachay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2007, 08:54 AM   #9
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshuachay View Post
I noticed the same thing too when I had to rip a couple of Bollywood films from DVD to .mov files for an assignment (and I'm Chinese...) and handbrake immediately told me it would take 9 hours to rip a 3 hour film (!).

What I did was I dragged the dvd's contents to my desktop, which took not more than 15 mins, then pointed handbrake to it. Went down to 2-ish hours after that (or shorter).

Yeah, I know its a 2 step process, but it works for me. Its true what Eidorian said, the optical drive is the bottleneck. Just sharing my (less than prefect) methods
3 hours, ouch. I'm surprised that the DVDs weren't copy protected either.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / GTX 970 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2007, 08:59 AM   #10
joshuachay
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kuala Lumpur
Send a message via AIM to joshuachay Send a message via MSN to joshuachay Send a message via Yahoo to joshuachay
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eidorian View Post
3 hours, ouch. I'm surprised that the DVDs weren't copy protected either.
It was truly a pain... But that's what you get when you let other people pick out your assignment topics

And if they were copy protected, it would have been even more longer. But we're talking about Bollywood movies here
__________________
Macbook Pro SR 2.4GHz, Powerbook G4, iBook G4
iPhone 8GB, iPod Touch, iPod Video 60GB & 30GB, iPod Shuffle, iPod Mini
KeepMovingForward
joshuachay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2007, 09:00 AM   #11
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshuachay View Post
It was truly a pain... But that's what you get when you let other people pick out your assignment topics

And if they were copy protected, it would have been even more longer. But we're talking about Bollywood movies here
MacTheRipper isn't bad at all on an external drive. 13-15 minutes for a single layer on my 16x one.

I had a suspicion that the content had something to do with it.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / GTX 970 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2007, 09:11 AM   #12
telf22
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
i use DVD2POD, its real simple, like put the dvd in and then choose the quality and its ripped.
telf22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2007, 11:21 AM   #13
ds252
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
I don't know if your against this but you can download movies and tv shows already encoded and this was you can download multiple things instead of only converting one at a time...Still will take some time depending on how recent it is but it's probably a good idea. Get utorrent if you don't have it and then find some torrent sites.
ds252 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
importing dvd encodes into itunes, places them in Home Movies folder not Movies ThirteenXIII Apple TV and Home Theater 13 Jan 5, 2013 04:19 AM
ITUNES STORE MOVIES VS SELF CONVERTED DVD MOVIES-Which is better? Ip160Classic Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Oct 2, 2012 07:53 PM
Encoding DVD Movies Major.Robto iMac 0 Jul 1, 2012 12:08 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC