Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 11, 2007, 10:11 PM   #1
aerospace
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
[Merged] iPhone Users with T-Mobile Service (USA)

post which plans work post & prepaid

also a speed test would be cool to compare
aerospace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2007, 09:52 PM   #2
aerospace
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
bump...should be more now that the unlock has been out awhile
aerospace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2007, 10:26 PM   #3
b12yan12
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Got it this afternoon. unlocked it with GUI unlocker. fiddled around a bit to make the sms work. now working flawlessly
b12yan12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2007, 10:40 PM   #4
EvilDoc
macrumors 6502a
 
EvilDoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Circumventing the multi-verse...
Send a message via AIM to EvilDoc Send a message via Yahoo to EvilDoc
And does any one have You Tube working?
EvilDoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2007, 12:20 AM   #5
KYBOSH
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
i got youtube working on both iphone today. i used to youtube activation program floating around but found out that the secret to get it to work was to but the phones back in jail.
KYBOSH is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2007, 12:23 AM   #6
KSpider
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Send a message via AIM to KSpider
T-Mobile user here, unlocked within an hour using http://modmyiphone.com/wiki/index.ph...ck_OS_X_Part_1
KSpider is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2007, 12:39 AM   #7
showtime
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2007
For those using it on t-mobile without a data plan, what happens if you try to connect to the internet when you're not around wifi? Does it still let you connect and charge per amount of data transfered?
showtime is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2007, 02:43 AM   #8
fuzzynavo
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by showtime View Post
For those using it on t-mobile without a data plan, what happens if you try to connect to the internet when you're not around wifi? Does it still let you connect and charge per amount of data transfered?
in my experience it seems like it wont connect. if i'm out of wifi range i'll just get a dialogue saying "cannot connect to edge, you are not subscribed to edge service." the usage stats also say 0 bytes sent and received. so i think it's pretty safe to assume that my phone is not accessing edge at all.
fuzzynavo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2007, 04:38 AM   #9
showtime
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by fuzzynavo View Post
in my experience it seems like it wont connect. if i'm out of wifi range i'll just get a dialogue saying "cannot connect to edge, you are not subscribed to edge service." the usage stats also say 0 bytes sent and received. so i think it's pretty safe to assume that my phone is not accessing edge at all.
That's good. I was thinking about using it on t-mobile without the data plan and I don't want it to be constantly trying to send data and racking up usage costs.
showtime is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2007, 08:47 AM   #10
Joony
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Skokie
The guide says:

Quote:
NOTE: To set up T-Mobile's EDGE, make sure you have the Total Internet Add-On (with or without VPN, to enable VPN you must call Customer Service) enabled on your account (its $19.99/month as of September 12, 07). The $5.99 T-Zones plan WILL NOT work.
Quote:
...$5.99 t-zones, this won't work, since the iPhone doesn't have proxy settings built in.
What is this proxy settings they speak of?
Joony is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2007, 11:44 AM   #11
mongoose8p
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joony View Post
The guide says:





What is this proxy settings they speak of?
The 5.99 plan will not work on the iphone you can't adjust the proxy settings on the iphone
__________________
Macbook Pro Unibody 2.4 Ghz 4GB Ram 250 GB HD
Blackberry 8900
Fujitsu Tablet (Windows 7)
mongoose8p is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2007, 02:40 PM   #12
butisitart
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Thumbs up T-zones will work

Quote:
Originally Posted by mongoose8p View Post
The 5.99 plan will not work on the iphone you can't adjust the proxy settings on the iphone
I had installed the iPhone software unlock using the Unlock.app process. After going to Settings>General>Network>EDGE I changed APN to wap.voicestream.com, and deleted the entries in Username & Password, leaving them blank. I disabled my WiFi network to test. Went to Safari & I was able to surf no problem using T-zones/Edge. I also could check mail, use Maps etc. No Problems.

Now mind you, I had already jointed AT&T and activated my phone before all this. Then when I wanted to dump AT&T after a month & go back to T-mobile, I reinitialized my phone & started the Unlock.app process. I had no problems. Worked like a charm.

Now, my partner just bought an iPhone because I was able to unlock mine. His is not able to use Edge yet, even though he too has T-zones. Only difference is ... he never unlocked his phone with AT&T.

Now a few days after unlocking my phone with Unlock.app, my TurboSIM came in. Again, I reset my phone and started with the TurboSIM unlock. That to worked without a hitch. I am able to use my T-zones/Edge no problem.

So draw from this what you like. New phone NOT activated and used on the AT&T edge network ... can't use Edge with T-mobile & T-zones. My iPhone activated with AT&T and used on Edge, then initialized & unlocked with two different methods, can use T-zones. Hmmm ... go figure!

Okay now ....discuss.
butisitart is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2007, 09:28 PM   #13
skyhound
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Help with EDGE data please

Hey guys, I have an iphone working on T-mobile, with voice and Wifi, but I can't get EDGE to work. I added "Total Internet" for $19.99 and they said it will take up to 48 hours to be added, but it's been longer than that and it still says "You are not subscribed to Edge" when I try to access the Internet.

I called TMO and they gave me the AP to enter, but when I try to enter it on the iPhone settings it never saves it, and thus doesn't work.

Help!! The iPhone is great but without EDGE I can't use most the features unless I'm at home.


Tom
skyhound is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2007, 09:56 PM   #14
alexrs
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Any T-Mobile iPhone users yet?

Happy Apple/T-Mobile user for 5 years and AT&T hater here. Got the iPhone unlocked it FREE by following http://iphone.unlock.no. Got Youtube working using PACAY http://limitededitioniphone.com/yout...-steps-to-fix/. I had T-Mobile Web service before ($5.99) along with Hotspot ($19.99) and couldn't make the iPhone EDGE work. Called TMO CS (611 on my iPhone), upgraded to Total Internet ($19.99), which includes Hotspot so I'm actually saving money. EDGE started working immediately after the call. APN=internet2.voicestream.com (blank user/psw). If this doesn't work for you you may be in a GPRS-only zone.
alexrs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2007, 10:01 PM   #15
ekouroptev
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by skyhound View Post
Help!! The iPhone is great but without EDGE I can't use most the features unless I'm at home.


Tom
Bought an iPhone 8GB last night and didn't touch it until this morning. Then activated it and jailed breaked with iNdependence and sim-unlocked with modmyiphone.com's guide. At the end of the guide I saw the already quoted message about the T-Mobile EDGE's Add-on plan and APN name. Went to t-mo's web site, added the Total Internet Add-on online, saw the message about the 48 hours, added the APN name manually to the iPhone and went out. Less then an hour later noticed the "E" letter next to the T-Mobile on the iPhone and tried checking the web. Worked flawlessly, even YouTube. Completely AT&T-less experience.

EDIT: prior to addint Total Internet Add-on had no data plan whatsoever.
ekouroptev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2007, 10:54 PM   #16
ashtnn
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by skyhound View Post
Hey guys, I have an iphone working on T-mobile, with voice and Wifi, but I can't get EDGE to work. I added "Total Internet" for $19.99 and they said it will take up to 48 hours to be added, but it's been longer than that and it still says "You are not subscribed to Edge" when I try to access the Internet.

I called TMO and they gave me the AP to enter, but when I try to enter it on the iPhone settings it never saves it, and thus doesn't work.

Help!! The iPhone is great but without EDGE I can't use most the features unless I'm at home.


Tom
hmm. i went in today to get off my SK3 plan and put on total internet and my EDGE was activated and working within prolly 20 minutes. was at the mall with my mother and sister and nephew so it's not like i had anything better to do than play with the iphone. only problem i has was the first T-Mobile tech support bitch wouldn't give me my EDGE info because she said that she didn't have any info on the iphone...otherwise it works flawlessly. well, that is, aside from the speed :P
ashtnn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2007, 11:06 PM   #17
oxeneers
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South San Francisco, CA
Send a message via AIM to oxeneers
Thumbs up

Sidekick iD user here.

Previously had:
- $39.99/month myFaves plan
- $19.99/month unlimited Sidekick plan

Currently have:
- $39.99/month 600 Individual Value (600 anytime mins, unlimited nights/weekends)
- $19.99/month Total Internet Plan
- $14.99/month Unlimited SMS

So it's $15/more per month, but the internet is FIFTEEN THOUSAND (hah) times faster than the old Sidekick plan. I've gotten speed tests @ iphonenetworktest.com from 138kbps to 177kbps.

I unlocked my 4GB iPhone from the http://www.modmyiphone.com/wiki/ guide and been successful with YouTube working and Total Internet working with EDGE within seconds of getting off the phone with the T-Mobile representative.

This is a hell of a lot better than a Sidekick, for sure.
__________________
MacBook late-2007, Core2Duo 1.83GHz, iPhone 3G 8GB (Unlocked on T-Mobile), iPhone 2G 8GB, Black iPod Classic 80GB.
oxeneers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2007, 11:13 PM   #18
pdpfilms
macrumors 68020
 
pdpfilms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Vermontana
I've got my 8GB iPhone working great on T-Mobile. I'm roaming (and likely will be for most of the phone's life), and EDGE works great. I got the total internet plan, and was wondering if anyone else configured their phone to work at T-Mob hotspots? What are the settings required?
pdpfilms is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2007, 11:29 PM   #19
aerospace
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
can you get internet with prepaid? i have good credit but no desire for a 2yr contract.

Last edited by aerospace; Sep 15, 2007 at 11:30 PM. Reason: typo
aerospace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2007, 11:30 PM   #20
kermit4161
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdpfilms View Post
... I'm roaming (and likely will be for most of the phone's life), and EDGE works great...

I was wondering if you (or anyone out there) are in an area that T-mobile doesn't offer service. I can't even purchase a plan where I live and was wondering (if you knew) what the best way to get an account with them is...

Do I need to use a friend's address in their service area to establish the account, then have them change it to my real address later? Or is there a better way?

Thanks
kermit4161 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2007, 09:11 AM   #21
tashafa
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
t-zones $5.99 works...including youtube...got my iphone 9/14 and should take no more than 30mins to unlock from opening the package to making calls and surfing the web with t-zone

http://www.hackint0sh.org/forum/show...?t=6365&page=2
tashafa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2007, 11:37 AM   #22
carfac
macrumors 65816
 
carfac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by tashafa View Post
t-zones $5.99 works...including youtube...got my iphone 9/14 and should take no more than 30mins to unlock from opening the package to making calls and surfing the web with t-zone

http://www.hackint0sh.org/forum/show...?t=6365&page=2
tashafa, you da man! (And I take back all the nasty things I have said about newbie posts!)

That was a scary bit of a hack, but it works like a charm!

Last night, bought an iPhone at 6:30. Up and running on t_Mobile by 8 PM. This morning, signed up for TZones 5.99 at 9 AM, and I am now on EDGE t-mobile.

All is good!

Last edited by carfac; Sep 16, 2007 at 12:04 PM. Reason: added newbie comment for fun!
carfac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2007, 12:04 PM   #23
aerospace
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
what exactly does tzones offer? i went to tmobile.com but its kinda vague. you get limited net feeds and email or real internet?
aerospace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2007, 12:06 PM   #24
carfac
macrumors 65816
 
carfac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by aerospace View Post
what exactly does tzones offer? i went to tmobile.com but its kinda vague. you get limited net feeds and email or real internet?
Aero:

I get full Internet connectivity- Safari, Maps, You Tube, etc- basically, all you need for the phone. It does NOT include hotspots- if that is iportant to you, you have to get Total Internet.

Dave
carfac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2007, 12:09 PM   #25
carfac
macrumors 65816
 
carfac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Here is a good page:

http://www.t-mobile.com/shop/addons/...vc_Sub_WebApps
carfac is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone know if the iphone 5C will come to virgin mobile usa? snickerzz iPhone 9 Oct 6, 2013 02:13 PM
T-Mobile USA Announces Major 4G Coverage Expansion in 14 Markets, Solavei MVNO Targets iPhone Users MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 65 Dec 27, 2012 10:49 AM
iPhone 5 on Virgin Mobile USA artcows iPhone 3 Sep 28, 2012 03:40 PM
iPhone 5 on T-Mobile USA? princealfie iPhone 1 Sep 21, 2012 11:39 AM
T-Mobile USA Testing iPhone-Compatible 4G HSPA+ Service at Moscone West MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 53 Jun 19, 2012 11:29 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps