Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Simplesimon101

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 5, 2006
Hi,

i'm studying Graphics at Uni and i'm buying (yes i'm a good boy) the student edition of CS3 Adobe Master Collection (it's only £410 which although alot of money for me still seems a bit of a bargin!) but i'm aiming to learn, atleast to an intermediate level, the majority of the software that Adobe Create so that i can apply myself to all different areas.

there seems to be a wide array of books out there that deal with learning one or more of the different applications but i'm a bit overwhelmed by the choice... i've heard not good things about adobe's own books. i just wondered if anyone had had any experience from learning the software this way and what they found to be good resources (books, websites, etc)?

i already know Photoshop to a fairly high standard but have a very basic knoledge of most of the other software. i want to learn Illustrator, Indesign and After Effects first.

anyway any help would be great,

Simon

ppc_michael

Apr 26, 2005
Los Angeles, CA
There are lots and lots of free tutorials online for Adobe products (not necessarily CS3, but they should still work). That's how I learned everything.

creativecow.net is great for some video tutorials, too.

djbahdow01

macrumors 6502a
Jan 19, 2004
Northeast, CT
Take a look at the Classroom in a Book series, very informative and walks you through a lot of the features. Also do some searches online, there is a wealth of information out there.

Simplesimon101

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 5, 2006
cool thanks guys... i'll be sure to check those out. esp the classroom in a book (cos i guess that'll give me a more comprehensive grounding than internet tutorials at the moment)

i can't wait until i get my Mac Pro with all that stuff on it (the G3, 256 Ram, iBook with PS7 is not so wonderful anymore!)

bousozoku