Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 17, 2007, 10:55 AM   #1
klymr
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Utah
Does anyone know how to make icons?

I'm trying to make icons for my Mac, but I can't figure out how to make a transparent background on these things. Can anyone steer me in the right direction? I'm using photoshop if that makes a difference.
klymr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2007, 11:41 AM   #2
chaosbunny
macrumors 68000
 
chaosbunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: down to earth, far away from any clouds
A great free program for this is Iconic. You can find it on www.versiontracker.com

Just design your icon in photoshop, 128x128 pixels, save it as a .psd with transparent background, drag&drop it to iconic and you have your icon.
__________________
>> Mac Pro 5,1 | 6x3.46ghz | GTX670 | 24gb | 240gb ssd | 6tb hds | usb3 | Dell U2711 + Wacom Cintiq 13" HD <<
chaosbunny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2007, 02:45 PM   #3
klymr
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Utah
I tried that iconic program. It kept saying it was processing, but it'd flash through real quick and stop. I'm not sure if I am doing something wrong or what. I'll give it another try again later.
klymr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2007, 03:19 PM   #4
mergatroidal
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New York
Send a message via AIM to mergatroidal
icons?

I'm a big fan of Graphic Converter. A very versatile program once you know how to use it.

Use the app for free, for how ever long it takes till your conscience pesters you to purchase a license for it.
mergatroidal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2007, 04:25 PM   #5
chaosbunny
macrumors 68000
 
chaosbunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: down to earth, far away from any clouds
Quote:
Originally Posted by klymr View Post
I tried that iconic program. It kept saying it was processing, but it'd flash through real quick and stop. I'm not sure if I am doing something wrong or what. I'll give it another try again later.
Iconic turns the preview of the psd file in finder into the icon, it doesn't generate a new file. So it is possible that you saw no result, you see it if you make the original psd file icon bigger in icon view and select it. You can then copy paste it to be your hd icon, or a folder or whatever. You can also rename it to be .icns instead of .psd.

And it doesn't have to be a psd file, png with transparent background works as well. Sorry for not being more specific before.
__________________
>> Mac Pro 5,1 | 6x3.46ghz | GTX670 | 24gb | 240gb ssd | 6tb hds | usb3 | Dell U2711 + Wacom Cintiq 13" HD <<
chaosbunny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2007, 05:49 PM   #6
klymr
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Utah
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaosbunny View Post
Iconic turns the preview of the psd file in finder into the icon, it doesn't generate a new file. So it is possible that you saw no result, you see it if you make the original psd file icon bigger in icon view and select it. You can then copy paste it to be your hd icon, or a folder or whatever. You can also rename it to be .icns instead of .psd.

And it doesn't have to be a psd file, png with transparent background works as well. Sorry for not being more specific before.
That's what I mean. I made a transparent background .png and tossed it in there and it didn't do anything. It still came out with a white background. I'll give it another shot later tonight.
klymr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2007, 10:15 PM   #7
ezekielrage_99
macrumors 68040
 
ezekielrage_99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaosbunny View Post
A great free program for this is Iconic. You can find it on www.versiontracker.com

Just design your icon in photoshop, 128x128 pixels, save it as a .psd with transparent background, drag&drop it to iconic and you have your icon.
That's all I ever use whenever I'm creating iconsets for client, it's probably the best option for when you are creating icons in Photoshop.
__________________
"There is a world elsewhere" - Coriolanus
ezekielrage_99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2007, 03:40 AM   #8
chaosbunny
macrumors 68000
 
chaosbunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: down to earth, far away from any clouds
Quote:
Originally Posted by klymr View Post
That's what I mean. I made a transparent background .png and tossed it in there and it didn't do anything. It still came out with a white background. I'll give it another shot later tonight.

Hm, very strange...

And since this program is so simple there is actually nothing you could have done wrong. I'm sorry I can't help you further, on my machine I never had a problem with it.
__________________
>> Mac Pro 5,1 | 6x3.46ghz | GTX670 | 24gb | 240gb ssd | 6tb hds | usb3 | Dell U2711 + Wacom Cintiq 13" HD <<
chaosbunny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2007, 01:01 PM   #9
klymr
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Utah
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaosbunny View Post
Hm, very strange...

And since this program is so simple there is actually nothing you could have done wrong. I'm sorry I can't help you further, on my machine I never had a problem with it.
I tried again, and when I tossed the .psd in there, it changed from the little thumbnail to the PSD icon. I tried it again with a .png and it did the same. I'll keep playing around until I figure something out.
klymr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2007, 08:53 PM   #10
SteveG4Cube
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MontCo., PA
Send a message via AIM to SteveG4Cube
OSX's developer tools include an icon app.
__________________
Inside every cynical person, there is a disappointed idealist.
SteveG4Cube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2007, 09:01 PM   #11
klymr
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Utah
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveG4Cube View Post
OSX's developer tools include an icon app.
English please. KIDDING. I don't really know what you are talking about, but I did a google search during class and found another program that worked. I got most of my icon changed, but a few of them won't work, Adobe Illustrator included (FWIW, Photoshop and InDesign changed over fine). It's kinda annoying. Oh well.
klymr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2007, 09:06 PM   #12
ezekielrage_99
macrumors 68040
 
ezekielrage_99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by klymr View Post
I tried again, and when I tossed the .psd in there, it changed from the little thumbnail to the PSD icon. I tried it again with a .png and it did the same. I'll keep playing around until I figure something out.
You need to add an alpha layer for "true" transparency.
__________________
"There is a world elsewhere" - Coriolanus
ezekielrage_99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stop trying to make new icons happen. It's not going to happen. acosmichippo iOS 7 22 Jun 15, 2013 08:34 AM
Apple, please make iOS 7 app icons coherent. Razeus iOS 7 4 Jun 11, 2013 10:39 AM
General: How to make icons the right shape and size? aPple nErd Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 6 Feb 1, 2013 04:13 PM
Could someone make some icons for CX ( dropbox alternative ) Risco Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Oct 17, 2012 03:00 PM
Make icons/folders invisible or hidden midniter Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 5 Jun 20, 2012 09:29 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC