Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 17, 2007, 01:03 PM   #1
deboni
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Oakland, CA
Send a message via AIM to deboni
iPod touch and iPod classic connected?

Since the iPod Touch runs OS X, does it have a full version of iTunes? If so, could one hook a larger iPod (say an 80 or 160 GB model) to it and direct the Touch's iTunes to use the library on the larger disk-based device? This would be a useful hack.

Tom DeBoni
deboni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2007, 01:48 AM   #2
robPOD
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
No.
__________________
1.83ghz CD 60gb 1.25gb Macbook
24" iMac 2.8ghz C2D 2gb 500gb
8gb iPod touch
robPOD is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2007, 02:24 AM   #3
fredsherbet
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hertford, England
does it have an itunesy interface for playing back music (e.g. can you add tracks to playlists, modify smart playlists etc)?
__________________
MacBook: C2D 2GHz, 2GB Ram
First iPod: Classic 160GB
Latest addition to family: Mac Pro: 2xQuad 2.8, 6GB RAM, 8800GT, 24" Hyundai W240D-PVA
fredsherbet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2007, 03:38 AM   #4
nlivo
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ballarat, Australia
you guys dont know much about the iPod touch, do you? just go to the apple website and have a little look around.
nlivo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2007, 08:53 AM   #5
feelthefire
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Even if it did run full OSX (and it doesn't) the touch doesn't have the ability to act as a host/ controller so it can't access an attached drive. Doesn't have anything to do with itunes and has everything to do with the hardware configuration.
feelthefire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2007, 08:11 PM   #6
MacBass
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: La Crosse, WI
Send a message via AIM to MacBass Send a message via Yahoo to MacBass
In addition, you would need to track down a 30-pin to 30-pin dock connector cable, or solder your own.

And no, the iPod touch is not running a full version of OS X. A watered down version, yes.
__________________
C2D Mini, 1.83/250 GB HD/3 GB RAM/ 22" Acer LCD
80 GB iPod Classic Black; 1G iPod Nano 2GB Black; 1G 512 iPod Shuffle; Broken 4G 20GB B&W iPod
MacBass is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2007, 11:19 PM   #7
Quiara
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Send a message via AIM to Quiara Send a message via Yahoo to Quiara
dlt.
Quiara is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier: ipod classic or ipod touch 4th 64gb tomtanojevic iPod touch 5 Feb 17, 2014 04:19 AM
Apple's Low-Cost iPhone Design Said to Be Mix of iPhone 5 and iPod Touch with iPod Classic Curves MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 238 Jun 18, 2013 08:18 PM
iPod Classic capacity on iPod Touch keziapurrs iPod 4 May 19, 2013 01:06 AM
iPod Touch 5G users: Should I buy one when I already have an iPad and iPod Classic? applexeater iPod touch 6 Apr 7, 2013 11:44 AM
iPod Touch & iPod Classic MimiHome iPod 2 Jun 8, 2012 11:02 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC