Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 28, 2007, 04:00 AM   #1
joshysquashy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK
Adding proxy settings to iPhone?

Hi,

The Uni I go to has wifi throughout the campus, but only if you choose their pac file for proxies (http://www.brighton.ac.uk/proxy.pac) or type in the proxy server (proxy.brighton.ac.uk).

Is there any option to select this on the iPhone? I can do it on a mac on sys prefs.

Otherwise no wifi for me!

Last edited by joshysquashy; Sep 28, 2007 at 04:36 AM.
joshysquashy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 29, 2008, 08:12 PM   #2
gbalex
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Hey guys, I'm in the exact same situation as joshysquashy... Can anybody shed some light on this matter? It sucks not to be able to be online at the uni.

Thanks!
gbalex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2008, 10:36 PM   #3
ayush
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Hey guys,

Any luck in getting the proxy setting in iphone.

Please help me too in adding the proxy settings.
ayush is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2008, 07:45 AM   #4
zmit
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
do some searching? geez guys. i found this in less than a minute.

http://etler.livejournal.com/18726.html

only for if you are REALLY BRAVE

(ill keep looking for a better alternative)
zmit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2008, 07:57 AM   #5
beardboy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bath
In Wifi settings if you press the blue right arrow, you can setup the proxy there for each specific connection.
__________________
Mid 2013 13" MacBook Air, 4GB, 128GB SSD
Late 2012 27" iMac 3.4Ghz i7, 32GB, 1TB fusion, 2GB 680MX
Late 2011 15" MacBook Pro, 2.4Ghz i7, 16GB, 240GB SSD, HiRes AntiGlare
iPhone 5 Black 32GB
beardboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2008, 08:00 AM   #6
zmit
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
using automatic proxy files? (pac files)

(i havent got my iphone yet)
zmit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2008, 08:02 AM   #7
beardboy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bath
No idea about using PAC files, as the school's i go in, only have a proxy setup, so i just stick that into each connection.
__________________
Mid 2013 13" MacBook Air, 4GB, 128GB SSD
Late 2012 27" iMac 3.4Ghz i7, 32GB, 1TB fusion, 2GB 680MX
Late 2011 15" MacBook Pro, 2.4Ghz i7, 16GB, 240GB SSD, HiRes AntiGlare
iPhone 5 Black 32GB
beardboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2008, 01:25 AM   #8
ayush
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Hi Guys,

Finally i was able to give my proxy settings properly and able to access net


(I have iphone with version 1.1.4 and using ziphone i have unlocked for other SIM)

First i have connected to the WiFi SSID, since I got the IP address Dynamically from the AP.

Then i selected the Auto in the HTTP Proxy settings and mentioned my .pac file.

Make sure you go to the settings > general > and reset only the network settings, before doing the above steps.
ayush is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Proxy Settings RagingGoat OS X 0 Jan 18, 2013 10:25 AM
Can't store proxy settings Chancer OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 Dec 14, 2012 09:02 AM
Script to change proxy settings tatchley Mac Programming 5 Oct 19, 2012 09:49 PM
Global Proxy Settings gwelmarten iOS 6 1 Jun 25, 2012 10:44 AM
under wifi settings what is HTTP PROXY then 3 options aliensarecool iPhone 1 Jun 10, 2012 11:14 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC