Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Picture Gallery

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 7, 2007, 02:20 PM   #1
23am
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Post your network diagrams and pics!

Hello!
I'm first out with my home network diagram:

Thumb resize.

Use for example MS Visio (In Crossover or similar) to draw the diagrams.
__________________
GMT+1 - I'm sleeping when you're awake ^^
http://difference.se

Last edited by 23am; Oct 7, 2007 at 02:38 PM. Reason: Changed to TIMG-tag.
23am is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2007, 02:20 PM   #2
bartelby
macrumors Core
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Can you use the [timg] tags peas?

thx
bartelby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2007, 05:21 PM   #3
rogersmj
macrumors 68020
 
rogersmj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Hey, I thought I was the only nerd who made diagrams of his home network

Here's my current one; past (and more complex ones, from when I had roommates) diagrams are kept in an archived page on my web site.



More details here.

I started making these because I was having trouble keeping track of the IP addresses for all the components I used to have (once I switched to Mac, and got married, the number of devices on the network dropped significantly).
rogersmj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2007, 06:15 PM   #4
yg17
macrumors G5
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
I've got 2 networks, one at my house down at college, and one at my parents house at home (where I live during the breaks, so I included my crap on that one too)

College:
Click image for larger version

Name:	collegenet.jpg
Views:	1294
Size:	59.6 KB
ID:	91660

Home:
Click image for larger version

Name:	homenet.jpg
Views:	965
Size:	39.6 KB
ID:	91661

Click both to enlarge


Now, you're probably wondering to yourself right now, "yg17, based off your home network diagram, all of your crap has wireless, why don't you use it down at college?" Excellent question. There's something, I don't know what, near our house that likes to kill wireless connections. Something interferes with it and every now and then, the connection craps out, and it's really annoying, so, I just use wireless for my phone (because I rarely use wireless on it, T-Mobile's data network is fast enough for most things I do on the phone), my Xbox 360 since I don't play on Live often, and my PowerBook because I don't use it too often at the house either. And for the latter 2, they're close enough to a switch that I can plug them in if needed.
__________________
Barack Obama is not a foreign born, brown skinned, anti-war socialist who gives away healthcare. You're thinking of Jesus.
yg17 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2007, 06:32 PM   #5
SeVeN
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SL,UT
how do you make those?
__________________
MBP * G4 Cube * iPhone 5 * PS3 120G *
SeVeN is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2007, 06:39 PM   #6
rogersmj
macrumors 68020
 
rogersmj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeVeN View Post
how do you make those?
On most of my past ones I used Microsoft Vizio and their included clipart/symbols, but to make the one above I just used Adobe Fireworks CS3 and Google Images. Paste a picture, draw a line.
rogersmj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2007, 06:44 PM   #7
yg17
macrumors G5
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
I used Google Image Search and Photoshop (which, BTW, sucks for making diagrams)
__________________
Barack Obama is not a foreign born, brown skinned, anti-war socialist who gives away healthcare. You're thinking of Jesus.
yg17 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2007, 06:46 PM   #8
psychofreak
Retired
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: London
Here's mine

psychofreak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2007, 01:12 AM   #9
roker
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New Zealand
OK here's mine, it's a pretty simple setup & an even more simple diagram done in Ps.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Set-up.jpg
Views:	357
Size:	359.7 KB
ID:	91689  
roker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2007, 06:34 AM   #10
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
oh god thats sad lol!!!

once i wire up my house i shall post a piccy or 2
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2007, 09:29 AM   #11
Jasonbot
macrumors 68020
 
Jasonbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Rainbow Nation RSA
Send a message via AIM to Jasonbot Send a message via MSN to Jasonbot
My network's actually kinda big... Do you think I need a server?

Thumb resize.
Click for big version.
__________________
[insert apple related products here]
Jasonbot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2007, 09:31 AM   #12
Queso
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
I'm just waiting for someone to post a diagram with a fixed external IP address combined with the make and model of their router/firewall
Queso is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2007, 09:45 AM   #13
bigandy
macrumors G3
 
bigandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: B'more
click for larger...
Thumb resize.



The aggregate switch and DSL2 line will be added in the next few weeks - we've got our second phone line in and ready


- Internet - Two Business Grade 8mb ADSL lines (8mb down/832kbps up) each with a /28 CIDR
- Aggregate Switch (AGGSW) provides redundancy/load balancing of connections
- Main Switch (MSW01) to provide gigabit switching within network
- Printey, our lowly networked HP DeskJet
- Two Xboxes (one original, one 360)
- One desktop PC (not mine, a flatmates')
- G01, G02, G03 linked by WDS to provide 'interwebs', our 128bit WPA2 secured WiFi covering the whole flat
- A second gigabit switch, providing switching to the servers:
- 'M', mail server
- 'T', torrent server
- 'W', web server
- 'D', database server

All machines allowed to join the network require their MAC addresses added to the DHCP service (running on the mail server). DHCP leases provide a 10.0.0.x address. The four servers, and my MacBook Pro have external static IPs, as does the printer. A /28 CIDR means that we have 16 static IPs from each DSL connection.

We don't have a separate firewall box because both the two ADSL modems, the aggregate switch, and the server switch provide this. So it's not really needed.

The four servers are mainly mine for development and testing, however the torrent server is being used increasingly often. Its main purpose is to allow us to just email a .torrent file and let it do the rest. It just adds it, and emails us daily updates until we get a confirmation it's done. Then we just pick whatever it is off the drive. The network traffic is shaped so that we get optimal browsing speed while also downloading torrents at a decent rate.

Oh, and I forgot to add the phones - my WM5 'smart' phone, my iPhone, and my flatmates' P990i.


I'm glad I'm not trying to note out my work network... I work for an ISP*..


*which is also the reason I've got another DSL line coming. Why not, if you can get it free


Quote:
Originally Posted by dynamicv View Post
I'm just waiting for someone to post a diagram with a fixed external IP address combined with the make and model of their router/firewall
lol. you really think anyone will?
__________________
"any day that involves cat pee is a really bad day" - iBlue
bigandy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2007, 09:47 AM   #14
Queso
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigandy View Post
lol. you really think anyone will?
Probably not now I've mentioned it, but you never know
Queso is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2007, 10:29 AM   #15
rogersmj
macrumors 68020
 
rogersmj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Quote:
Originally Posted by dynamicv View Post
I'm just waiting for someone to post a diagram with a fixed external IP address combined with the make and model of their router/firewall
On my older diagrams I did (I post them on my site because I got a lot of people wanting to know how to setup a home network), but it didn't matter...no one ever got in because I actually set my passwords to something very long and secure. Anyone who spends 10 seconds looking at my stuff will realize which domain goes to my home network anyway. No one's ever gotten in. I do keep an eye on my auth logs.
rogersmj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2007, 05:46 PM   #16
Malfoy
macrumors 6502a
 
Malfoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Lines equal network cable

__________________
Money
Malfoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2007, 01:52 PM   #17
Gav
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
I'm currently planning on refurbishing my network next year.

Last edited by Gav; Jun 14, 2009 at 06:32 AM.
Gav is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2007, 09:04 AM   #18
lost eden
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Humble network in my dorm room.





Switch is an Allied Telesyn AT-FS724i, beige machine on it's side is my firewall running m0n0wall (500MHz K6-2, 32MiB RAM, boots from 8MB CF card), beige upright machine is my Debian fileserver (750MHz Thunderbird Athlon, 256MiB RAM, 2x 20GB drives in RAID1, 1x 20GB spare, 1x 6.5GB boot) with an APC BackUPS 300 down on the left, black machine is my XP machine which I use for gaming & Photoshop (2.0GHz Barton Athlon, 512MiB RAM, nVidia FX5900). Also connected to the switch but not underneath the desk are my MacBook (1.8GHz C2D, 2GiB RAM), openSuSE media machine (1.7GHz Thoroughbred Athlon, 512MiB RAM) & my laser printer (HP LJ 4 M plus with JetDirect).
lost eden is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2009, 12:09 AM   #19
Johnnymac50
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
networking 2 sites with Mac OSX snow servers

Quote:
Originally Posted by yg17 View Post
I've got 2 networks, one at my house down at college, and one at my parents house at home (where I live during the breaks, so I included my crap on that one too)

College:
Attachment 91660

Home:
Attachment 91661

Click both to enlarge


Now, you're probably wondering to yourself right now, "yg17, based off your home network diagram, all of your crap has wireless, why don't you use it down at college?" Excellent question. There's something, I don't know what, near our house that likes to kill wireless connections. Something interferes with it and every now and then, the connection craps out, and it's really annoying, so, I just use wireless for my phone (because I rarely use wireless on it, T-Mobile's data network is fast enough for most things I do on the phone), my Xbox 360 since I don't play on Live often, and my PowerBook because I don't use it too often at the house either. And for the latter 2, they're close enough to a switch that I can plug them in if needed.
I LIKE WHAT YOU DID......CAN YOU HELP?
I know my macintoshes and network pretty well. I know the OSX 10.4 Server. but I have a new challenges here. I would like your guidience.

I have to interconnect (2) separate sites both of which are comcast sites. Now each site has the Snow Leopard Server. How should I interconnect these sever between sites? Now they use VPN to access because a filemaker database is being access to one site.

How should I connect the Snow OSX Sever on each LAN?
#1
Should both Servers be directly connected to ISP using one of the (2) ethernet ports. Then the second port connects to a switch and feed the 40 in-house Macintoshes?
Then use Server for NAT, Firewall, VPN and email setup? And the Router can do DHCP.

#2
Or should I connect Router to Router between sites then the Router to switch in-house then connect Server and clients off switch? Use Router for DHCP?*
What about NAT, Firewall, VPN and email setup?*

The goal is to get the fastest and secure VPN connection between the sites. 1 site will host an email server and filemaker database. The other site will access those services.

Thanks So Much*
Johnnymac50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2009, 03:14 PM   #20
pacmania1982
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Birmingham, UK
Here's mine - I started doing it then got bored half way through ;0)

pac
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	network_layout.jpg
Views:	875
Size:	80.7 KB
ID:	201402  
__________________
15" Late 2013 Quad Core i7 Retina MacBook Pro | 32GB VZW iPad 3 | 16GB iPhone 4s
pacmania1982 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2009, 03:46 PM   #21
SanderH
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Belgium
Hmmm, might do this when I'm really really bored.

What's it used for any way? To have a quick overview with all the IP's?
SanderH is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2009, 05:18 PM   #22
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanderH View Post
Hmmm, might do this when I'm really really bored.

What's it used for any way? To have a quick overview with all the IP's?
to quickly overview IP addresses you can open up Airport Utility. there is a spot in there that will tell you
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2009, 06:22 PM   #23
rkdiddy
macrumors 65816
 
rkdiddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: OC Baby!
This is an old thread - but I'll play.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	mynetwork.jpg
Views:	782
Size:	214.3 KB
ID:	201423  
__________________
Mini: rMBP 15" 2.6ghz i7/16/256GB | 2.5ghz i5/8/750GB
27" TB ACD | B&W MM-1 | 2TB TC | iPhone 5 | iPad 4G

advertising : design : marketing : print : social media : web - www.risencreative.com
rkdiddy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2009, 06:30 PM   #24
Andy348
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Montreal
Too lazy to post a pic but I'll explain it.

Cable wire comes in downstairs, goes up through the wall into the home office. Connected then to some random Motorola box videotron gave us, then to a wireless N router and then a normal router. From there it goes to my MacBook, 360, Brothers PC, Dads PC, Moms PC, Sisters PC, My PC, PS3, printer.

etc.
__________________
MacBook Pro 15" 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM, 750GB HD
24" Asus VH242H HD Monitor
Harman Kardon Soundsticks II
Shure SRH440
Andy348 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2009, 07:03 PM   #25
Drewsky87
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: MD
Here's my network, everything is wired with CAT5e which I ran through the walls of my house and punched down into 4 separate jacks in 2 different rooms (3 in mine, 1 in a spare room). The 3 jacks in my room goto the D-Link switch (my custom PC and my Mac Mini are connected to that), the PS3 and the 360. The remaining jack in the spare room goes to the Dell PC.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Network Setup (Wired).png
Views:	304
Size:	80.5 KB
ID:	201435  
__________________
Drewsky87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote


Reply
MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Picture Gallery

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drawing network diagrams app? blueroom Mac Applications and Mac App Store 9 Dec 21, 2013 06:03 AM
Software for animated diagrams ChrisA Digital Video 9 Sep 3, 2013 11:07 AM
App For doing diagrams with handwriting font trackbikes iPad Apps 1 Nov 7, 2012 10:08 AM
[PICS] Wrapsol applied to back, and a thin TPU case over it. [PICS] holyindian iPhone Accessories 2 Oct 2, 2012 09:53 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC