Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 19, 2007, 09:20 AM   #1
pederg
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Switzerland
OS X Server 10.5 - Hardware Question

On the specification for server 10.5 it says:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apple
Mac server or desktop comupter with an Intel, PowerPC G5, or PowerPC G4 (867MHz or faster) processor; 1GB of physical RAM; 20GB of available disk space
so i won't be able to run it on a high end Aluminium powerbook i have lying around at home? Would it tell me it can't if i tried?

Peder
pederg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2007, 09:46 AM   #2
projectle
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
One "CAN" run it, however you will need to do a little "tweaking" to the installer, or install in Target Disk mode to get it to run.

After it is installed, there are none of those checks to see which hardware it is on.

The idea is to limit it from running on a system that would not provide a very good experience. This time around, Leopard will not install on any computer that is not Quartz Extreme enabled.

So, you get the OS without the pretty stuff... just like you had with Tiger.
projectle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2007, 04:03 PM   #3
pederg
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Switzerland
Quote:
Originally Posted by projectle View Post
One "CAN" run it, however you will need to do a little "tweaking" to the installer, or install in Target Disk mode to get it to run.

After it is installed, there are none of those checks to see which hardware it is on.

The idea is to limit it from running on a system that would not provide a very good experience. This time around, Leopard will not install on any computer that is not Quartz Extreme enabled.

So, you get the OS without the pretty stuff... just like you had with Tiger.
thanks for that, but what is the limitation on it being a laptop and not a desktop? How would the performance be affected if all internal specifications are above requirements?

Peder
pederg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2007, 04:28 PM   #4
Makosuke
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Cool Part of CA, USA
The answer about the "desktop" limitation is, I believe, the same. The OS almost certainly CAN run on a laptop (I seriously doubt the server flavor omits the drivers for PBs, otherwise it wouldn't run on a Mini or iMac, which are largely the same internally), but it's not supported since Apple didn't intend the laptop hardware to be used that way.

Of course, the iMac and Mini weren't really intended to be used that way, either.

I doubt it even bothers doing a machine ID check to make sure it's not being installed on a laptop, but in the event it DOES, I expect you can override it the same way as with the processor speed limitation.
Makosuke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2007, 04:31 PM   #5
pederg
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Switzerland
Thanks for the help guys.. much appreciated..
Peder
pederg is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Media server, 10 ATVs. What hardware The-Pro Apple TV and Home Theater 17 Aug 18, 2013 03:48 PM
Question on running ML virtually on unsupported hardware Mad Mac Maniac OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Jul 24, 2013 12:11 PM
question about iphone 4 hardware WhiteIphone5 iPhone 3 Apr 9, 2013 10:46 AM
Converting from old Hardware Lion server, to new hardware Mountain Lion Server kcossabo Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 2 Dec 26, 2012 08:59 AM
Hardware Question edovann iPhone 1 Dec 14, 2012 03:28 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps