Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 31, 2007, 07:28 PM   #1
s33n
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
G5 power Mac trouble: Not loading osx

Hi folks looking for a bit of help here, My mates just got himself a g5 mac of ebay and brang it to me to help him get it working.
Im no mac expert just use them at work and have a mac book, but no more than him on the subject so trying to help!

In the product description of the item it said it just needed a start up disk to work, i have no start up disk for it so cant test this right now.

Is this common with macs? im sure my book came working right away with out this trouble?

when i press the power button the led lights up and makes 'the mac on noise'
and apears to be working, the display doesnt do anything and it sits there sounding on but doing nothing.

is it possible that the machine has no os installed?

has my mate been ripped off and paid for a broken mac?

any help would be ideal, as im out of my depth here, ta

Edit: the monitors a Apple Cinema Display.

Last edited by s33n; Oct 31, 2007 at 07:54 PM. Reason: Added type on display
s33n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2007, 07:31 PM   #2
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
The PowerMac G5's video card may have shifted during shipping, it was a common issue at one point.
__________________
If you are the type of person who solves all their problems with a hammer, because it is the only tool in your toolbox. It would be wise of you to never get in an argument with a gunsmith.
Sun Baked is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2007, 07:43 PM   #3
s33n
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
When you say shifted do you mean come loose? have just had a look and it apears to be firmly in its slot.
s33n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2007, 07:54 PM   #4
JesterJJZ
macrumors 68000
 
JesterJJZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Is there a hard drive inside at all? Do you see anything on your monitor?
__________________
jesterpictures.com theoryiseverything.com jarek.com
Shoot for the Impossible...Then do it
MacPro 12core, 64GB, GTX680, 30" ACD, 23" ACD -- 15" MBP 2.6 i7, Anti-Glare, 16GB, 240GB SSD + 1TB
JesterJJZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2007, 07:58 PM   #5
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by s33n View Post
When you say shifted do you mean come loose? have just had a look and it apears to be firmly in its slot.
I mean shifted, but still firmly in the slot.

Moved just enough to break the signal on a few traces, in the slot.

Apple's first couple repair tips beyond is it plugged in, check the cable/and card socket for bent pins, and resetting PRAM is -- reseat the video card. But there is/was a site on diagnosing video problems on the G5, but I have no idea where anymore.
__________________
If you are the type of person who solves all their problems with a hammer, because it is the only tool in your toolbox. It would be wise of you to never get in an argument with a gunsmith.
Sun Baked is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2007, 07:58 PM   #6
s33n
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
The Monitor apears to be powerless, no display at all.

there is a hard drive in there yes and its connected.
s33n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2007, 08:00 PM   #7
s33n
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sun Baked View Post
I mean shifted, but still firmly in the slot.

Moved just enough to break the signal on a few traces, in the slot.

Apple's first couple repair tips beyond is it plugged in, check the cable/and card socket for bent pins, and resetting PRAM is -- reseat the video card. But there is/was a site on diagnosing video problems on the G5, but I have no idea where anymore.

Ok will give this a go
s33n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2007, 08:08 PM   #8
s33n
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Took the card out and put it back in, still no joy
s33n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2007, 12:45 AM   #9
disconap
macrumors 68000
 
disconap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Ok, from reading your opening, are you trying to boot without an OS? Macs don't boot into "bios" without a bootable hard drive present, they actually do nothing (or at least the G4s did, so I assume the G5s do the same).

Try this--download the bootable disc image for the PPC version of Ubuntu, burn it to disc (CD size), and try to boot from it. Here is a link to the disc image. The try booting from this disc (hold down the C button after the Apple tone). This should test whether or not everything is working if you don't have an OS disc, but you're eventually going to need a hard drive and an OS...
__________________
Mac Mini 4x2gHz i7/16gb/240gb R0 OCZ Vertex450/10.9.2
Mac Mini 2x2.5 gHz i5/8gb/120gb OCZ Vertex4/10.9.2/server
Macbook Pro retina 2x2.4gHz i5/8gb/256gb/10.9.2
disconap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2007, 12:56 AM   #10
JesterJJZ
macrumors 68000
 
JesterJJZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Yeah, looks like the drive is just blank. Buy Leopard.
__________________
jesterpictures.com theoryiseverything.com jarek.com
Shoot for the Impossible...Then do it
MacPro 12core, 64GB, GTX680, 30" ACD, 23" ACD -- 15" MBP 2.6 i7, Anti-Glare, 16GB, 240GB SSD + 1TB
JesterJJZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Having trouble loading Bootcamp Drivers on 2013 iMac 27" likwidsolutions Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 5 Apr 27, 2014 12:25 AM
Marriage in trouble, please, need help blocking iMessage contact in OSX jwoods OS X Mavericks (10.9) 35 Feb 28, 2014 03:27 PM
PowerBook G4 OSX 10.5.8 Install Trouble RageCandyBar PowerPC Macs 3 Dec 10, 2013 09:36 PM
Having trouble with power supply for GTX 680 Jackediting Mac Pro 4 Aug 6, 2013 04:39 PM
Power Mac G4 AGP MAXPower G4 1,6Ghz GeForce 6200A Leopard video trouble Gionnimata PowerPC Macs 7 Jun 4, 2012 10:51 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps