Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 31, 2007, 07:28 PM   #1
s33n
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
G5 power Mac trouble: Not loading osx

Hi folks looking for a bit of help here, My mates just got himself a g5 mac of ebay and brang it to me to help him get it working.
Im no mac expert just use them at work and have a mac book, but no more than him on the subject so trying to help!

In the product description of the item it said it just needed a start up disk to work, i have no start up disk for it so cant test this right now.

Is this common with macs? im sure my book came working right away with out this trouble?

when i press the power button the led lights up and makes 'the mac on noise'
and apears to be working, the display doesnt do anything and it sits there sounding on but doing nothing.

is it possible that the machine has no os installed?

has my mate been ripped off and paid for a broken mac?

any help would be ideal, as im out of my depth here, ta

Edit: the monitors a Apple Cinema Display.

Last edited by s33n; Oct 31, 2007 at 07:54 PM. Reason: Added type on display
s33n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2007, 07:31 PM   #2
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
The PowerMac G5's video card may have shifted during shipping, it was a common issue at one point.
__________________
MacRumors member fails resist iPhone glamour effect, suffers credit card damage 2d8.
Sun Baked is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2007, 07:43 PM   #3
s33n
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
When you say shifted do you mean come loose? have just had a look and it apears to be firmly in its slot.
s33n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2007, 07:54 PM   #4
JesterJJZ
macrumors 68000
 
JesterJJZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Is there a hard drive inside at all? Do you see anything on your monitor?
__________________
jesterpictures.com theoryiseverything.com jarek.com
Shoot for the Impossible...Then do it
MacPro 12core, 64GB, GTX680, 30" ACD, 23" ACD -- 15" MBP 2.6 i7, Anti-Glare, 16GB, 240GB SSD + 1TB
JesterJJZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2007, 07:58 PM   #5
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by s33n View Post
When you say shifted do you mean come loose? have just had a look and it apears to be firmly in its slot.
I mean shifted, but still firmly in the slot.

Moved just enough to break the signal on a few traces, in the slot.

Apple's first couple repair tips beyond is it plugged in, check the cable/and card socket for bent pins, and resetting PRAM is -- reseat the video card. But there is/was a site on diagnosing video problems on the G5, but I have no idea where anymore.
__________________
MacRumors member fails resist iPhone glamour effect, suffers credit card damage 2d8.
Sun Baked is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2007, 07:58 PM   #6
s33n
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
The Monitor apears to be powerless, no display at all.

there is a hard drive in there yes and its connected.
s33n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2007, 08:00 PM   #7
s33n
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sun Baked View Post
I mean shifted, but still firmly in the slot.

Moved just enough to break the signal on a few traces, in the slot.

Apple's first couple repair tips beyond is it plugged in, check the cable/and card socket for bent pins, and resetting PRAM is -- reseat the video card. But there is/was a site on diagnosing video problems on the G5, but I have no idea where anymore.

Ok will give this a go
s33n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2007, 08:08 PM   #8
s33n
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Took the card out and put it back in, still no joy
s33n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2007, 12:45 AM   #9
disconap
macrumors 68000
 
disconap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Ok, from reading your opening, are you trying to boot without an OS? Macs don't boot into "bios" without a bootable hard drive present, they actually do nothing (or at least the G4s did, so I assume the G5s do the same).

Try this--download the bootable disc image for the PPC version of Ubuntu, burn it to disc (CD size), and try to boot from it. Here is a link to the disc image. The try booting from this disc (hold down the C button after the Apple tone). This should test whether or not everything is working if you don't have an OS disc, but you're eventually going to need a hard drive and an OS...
__________________
quad i7 2ghz Mac Mini/16gb/120gb Vertex3/10.8.5
Mac Mini 2.5 gHz i5/8gb/120gb Santec ssd/10.8.5
iPad 3 64gb
Atom 330/4gb/32gbSSD/Ubuntu Server 12.04.3
disconap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2007, 12:56 AM   #10
JesterJJZ
macrumors 68000
 
JesterJJZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Yeah, looks like the drive is just blank. Buy Leopard.
__________________
jesterpictures.com theoryiseverything.com jarek.com
Shoot for the Impossible...Then do it
MacPro 12core, 64GB, GTX680, 30" ACD, 23" ACD -- 15" MBP 2.6 i7, Anti-Glare, 16GB, 240GB SSD + 1TB
JesterJJZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Observations of my Power Mac G5 Jethryn Freyman PowerPC Macs 9 Sep 23, 2011 12:56 AM
Power Mac G5 sleep and video issue Jethryn Freyman PowerPC Macs 1 Aug 7, 2011 04:47 PM
Power Mac G5 Reliablity Jethryn Freyman PowerPC Macs 3 Jul 24, 2011 01:03 AM
2TB WD Caviar Green hard disk for Power Mac G5 Jethryn Freyman PowerPC Macs 3 Jul 16, 2011 08:04 AM
Power Mac G5 Support bryantsiphone PowerPC Macs 17 Dec 26, 2010 07:20 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC