Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 4, 2007, 08:05 PM   #1
highlighter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Can't delete default DNS servers in Leopard

I have a shiny new Macbook, but the wireless is brutally slow, so I'm trying openDNS to see if that helps. I go to system preferences -> network -> airport -> advanced -> DNS and there are two default numbers that are grayed out and cannot be selected or deleted. Anybody know how to get rid of these?
highlighter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2007, 06:39 PM   #2
sozekizer
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
short of editing /etc/resolv.conf and deleting the servers in there, i'm not certain. i'm looking for the same answer. i'll post if i find anything
sozekizer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2007, 06:43 PM   #3
rdowns
macrumors Penryn
 
rdowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Are you clicking the "+" in the lower right hand corner?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 1-2.jpg
Views:	121
Size:	53.7 KB
ID:	92680  
rdowns is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2007, 06:54 PM   #4
sozekizer
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
adding is not a problem. the "+" sign allows that. the issue is when attempting to delete the existing dns servers. they are greyed out and cannot be selected. nowhere in my network do i have static dns servers set.
sozekizer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2007, 07:00 PM   #5
rdowns
macrumors Penryn
 
rdowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Have you tried setting up the new DNS on your router?

Try here:
https://www.opendns.com/start?router
rdowns is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2007, 10:32 PM   #6
sozekizer
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdowns View Post
Have you tried setting up the new DNS on your router?

Try here:
https://www.opendns.com/start?router
ah but you see that would be the easy way out. i want to be able to leave my router set to dhcp. there has to be a way to delete the default servers as they are loaded in the OS. i would prefer not to have to change settings in my router.
sozekizer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2007, 01:04 AM   #7
kokorozashi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by sozekizer View Post
ah but you see that would be the easy way out. i want to be able to leave my router set to dhcp. there has to be a way to delete the default servers as they are loaded in the OS. i would prefer not to have to change settings in my router.
It's not just the easy but the only way out. An evidently little-known feature of DHCP is that it provides advice regarding which DNS servers to use. That's where those grey numbers are coming from. It would be nice if Apple allowed you to ignore them, as they seem to do with Ethernet, since they are only advice.
kokorozashi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2007, 01:16 AM   #8
swiftaw
macrumors 603
 
swiftaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Omaha, NE, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by sozekizer View Post
ah but you see that would be the easy way out. i want to be able to leave my router set to dhcp. there has to be a way to delete the default servers as they are loaded in the OS. i would prefer not to have to change settings in my router.
AFAIK changing your routers default DNS server has nothing to do with DHCP. I changed my routers default DNS server to openDNS and it is still providing DHCP to my network.
swiftaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2008, 07:25 AM   #9
sgc
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by highlighter View Post
I have a shiny new Macbook, but the wireless is brutally slow, so I'm trying openDNS to see if that helps. I go to system preferences -> network -> airport -> advanced -> DNS and there are two default numbers that are grayed out and cannot be selected or deleted. Anybody know how to get rid of these?
Hi.
You can add a new location and use a manual ip and dns setup, or you can add a new AirPort interface with a manual ip and dns setup.

/Stiwi.
sgc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2008, 06:54 AM   #10
supachicken
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sydney
They where in there in tiger too mate - just appeared as blank.
Just put different DNS if you want and it should follow those ones after it falls over on the other oneż
__________________
G4 Sawtooth - Dual 500MHz, 896MB RAM, 10GB HDD, OS X 10.4.1
G3 B&W - 350MHz, 128MB RAM 6GB HDD, OS X 10.3.2
G3 Beige - 266MHz in pieces ( Hopefuly in perspex ATX case soon!)
iPod Mini - 4GB Silver
supachicken is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2008, 03:04 PM   #11
Z06jerry
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Hitting blocked sites with OpenDNS under Leopard

I was directed here by the folks @ OpenDNS. I am also having trouble with the DNS entries in my desktop & my router under Leopard. Anyone know of a solution? or do I have to wait for Apple to resolve this in a future update? Thanks

http://forums.opendns.com/comments.php?DiscussionID=903
Z06jerry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2008, 12:26 AM   #12
richao
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Fixing DNS problem on Airport under Leopard

There is a solution for this problem that's fairly straightforward. Essentially, you just need to create a new airport service.

1. Open System Preferences and go to Network.
2. Click on AirPort and click advanced. Note the IPv4 Address, Subnet Mask, and Router info under TCP/IP; also note the numbers listed under DNS, except for the SOB that's causing the problem (in my case, it's the same number as my Router address).
3. Click OK.
4. Click on AirPort in the left pane of the Network panel, and click the tool icon below that pane. Select Make Service Inactive.
5. Cilck the plus icon and create a new AirPort service.
6. Click Advanced, and change Configure IPv4 to "manually." Enter the information you copied. Do the same for DNS. Click the Airport button and add your network.
7. Click OK.
8. Click Apply.

Everything should be fine. Don't ask me why Apple wants to make us go through this rigamarole, unless it's to discourage us from using non-Apple routers???
richao is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2008, 12:40 PM   #13
Duncantho
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Re. Can't delete default DNS servers in Leopard

After giving up on trying to delete the greyed-out addresses I thought I'd try leaving them there and simply adding the OpenDNS addresses that I wanted in their place. I rebooted and now everything works fine. In my case at least, they greyed-out ones now seem to be ignored.
Duncantho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2009, 09:54 AM   #14
Simon27
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Since this thread features quite high in Google I thought I'd write up some conclusions now that it's a year later.

On Leopard, ignore the grayed-out DNS address and add you own ones in. Then, as suggested by coffeestar on this OpenDNS thread, run the command
Code:
cat /etc/resolv.conf
in Terminal. This will give you a list of your chosen DNS servers with the once suggested by the router at the end.

On Snow Leopard, when you add new DNS servers to the list, the one suggested by the router is replaced by your first choice. Then run the same Terminal command again and you will only see the servers that you chose, but with an interesting notice at the top:

Code:
This file is not used by the host name and address resolution or the DNS query routing mechanisms used by most processes on this Mac OS X system.

This file is automatically generated.
Hope this is of use to anyone finding this thread who's using Leopard.
Simon27 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Deleted my default DNS servers DrZach21 OS X Mavericks (10.9) 2 Feb 23, 2014 04:15 PM
DNS Auto-Default Software?? Sole174 Wasteland 4 Feb 6, 2013 11:33 PM
Wifi slowness due to google dns servers? sgiles1 iOS 6 1 Oct 5, 2012 08:12 AM
Do I have the ability to assign DNS servers on the airport express/extreme? mrjayviper Mac Peripherals 2 Aug 5, 2012 07:17 PM
Resolved: Help setting command/scrip to change DNS servers cdubb80 Mac Programming 4 Jul 16, 2012 02:57 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC