Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 11, 2007, 05:28 AM   #1
R.Youden
macrumors 68020
 
R.Youden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Quick Question about the AppleTV

I am thinking of getting an Apple TV is a week or two but I have one quick question first.

When will it be updat.. no only kidding!

How does it display seasons or series in TV Shows? On the old Front Row you selected a show then a season whilst with the new Front Row you just get ever episode dumped on the screen in no order.

So does Apple TV display like the old Front Row or the new one?

Thanks.
R.Youden is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2007, 05:37 AM   #2
peeaanuut
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Southern California
Send a message via AIM to peeaanuut
the apple displays like the new one. You get an entire show in one shot. However, you can minipulate a show by how you label it. If you set up the seasons and show numbers it will show newest on the top to oldest on the bottom. So for example. I have 7 seasons of the west wing on there. To watch season 1 episode 1, I have to go to the bottom of the list. There are ways to show the first season first with naming schemes and such, but I figure I can just scroll.
peeaanuut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2007, 05:41 AM   #3
R.Youden
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
R.Youden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by peeaanuut View Post
the apple displays like the new one. You get an entire show in one shot. However, you can minipulate a show by how you label it. If you set up the seasons and show numbers it will show newest on the top to oldest on the bottom. So for example. I have 7 seasons of the west wing on there. To watch season 1 episode 1, I have to go to the bottom of the list. There are ways to show the first season first with naming schemes and such, but I figure I can just scroll.
Well that is really crap!

How difficult would it be to add another layer to the menu to make it so much intuitive to navigate. Thats really poor.
R.Youden is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2007, 07:14 AM   #4
tronic72
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Same as Leopard

[QUOTE=R.Youden;4476782]I am thinking of getting an Apple TV is a week or two but I have one quick question first.

"So does Apple TV display like the old Front Row or the new one?"

By "new one" I I assume you mean Leopards Front Row?? The answer is the Apple TV is the same as the new Leopard Front Row.
tronic72 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2007, 07:51 AM   #5
R.Youden
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
R.Youden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by tronic72 View Post
By "new one" I I assume you mean Leopards Front Row?? The answer is the Apple TV is the same as the new Leopard Front Row.
Yeah, thats the one. I suppose I mean something like this; do you get:

TV Shows -> List of Shows -> List of seasons -> List of episodes

Or do you get:

TV Shows -> List of Shows -> List of episodes

Thanks
R.Youden is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2007, 10:50 AM   #6
zedsdead
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by R.Youden View Post
Yeah, thats the one. I suppose I mean something like this; do you get:

TV Shows -> List of Shows -> List of seasons -> List of episodes

Or do you get:

TV Shows -> List of Shows -> List of episodes

Thanks
You get: TV Shows -> List of Shows -> List of episodes

Which is another ridiculous feature Apple as still not updated. It should list Season as a separate folder.
__________________
iMac 27: 3.4 Core i7 Quad, 768gb SSD, 24gb of RAM, 2gb NVIDIA 680mx
rMBP 13: 2.6 Core i5, Iris 5100, 8gb RAM, 512 SSD
iPad Air, iPhone 5s, Apple TV, Final Cut X, Logic X, Drobo 5D
zedsdead is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick question about the imac 20 and 24 native resolution on the 9400m. 485250 iMac 2 Sep 11, 2009 12:21 PM
Quick question about the little black cloth included with the early 08 release MBPs DAAAAAAAVE MacBook Pro 19 Dec 1, 2008 01:31 PM
A few quick questions about the flexibility of the iphone plan? kmcypress iPhone 2 Jul 22, 2008 12:22 AM
Quick Question about the "put new contacts created on this iPhone into the group" opt Kris B.. iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Jul 17, 2008 09:27 PM
I have a quick question about the Radions on the G5... TheOne Macintosh Computers 1 Jun 24, 2003 09:34 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC