Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 23, 2007, 12:36 PM   #1
Benjamindaines
macrumors 68030
 
Benjamindaines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: A religiously oppressed state
Screenshots not working

When I try to take a screenshot (Command + Shift + 3/4) I get the camera sound, but a file is never created on my desktop. I have searched my drive and can't see that these images are going anywhere. Any ideas?
__________________

Benjamindaines is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2007, 12:43 PM   #2
CRAZYBUBBA
macrumors 65816
 
CRAZYBUBBA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto/Houston
Here are some responses that i got to the same problem, none of them eliminate the problem, however.
CRAZYBUBBA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2007, 01:00 PM   #3
odinsride
macrumors 65816
 
odinsride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
There are a couple discussions on Apple Forums about this. I'm having the same problem - some kind of memory leak with Screencapture. If you check your console.app you might see the messages about it.

I've filed a bug report with Apple already, you might want to do the same.
__________________
"It is just that heavy metal musicians write in minor keys, and when you do that, you frighten people." - Ronnie James Dio (RIP)
Flickr
odinsride is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2007, 03:53 PM   #4
Benjamindaines
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
Benjamindaines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: A religiously oppressed state
It seems to only affect my account. I just created a new one and it works just fine, now we just need to figure out how to fix it on the "broken" account...
__________________

Benjamindaines is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2007, 04:51 PM   #5
Benjamindaines
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
Benjamindaines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: A religiously oppressed state
I fixed it!

Open Terminal
Code:
defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles -bool true; killall Finder
Then navigate to ~/Library/Preferences/ and open .GlobalPreferences.plist
Once it is open just remove the AppleDisplayScaleFactor string and save.



Then in Terminal turn invisible files off again:
Code:
defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles -bool true; killall Finder
In a way it's good this happened, because when I turned invisible files on I found 2 movies that were hidden on my desktop each ~2GB so I got some hard drive space back.


Now for some explanation... it seems that if you mess with Resolution Independence you mess up your screenshots.
__________________


Last edited by Benjamindaines; Nov 23, 2007 at 05:04 PM.
Benjamindaines is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2007, 10:23 AM   #6
odinsride
macrumors 65816
 
odinsride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Wow!

thanks for this solution, I will definitely try it when I get home and report back on the results!

I have high hopes, because I messed with the Display Scaling a while back, didn't think it would have anything to do with this problem though.
__________________
"It is just that heavy metal musicians write in minor keys, and when you do that, you frighten people." - Ronnie James Dio (RIP)
Flickr
odinsride is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2007, 09:56 PM   #7
odinsride
macrumors 65816
 
odinsride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
It worked! But I couldn't get your command line to show hidden files so I had to use TinkerTool to show hidden/system files. But at least my screenshots work again!

Thanks
__________________
"It is just that heavy metal musicians write in minor keys, and when you do that, you frighten people." - Ronnie James Dio (RIP)
Flickr
odinsride is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2009, 09:26 PM   #8
seenastyle
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Same problem but on Snow Leopard 2 years later

Guys,
I'm having the same problem but it appeared only after upgrading to Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard. Unfortunately, in Snow Leopard, there is no AppleDisplayScaleFactor string in .GlobalPreferences.plist anymore, or at least for me. Any ideas where that string is located now, or what else I can tweak?

Thanks,
seenastyle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2010, 11:36 PM   #9
onorobo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Hey, sorry I know this is resurrecting a dead thread, at the moment I do not quite care! I- I tried your solution, but got to the second step and found that there is no file titled .GlobalPreferences.plist on my computer.

So I decided to give up and tried your third step to hide all these invisible files now showing all over my computer and it is not working! I am freaking out a little. What's going on??
onorobo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2010, 07:39 AM   #10
pompousjohn
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by onorobo View Post
Hey, sorry I know this is resurrecting a dead thread, at the moment I do not quite care! I- I tried your solution, but got to the second step and found that there is no file titled .GlobalPreferences.plist on my computer.

So I decided to give up and tried your third step to hide all these invisible files now showing all over my computer and it is not working! I am freaking out a little. What's going on??
I ran into the exact same issue. I noticed the commands to show and hide hidden files were identical, so taking a wild guess I tried:

defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles -bool false; killall Finder

and it worked.
pompousjohn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2010, 10:30 PM   #11
hulamonkey
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
I actually CAN take a screenshot but when I double click it, the picture comes up static-y. It's messed up looking. When I attached it to an e-mail to show someone, they said that it was blank and nothing was even there.

I attached it onto this message. I hope it actually pulls through. What the hell is going on and how can I fix it? I really need this screen shot function.

Thanks in advance!



Quote:
Originally Posted by pompousjohn View Post
I ran into the exact same issue. I noticed the commands to show and hide hidden files were identical, so taking a wild guess I tried:

defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles -bool false; killall Finder

and it worked.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen shot 2010-09-29 at 20.21.26 .png
Views:	158
Size:	26.4 KB
ID:	253936  
hulamonkey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2011, 08:15 PM   #12
hdzavalanche
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
I know this is a zombie thread, but it's now the top hit on Google.

To fix this problem, just type into Terminal: killall SystemUIServer

This will fix it without having to log out and back in again.

Edit: Nevermind; it must have been another coincidence. It's not working, as ever.

Last edited by hdzavalanche; Jul 8, 2011 at 11:04 PM. Reason: Nevermind.
hdzavalanche is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 09:27 AM   #13
rmchale
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdzavalanche View Post
I know this is a zombie thread, but it's now the top hit on Google.

To fix this problem, just type into Terminal: killall SystemUIServer

This will fix it without having to log out and back in again.

Edit: Nevermind; it must have been another coincidence. It's not working, as ever.
I have the same problem in Lion.. Any progress?
rmchale is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 09:28 AM   #14
rmchale
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdzavalanche View Post
I know this is a zombie thread, but it's now the top hit on Google.

To fix this problem, just type into Terminal: killall SystemUIServer

This will fix it without having to log out and back in again.

Edit: Nevermind; it must have been another coincidence. It's not working, as ever.
I rebooted earlier that did not fix it.. This seems to have fixed it(in Lion). I will keep my fingers crossed.
rmchale is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2011, 12:47 PM   #15
nkaryb
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
What program?

When he said to OPEN GlobalPreferences.plist and showed a screenshot, WHAT program did he use to open the file? I tried double-clicking the plist file and it just opened TextEdit with a black screen.

Thanks,
Nathan
nkaryb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2011, 05:26 PM   #16
Reach9
macrumors 68020
 
Reach9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: In America
Guys i'm getting this problem as well.

Also my Trash is completely empty when i haven't cleared out my trash in a month!

Is there any fix?

Nvm, found the fix for future reference:

Just shut down your Mac and turn it on again. Fixed it for me!

Last edited by Reach9; Sep 28, 2011 at 10:07 PM. Reason: found solution
Reach9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2012, 01:28 AM   #17
talonblade
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Workaround

The suggestions in this thread didn't fix the problem for me, but until a fix comes out I use this method. In Applications/Utilities there is a program called Grab. It does the same thing, just takes a little longer. It's in my Dock until the keyboard shortcut gets fixed. Good thing I don't take a ton of screenshots.
talonblade is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2012, 03:52 AM   #18
Wild54Pe
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
to fix it on the "broken" account...[img]http://www.**************/jie2.jpg[/img]
[img]http://www.**************/jie3.jpg[/img]
[img]http://www.**************/jie1.jpg[/img]
Wild54Pe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2014, 11:53 PM   #19
urbanman2004
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Subscribed
urbanman2004 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions about screenshots anon1234 OS X 2 Jun 14, 2013 02:38 AM
Best Way To Get Quality Screenshots Christopher11 Design and Graphics 5 Aug 14, 2012 09:52 AM
Screenshots of iOS 6! Nevzorus iOS 6 109 Jun 18, 2012 06:07 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC