Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 23, 2007, 12:36 PM   #1
Benjamindaines
macrumors 68030
 
Benjamindaines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: A religiously oppressed state
Screenshots not working

When I try to take a screenshot (Command + Shift + 3/4) I get the camera sound, but a file is never created on my desktop. I have searched my drive and can't see that these images are going anywhere. Any ideas?
__________________

Benjamindaines is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2007, 12:43 PM   #2
CRAZYBUBBA
macrumors 65816
 
CRAZYBUBBA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto/Houston
Here are some responses that i got to the same problem, none of them eliminate the problem, however.
CRAZYBUBBA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2007, 01:00 PM   #3
odinsride
macrumors 65816
 
odinsride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
There are a couple discussions on Apple Forums about this. I'm having the same problem - some kind of memory leak with Screencapture. If you check your console.app you might see the messages about it.

I've filed a bug report with Apple already, you might want to do the same.
__________________
"It is just that heavy metal musicians write in minor keys, and when you do that, you frighten people." - Ronnie James Dio (RIP)
Flickr
odinsride is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2007, 03:53 PM   #4
Benjamindaines
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
Benjamindaines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: A religiously oppressed state
It seems to only affect my account. I just created a new one and it works just fine, now we just need to figure out how to fix it on the "broken" account...
__________________

Benjamindaines is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2007, 04:51 PM   #5
Benjamindaines
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
Benjamindaines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: A religiously oppressed state
I fixed it!

Open Terminal
Code:
defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles -bool true; killall Finder
Then navigate to ~/Library/Preferences/ and open .GlobalPreferences.plist
Once it is open just remove the AppleDisplayScaleFactor string and save.



Then in Terminal turn invisible files off again:
Code:
defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles -bool true; killall Finder
In a way it's good this happened, because when I turned invisible files on I found 2 movies that were hidden on my desktop each ~2GB so I got some hard drive space back.


Now for some explanation... it seems that if you mess with Resolution Independence you mess up your screenshots.
__________________


Last edited by Benjamindaines; Nov 23, 2007 at 05:04 PM.
Benjamindaines is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2007, 10:23 AM   #6
odinsride
macrumors 65816
 
odinsride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Wow!

thanks for this solution, I will definitely try it when I get home and report back on the results!

I have high hopes, because I messed with the Display Scaling a while back, didn't think it would have anything to do with this problem though.
__________________
"It is just that heavy metal musicians write in minor keys, and when you do that, you frighten people." - Ronnie James Dio (RIP)
Flickr
odinsride is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2007, 09:56 PM   #7
odinsride
macrumors 65816
 
odinsride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
It worked! But I couldn't get your command line to show hidden files so I had to use TinkerTool to show hidden/system files. But at least my screenshots work again!

Thanks
__________________
"It is just that heavy metal musicians write in minor keys, and when you do that, you frighten people." - Ronnie James Dio (RIP)
Flickr
odinsride is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2009, 09:26 PM   #8
seenastyle
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Same problem but on Snow Leopard 2 years later

Guys,
I'm having the same problem but it appeared only after upgrading to Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard. Unfortunately, in Snow Leopard, there is no AppleDisplayScaleFactor string in .GlobalPreferences.plist anymore, or at least for me. Any ideas where that string is located now, or what else I can tweak?

Thanks,
seenastyle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2010, 11:36 PM   #9
onorobo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Hey, sorry I know this is resurrecting a dead thread, at the moment I do not quite care! I- I tried your solution, but got to the second step and found that there is no file titled .GlobalPreferences.plist on my computer.

So I decided to give up and tried your third step to hide all these invisible files now showing all over my computer and it is not working! I am freaking out a little. What's going on??
onorobo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2010, 07:39 AM   #10
pompousjohn
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by onorobo View Post
Hey, sorry I know this is resurrecting a dead thread, at the moment I do not quite care! I- I tried your solution, but got to the second step and found that there is no file titled .GlobalPreferences.plist on my computer.

So I decided to give up and tried your third step to hide all these invisible files now showing all over my computer and it is not working! I am freaking out a little. What's going on??
I ran into the exact same issue. I noticed the commands to show and hide hidden files were identical, so taking a wild guess I tried:

defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles -bool false; killall Finder

and it worked.
pompousjohn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2010, 10:30 PM   #11
hulamonkey
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
I actually CAN take a screenshot but when I double click it, the picture comes up static-y. It's messed up looking. When I attached it to an e-mail to show someone, they said that it was blank and nothing was even there.

I attached it onto this message. I hope it actually pulls through. What the hell is going on and how can I fix it? I really need this screen shot function.

Thanks in advance!



Quote:
Originally Posted by pompousjohn View Post
I ran into the exact same issue. I noticed the commands to show and hide hidden files were identical, so taking a wild guess I tried:

defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles -bool false; killall Finder

and it worked.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen shot 2010-09-29 at 20.21.26 .png
Views:	138
Size:	26.4 KB
ID:	253936  
hulamonkey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2011, 08:15 PM   #12
hdzavalanche
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
I know this is a zombie thread, but it's now the top hit on Google.

To fix this problem, just type into Terminal: killall SystemUIServer

This will fix it without having to log out and back in again.

Edit: Nevermind; it must have been another coincidence. It's not working, as ever.

Last edited by hdzavalanche; Jul 8, 2011 at 11:04 PM. Reason: Nevermind.
hdzavalanche is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 09:27 AM   #13
rmchale
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdzavalanche View Post
I know this is a zombie thread, but it's now the top hit on Google.

To fix this problem, just type into Terminal: killall SystemUIServer

This will fix it without having to log out and back in again.

Edit: Nevermind; it must have been another coincidence. It's not working, as ever.
I have the same problem in Lion.. Any progress?
rmchale is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 09:28 AM   #14
rmchale
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdzavalanche View Post
I know this is a zombie thread, but it's now the top hit on Google.

To fix this problem, just type into Terminal: killall SystemUIServer

This will fix it without having to log out and back in again.

Edit: Nevermind; it must have been another coincidence. It's not working, as ever.
I rebooted earlier that did not fix it.. This seems to have fixed it(in Lion). I will keep my fingers crossed.
rmchale is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2011, 12:47 PM   #15
nkaryb
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
What program?

When he said to OPEN GlobalPreferences.plist and showed a screenshot, WHAT program did he use to open the file? I tried double-clicking the plist file and it just opened TextEdit with a black screen.

Thanks,
Nathan
nkaryb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2011, 05:26 PM   #16
Reach9
macrumors 68020
 
Reach9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: In America
Guys i'm getting this problem as well.

Also my Trash is completely empty when i haven't cleared out my trash in a month!

Is there any fix?

Nvm, found the fix for future reference:

Just shut down your Mac and turn it on again. Fixed it for me!

Last edited by Reach9; Sep 28, 2011 at 10:07 PM. Reason: found solution
Reach9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2012, 01:28 AM   #17
talonblade
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Workaround

The suggestions in this thread didn't fix the problem for me, but until a fix comes out I use this method. In Applications/Utilities there is a program called Grab. It does the same thing, just takes a little longer. It's in my Dock until the keyboard shortcut gets fixed. Good thing I don't take a ton of screenshots.
talonblade is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2012, 03:52 AM   #18
Wild54Pe
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
to fix it on the "broken" account...[img]http://www.**************/jie2.jpg[/img]
[img]http://www.**************/jie3.jpg[/img]
[img]http://www.**************/jie1.jpg[/img]
Wild54Pe is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolved: YouTube not working on Safari? deannnnn OS X 40 Dec 5, 2013 03:25 PM
Java Applet not working on Lion jake4ever Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 19 Feb 1, 2013 09:44 AM
iPhone 4 ringer not working Causality iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 3 Oct 20, 2012 01:07 AM
Youtube not working in Safari? Hyde244 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 12 Nov 16, 2011 11:12 PM
Cydia not working day 2! almac04 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 18 Jun 12, 2011 01:22 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC