Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 30, 2003, 08:23 AM   #1
sigamy
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ USA
iMac drive Door, should it close by itself?

Just got my refurb iMac yesterday. First one was DOA, this one seems to be working fine. A few minor scratches here and there, like on the chrome Apple logo but overall OK.

I put a few CDs in the Superdrive just to to test some things. The white "door" drops down and the tray flys out, I put the disc in and press the close button on my keyboard. The tray goes back in, and the door only goes up about two-thirds of the way, it doesn't close completely...just wondering if this is how it is supposed to work or not? If not, is this a big deal that I should worry about and try to get fixed?


Thanks,
Brian

ps-- Its a 17"/1ghz/256/GeForce4 64mb/Superdrive refurb from the Apple Store. This baby is plenty fast even with 256mb!!! I love it! The UI is much faster than on my 700mhz iBook. I'm guessing that the video card is the big benefit here.
sigamy is offline   0
Old Sep 30, 2003, 08:32 AM   #2
Nik_Doof
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Widnes, UK
Send a message via MSN to Nik_Doof Send a message via Skype™ to Nik_Doof
IANAMO (i am not a mac owner) but i've seen the iMac do close completly when the draw goes back in
__________________
Andrew D. Williams (Nik_Doof)
tensixtyone.com
12" Powerbook 1ghz // 13" Macbook Pro Retina 8GB/256GB (Late-2013)
I Switched To Mac On: 15th October 2003
Nik_Doof is offline   0
Old Sep 30, 2003, 08:38 AM   #3
radhak
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: NJ, USA
Mine closes completely, so yours could be corrected, i guess. At the same time, if you don't have kids at home you should be fine. Its just a cosmetic 'door' and you could always push it in with a finger-push (i hope?).
__________________
iMac 1.25GHz, 768 MB, AE Card
radhak is offline   0
Old Sep 30, 2003, 08:50 AM   #4
Balin64
macrumors 6502a
 
Balin64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In a Mauve Dream
Bummer!

I would find this unacceptable. Call Apple, and keep going up the ladder until they agree to overnight you another system. It would be one thing if this was the first iMac, but the fact that the first one arrived DOA gives you ammo. You payed a lot of money for the Mac. And since Apple prides itself in style/design quality, call them on it.
__________________
The Sun has wept Rose in the shell of your ear...
And Man has bled black at your sovereign side.
-Rimbaud
Balin64 is offline   0
Old Sep 30, 2003, 09:18 AM   #5
flyfish29
macrumors 68020
 
flyfish29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New HAMpshire
Re: Bummer!

Quote:
Originally posted by Balin64
I would find this unacceptable. Call Apple, and keep going up the ladder until they agree to overnight you another system. It would be one thing if this was the first iMac, but the fact that the first one arrived DOA gives you ammo. You payed a lot of money for the Mac. And since Apple prides itself in style/design quality, call them on it.
Check out the forum for buying guide and see my post and the replies about my refurbished iMac 17" that was defective upon arrival. I don't think mine ever went through the testing. There was another post in that forum that said their 17" had problems as well. Weird that it is all the 17" 1Ghz imacs that had problems. Someone didn't have their coffee that morning I guess!

Good luck.

John
__________________
Johnny Go Missouri Tigers!
15" MacBook Pro, iPad, iPod Touch, iPod Shuf, Time Capsule and an iPhone!
SEARCH BEFORE YOU POST PLEASE!

Last edited by flyfish29; Sep 30, 2003 at 09:24 AM.
flyfish29 is offline   0
Old Sep 30, 2003, 10:35 AM   #6
sigamy
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ USA
Yeah, that other 17" was me.
sigamy is offline   0
Old Oct 6, 2003, 08:01 PM   #7
phlite
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NJ
Send a message via AIM to phlite
Sigamy,
I just fixed this "door" problem about an hour ago on my 17" iMac. All I did was blow out the hinges and rollers with a can of Dust Free and now it works perfectly. No more hang ups.
Hopefully this is all your mac needs to close correctly.

David
phlite is offline   0
Old Oct 7, 2003, 09:22 AM   #8
sigamy
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ USA
Thanks David! I'll try that tonight. Hopefully save me from lugging her to the store.
sigamy is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where can I get an optical drive door cover? eyeangle Mac Pro 3 Mar 11, 2014 11:07 AM
iMac G4 loose CD door cover? macnerd93 PowerPC Macs 0 Sep 27, 2013 06:40 PM
Remove Metal Drive door assembly- PowerMac G5 Altemose PowerPC Macs 4 Mar 28, 2013 06:52 PM
iMac 27" Back Door Khadgar iMac 10 Dec 13, 2012 03:48 PM
Does the GS3 Lite close the door for a Samsung GNex? tjl3 Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 2 Oct 12, 2012 06:22 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC