Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 30, 2007, 11:25 AM   #1
GregE
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Microsoft Remote Desktop Connection

I want to be able to connect into my PC at work and control it. I can currently do it with pcAnywhere as well as RDC. I'm wondering if I am safe putting Microsoft's Remote Desktop Connection on my iMac. I kind of hate to use it since it is MS but if that's the best way to do it, I will.

Also, how easy is it to remove from my iMac? Is there an uninstall program like on PC's?

Thanks
__________________
iPhone 4S Verizon, 32GB, Blk
MacBook Pro unibody, 15.3-inch, 2.53GHz, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD
iMac, 24-inch, 2.8GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HD
iPod, 5G, 60GB, Blk - selling soon
GregE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2007, 11:31 AM   #2
psychofreak
Retired
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: London
I definitely recommend LogMeIn

Just install it on the PC after making an account and your good to go...
psychofreak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2007, 11:41 AM   #3
GregE
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Are you using the free version? Do you install software on both the PC and the Mac? Is it easy to uninstall from the Mac (I never have tried to uninstall from a Mac before). I definitely don't want to pay a monthly fee since I don't need to use it every day.

Anybody used MS RDC?
__________________
iPhone 4S Verizon, 32GB, Blk
MacBook Pro unibody, 15.3-inch, 2.53GHz, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD
iMac, 24-inch, 2.8GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HD
iPod, 5G, 60GB, Blk - selling soon
GregE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2007, 11:51 AM   #4
dec0de
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
I also do alot of RDC to Windows computers because my company is a full windows domain. I use a app called CoRD and its been everything I could ask for and more check it out.

http://cord.sourceforge.net/
dec0de is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2007, 11:52 AM   #5
psychofreak
Retired
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregE View Post
Are you using the free version? Do you install software on both the PC and the Mac? Is it easy to uninstall from the Mac (I never have tried to uninstall from a Mac before). I definitely don't want to pay a monthly fee since I don't need to use it every day.

Anybody used MS RDC?
You install the free thing on the PC and control it through your browser on the Mac, its easy, and plenty fast enough with many options should you want them
psychofreak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2007, 11:53 AM   #6
GregE
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by dec0de View Post
I also do alot of RDC to Windows computers because my company is a full windows domain. I use a app called CoRD and its been everything I could ask for and more check it out.

http://cord.sourceforge.net/
Does it work right with MS RDC that is on my XP PC's?
__________________
iPhone 4S Verizon, 32GB, Blk
MacBook Pro unibody, 15.3-inch, 2.53GHz, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD
iMac, 24-inch, 2.8GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HD
iPod, 5G, 60GB, Blk - selling soon
GregE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2007, 11:57 AM   #7
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregE View Post
Does it work right with MS RDC that is on my XP PC's?
I just tested it and it works just like RDC 2.0 minus a lot of features.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / GTX 970 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2007, 12:24 PM   #8
GregE
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eidorian View Post
I just tested it and it works just like RDC 2.0 minus a lot of features.
Any important features missing? Just curious.
__________________
iPhone 4S Verizon, 32GB, Blk
MacBook Pro unibody, 15.3-inch, 2.53GHz, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD
iMac, 24-inch, 2.8GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HD
iPod, 5G, 60GB, Blk - selling soon
GregE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2007, 12:24 PM   #9
dec0de
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
IMO .. it has all the features that I personally need. I also like the fact that I can rescale the windows, I dedicate one of my spaces to CoRD and its just like your sitting at the box.
dec0de is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2007, 12:30 PM   #10
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregE View Post
Any important features missing? Just curious.
All those little bandwidth conserving toggle and pretty much entire preference pane.

CoRD works but it's just meh...
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / GTX 970 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2007, 12:32 PM   #11
psychofreak
Retired
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eidorian View Post
All those little bandwidth conserving toggle and pretty much entire preference pane.

CoRD works but it's just meh...
Just FYI, LogMeIn lets you change many things including the amount of colour, for speedy connections. Luckily I'm always operating with >8MB broadband
psychofreak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2007, 12:50 PM   #12
GregE
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by psychofreak View Post
Just FYI, LogMeIn lets you change many things including the amount of colour, for speedy connections. Luckily I'm always operating with >8MB broadband
Does the free version let you transfer files? I just tried CoRD and it let me access a PC I have set up at work for RDC but to connect to my PC I may want to transfer files sometimes.
__________________
iPhone 4S Verizon, 32GB, Blk
MacBook Pro unibody, 15.3-inch, 2.53GHz, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD
iMac, 24-inch, 2.8GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HD
iPod, 5G, 60GB, Blk - selling soon
GregE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2007, 12:50 PM   #13
GregE
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eidorian View Post
CoRD works but it's just meh...
What do you like to use Eidorian?
__________________
iPhone 4S Verizon, 32GB, Blk
MacBook Pro unibody, 15.3-inch, 2.53GHz, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD
iMac, 24-inch, 2.8GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HD
iPod, 5G, 60GB, Blk - selling soon
GregE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2007, 03:14 PM   #14
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregE View Post
What do you like to use Eidorian?
I use RDC 2.0 Beta.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / GTX 970 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2007, 06:39 PM   #15
GregE
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eidorian View Post
I use RDC 2.0 Beta.
And you like it? Any problems with it?
__________________
iPhone 4S Verizon, 32GB, Blk
MacBook Pro unibody, 15.3-inch, 2.53GHz, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD
iMac, 24-inch, 2.8GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HD
iPod, 5G, 60GB, Blk - selling soon
GregE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2007, 06:50 PM   #16
macDonalds
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
I've been using RDC for maybe six months or so. It does the job, however in Leopard there's a minor issue -- sometimes you'll start typing in all caps in Windows and need to turn caps lock on. Outside of that minor annoyance it's just fine.
macDonalds is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2007, 06:56 PM   #17
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregE View Post
And you like it? Any problems with it?
It works just fine.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / GTX 970 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote Desktop issues over WiFi connection SVTmaniac Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Dec 4, 2013 02:31 PM
Microsoft Remote Desktop - Windows 8.1 specific cool11 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 9 Nov 21, 2013 01:45 PM
Remote Desktop Connection was open israelcnf OS X Mavericks (10.9) 1 Nov 10, 2013 01:13 AM
Remote desktop Connection opufo1 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 6 Oct 22, 2013 11:36 AM
Remote Desktop Connection pinkcoffee Mac Applications and Mac App Store 7 Mar 20, 2013 12:22 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC