Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 16, 2008, 07:33 AM   #1
Bzump
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Miami
Send a message via AIM to Bzump
Question about MacBook Air

Since there is no firewire how would i go about transferring info from my MacBook Pro to the Air.

Thanks
Bzump is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2008, 07:34 AM   #2
Cybergypsy
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Central Florida!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bzump View Post
Since there is no firewire how would i go about transferring info from my MacBook Pro to the Air.

Thanks
usb port
Cybergypsy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2008, 07:49 AM   #3
pr5owner
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cybergypsy View Post
usb port
care to explain? you can't go from USB A - A lol, you may even damage your usb port/root hub
__________________
Macus3r says "For each and every iPhone manufactured, i'm sure apple wants to keep a running record of all and any repairs... illegal repairs do not add to a manufactured unit's service history. "
pr5owner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2008, 07:57 AM   #4
cmcbridejr
macrumors 6502a
 
cmcbridejr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Alpharetta, GA
Transfer wirelessly, just like when you share files wirelessly between multiple computers on your home network.

Also, a .Mac account will automatically sync all settings and preferences between all Mac computers.
cmcbridejr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2008, 08:00 AM   #5
Tallest Skil
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cybergypsy View Post
usb port
No, it's wireless.
Tallest Skil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2008, 08:41 AM   #6
pr5owner
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
transfering files at 2MB/s vs 50-60MB/s is a big diffrence (gigabit or FW interface)
a 5 min copy jobs takes 2hrs on a GOOD wireless connection no interference, single client to an AP thats 2 ft away.
not only that, wireless is unstable and unsecure

wireless USB is a diffrent story but i dont think the mac air has it
also it has 2.1 bluetooth which is ok.. but 3.0 is out soon that supports 480mbit
__________________
Macus3r says "For each and every iPhone manufactured, i'm sure apple wants to keep a running record of all and any repairs... illegal repairs do not add to a manufactured unit's service history. "
pr5owner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2008, 09:00 AM   #7
thefunkymunky
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: London Baby!
Send a message via ICQ to thefunkymunky Send a message via MSN to thefunkymunky Send a message via Yahoo to thefunkymunky
Just use a USB A - USB A cable.
__________________
facebook | twitter | turtlecurve
thefunkymunky is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buying Macbook Air 2009 - Need Help twiggy0 Buying Tips and Advice 3 May 27, 2012 01:35 AM
Retina MacBook Airs -BigMac- MacBook Air 11 May 2, 2011 12:08 AM
question about macbook air ipodtouchy333 MacBook Pro 3 Jan 16, 2008 07:40 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC