Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 16, 2008, 07:33 AM   #1
Bzump
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Miami
Send a message via AIM to Bzump
Question about MacBook Air

Since there is no firewire how would i go about transferring info from my MacBook Pro to the Air.

Thanks
Bzump is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2008, 07:34 AM   #2
Cybergypsy
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Central Florida!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bzump View Post
Since there is no firewire how would i go about transferring info from my MacBook Pro to the Air.

Thanks
usb port
Cybergypsy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2008, 07:49 AM   #3
pr5owner
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cybergypsy View Post
usb port
care to explain? you can't go from USB A - A lol, you may even damage your usb port/root hub
__________________
Macus3r says "For each and every iPhone manufactured, i'm sure apple wants to keep a running record of all and any repairs... illegal repairs do not add to a manufactured unit's service history. "
pr5owner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2008, 07:57 AM   #4
cmcbridejr
macrumors 6502a
 
cmcbridejr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Alpharetta, GA
Transfer wirelessly, just like when you share files wirelessly between multiple computers on your home network.

Also, a .Mac account will automatically sync all settings and preferences between all Mac computers.
cmcbridejr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2008, 08:00 AM   #5
Tallest Skil
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cybergypsy View Post
usb port
No, it's wireless.
Tallest Skil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2008, 08:41 AM   #6
pr5owner
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
transfering files at 2MB/s vs 50-60MB/s is a big diffrence (gigabit or FW interface)
a 5 min copy jobs takes 2hrs on a GOOD wireless connection no interference, single client to an AP thats 2 ft away.
not only that, wireless is unstable and unsecure

wireless USB is a diffrent story but i dont think the mac air has it
also it has 2.1 bluetooth which is ok.. but 3.0 is out soon that supports 480mbit
__________________
Macus3r says "For each and every iPhone manufactured, i'm sure apple wants to keep a running record of all and any repairs... illegal repairs do not add to a manufactured unit's service history. "
pr5owner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2008, 09:00 AM   #7
thefunkymunky
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: London Baby!
Send a message via ICQ to thefunkymunky Send a message via MSN to thefunkymunky Send a message via Yahoo to thefunkymunky
Just use a USB A - USB A cable.
__________________
facebook | twitter | turtlecurve
thefunkymunky is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacBook Air Processor Question brklylp510 Buying Tips and Advice 8 Aug 11, 2013 05:41 AM
macbook air purchase question psik MacBook Air 13 Jul 12, 2013 10:08 AM
2008 MacBook Air question... bsurb MacBook Air 10 Nov 26, 2012 04:19 AM
Macbook Air Back up Question goblin cadet MacBook Air 4 Oct 6, 2012 10:04 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC