Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 17, 2008, 08:29 AM   #1
mkaiser1
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Leicester, UK
As a router/basestation?

Can the TV be used as a basestation/wireless router in the same way as my Aiport Express can? If so, I think I'm gonna have to get one.
mkaiser1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2008, 08:42 AM   #2
aristobrat
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
No.

If you plug your DSL/cable modem directly into the AppleTV's ethernet port, it will not be able to share the connection with other computers in your house.
aristobrat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2008, 08:51 AM   #3
mkaiser1
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Leicester, UK
oh bugger. Well then, since my current wireless router is useless (came free from our ISP) which of the following should I do:
  • Use my Airport Express as my router
  • sell my aiport express and buy an Aiport Extreme so I can use 802.11n
  • Sell my aiport express and buy a Time Capsule so I can use 802.11n AND have a back up hard drive

Decisions, decisions...
__________________
iMac G5 20" (1.5Gb RAM & 500Gb HD) | MacBook (13-inch, Aluminum, 2Gb RAM & 250Gb HD) |iPhone 3Gs (White 32Gb) | iPod Video (Black 60Gb) | Time Capsule (500Gb) | Airport Express
mkaiser1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2008, 09:04 AM   #4
aristobrat
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Personally, I'm waiting for Time Capsule.

I'm doing OK with manually plugging a USB drive into my MBP once or twice a month for Time Machine to do its thing, but if it did it automatically via wireless, that'd be awesome.
aristobrat is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Change MAC Address on Airport Extreme Basestation? WiiDSmoker Mac Peripherals 2 Aug 15, 2013 04:32 AM
Apple TV Home Sharing: Router or No Router? bryanscott Apple TV and Home Theater 20 May 4, 2013 06:52 PM
iMac Router vs. Netgear router Tofray iMac 12 Jan 12, 2013 09:24 AM
How to change name of HDD connected to Airport basestation LushMojo Mac Peripherals 2 Jan 9, 2013 09:54 AM
How to extend a wireless network with an Apple Basestation and AirPort Express? BHTurnow Mac Peripherals 17 Dec 2, 2012 01:22 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC