Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 20, 2008, 01:02 AM   #1
equis.zero
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Send a message via AIM to equis.zero Send a message via MSN to equis.zero
Unofficial 64-bit support in Boot Camp?

So I was setting up my new Mac Pro today, I installed 64-bit Vista because I have it configured with 6gb of ram and would like to be able to use all of it. I was planning to just hunt around for drivers as everyone else seems to from what I've read, but I noticed that on the restore disks under Drivers\Apple\, there was a file called BootCamp64.exe, so I decided to run it, and now everything works perfectly, keyboard, bluetooth, everything. Strangely there were also Windows drivers for the multi-touch trackpad in the MacBook Air. Has anyone else noticed this? Is this on all Leopard disks?
equis.zero is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2008, 01:07 AM   #2
TuffLuffJimmy
macrumors G3
 
TuffLuffJimmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Portland, OR
Quote:
Originally Posted by equis.zero View Post
So I was setting up my new Mac Pro today, I installed 64-bit Vista because I have it configured with 6gb of ram and would like to be able to use all of it. I was planning to just hunt around for drivers as everyone else seems to from what I've read, but I noticed that on the restore disks under Drivers\Apple\, there was a file called BootCamp64.exe, so I decided to run it, and now everything works perfectly, keyboard, bluetooth, everything. Strangely there were also Windows drivers for the multi-touch trackpad in the MacBook Air. Has anyone else noticed this? Is this on all Leopard disks?
really? When did you buy the disk? I can't believe no one found that little tidbit about the Air before. Nice finds.
__________________
"Next PM I get from you about this, and it gets posted as my signature." --*LTD*
TuffLuffJimmy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2008, 09:58 AM   #3
SolrFlare
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
They are the install disks from his new Mac Pro. Which means either:

A) it's 10.5.1 and a 1/2 like some people think they have done to get at least the standard Mac Pro's out the door until 10.5.2

or

B) It's fake. Anyone else with a Mac Pro want to check their discs and see if the above mentioned files are located there as well?

That would be awesome if we did, in fact, have unofficial(or maybe official with 10.5.2) 64 bit Vista support so we could actually make use of all the extra ram.
SolrFlare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2008, 11:45 AM   #4
ChemiosMurphy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Warminster, PA
Send a message via AIM to ChemiosMurphy
Wow. this would be absolutely amazing if in fact this is true. Someone needs to pop their discs into a pc to try this out.....

This is exciting since you could now have Windowz see more than 2 gigs of Ram...
ChemiosMurphy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2008, 04:05 PM   #5
cokersa
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Kansas City
I looked at my Leopard disk ("Mac OS X V10.5 Retail") that I used to upgrade from Tiger. No such file found, but not surprising since it is the 10.5.0 version.

I've been running Vista Ultimate 64-bit without using bootcamp for nearly a year now. The main issue is having to change the clock each time I boot back into Vista, and the fact there are no bluetooth drivers for my wireless Apple keyboard/mouse (so I've been using a wired USB keyboard and a wireless MS mouse). It would be great if Apple is really going to support 64 bit, but I'm not holding my breath.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66, 3GB, 3870, Dell 2407
cokersa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2008, 04:19 PM   #6
knome
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
I really hope it comes soon, my network card keeps crapping out on me. I have to disconnect and reconnect every few minutes because it just stops functioning.
knome is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2008, 05:56 PM   #7
Trekkie
macrumors 6502a
 
Trekkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Send a message via ICQ to Trekkie Send a message via AIM to Trekkie Send a message via Yahoo to Trekkie
Why is it the newbies with little/no posts always post things like this? Anyone else able to confirm with a new mac?

My brother bought XP 64 bit on accident when he got his a year ago. Would be awesome if they have it. I'm going to pick up a new Macbook Air or Pro after tax refund gets here to update the wifes 3 year old laptop. Hopefully can find out then.
Trekkie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2008, 06:51 PM   #8
knome
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Sounds like an unrelated release. 10.5.1 did not modify the drivers under the bootcamp assistant. They are still labeled "created July 31st, 2007." What is interesting is that the drivers that came with the leopard disk say created October 8, 2007

Last edited by knome; Jan 20, 2008 at 07:01 PM.
knome is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2008, 07:28 PM   #9
exspes
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by knome View Post
Sounds like an unrelated release. 10.5.1 did not modify the drivers under the bootcamp assistant. They are still labeled "created July 31st, 2007." What is interesting is that the drivers that came with the leopard disk say created October 8, 2007
I'm sure there are MacPro owners here who can look at their recovery discs and easily confirm or deny this story. Anyone? Anyone? Bueller?
exspes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2008, 07:38 PM   #10
macenforcer
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by exspes View Post
I'm sure there are MacPro owners here who can look at their recovery discs and easily confirm or deny this story. Anyone? Anyone? Bueller?
Just looked at mine. Don't see a Drivers\apple\ directory anywhere.
macenforcer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2008, 09:18 PM   #11
knome
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by macenforcer View Post
Just looked at mine. Don't see a Drivers\apple\ directory anywhere.
you have to look at it when under windows. They don't even show when "showing hidden system files" is enabled in osx.
knome is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2008, 09:45 PM   #12
macenforcer
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by knome View Post
you have to look at it when under windows. They don't even show when "showing hidden system files" is enabled in osx.
AAAHHHHH!

Well in that case I found it. Good fine OP. Its definately there on my new mac pro restore cd disc 1.
macenforcer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2008, 08:12 AM   #13
hc10m
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
I finally found the proof of 64-bit support......

I just got my Mac Pro last week and installed XP via Boot Camp today, I just followed the Print Installation and Setup Guide from Boot Camp Assistant. Everybody take a look at Page 4, the message said:

Important: You must use a single full-install Windows installation disc (Service Pack 2 is required for Windows XP installations). Do not use an upgrade version of Windows and do not install an earlier version of Windows XP and attempt to update it later to SP2 or later. Use only 32-bit versions of Windows. If you have a Mac Pro introduced in late 2007 or later, you can use a 64-bit version of Windows Vista.

Hope that clarify everyone's mind, this is my first time posting in this board, got the basic 2.8 Mac Pro and ordered 2 ATI 2600xt more, I have to use 6 displays for my Finance business, may add to 8 in the future. This is the most powerful computer I ever had in my entire life.....(still remembered the old day getting the AppleIIe twenty five years ago)....let's enjoy this incredible "Beast" till the end of world...lol
hc10m is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2008, 08:30 AM   #14
exspes
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by hc10m View Post
I just got my Mac Pro last week and installed XP via Boot Camp today, I just followed the Print Installation and Setup Guide from Boot Camp Assistant. Everybody take a look at Page 4, the message said:

Important: You must use a single full-install Windows installation disc (Service Pack 2 is required for Windows XP installations). Do not use an upgrade version of Windows and do not install an earlier version of Windows XP and attempt to update it later to SP2 or later. Use only 32-bit versions of Windows. If you have a Mac Pro introduced in late 2007 or later, you can use a 64-bit version of Windows Vista.

Hope that clarify everyone's mind, this is my first time posting in this board, got the basic 2.8 Mac Pro and ordered 2 ATI 2600xt more, I have to use 6 displays for my Finance business, may add to 8 in the future. This is the most powerful computer I ever had in my entire life.....(still remembered the old day getting the AppleIIe twenty five years ago)....let's enjoy this incredible "Beast" till the end of world...lol
Nice! Funny how this was in the manual all along.
exspes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2008, 09:16 AM   #15
SolrFlare
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Excellent! Guess I'll be ordering my copy of Vista Ultimate 64bit then. As limited as Apple's Support is for 64bit windows OS's, it makes sense they would start supporting it at least on the Mac Pro as that's the one platform where it is really necessary.
SolrFlare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2008, 09:57 AM   #16
Seb D Photo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Does one need to own the New Mac Pro Restore DVD for this to work?

Is this file available on the Leopard Install DVD?

I cannot imagine this is available on the old Mac Pro Restore DVD...
Seb D Photo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2008, 10:20 AM   #17
hc10m
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
distinction between intel products

If you examined closely the last 2 years in transition stage, the Intel processors also in transition from coreduo(only support 32bits) to core2duo(supports 64bits extention). But I dont know about first generation 65nm Xeon architecture(probalby from coreduo? 32bits) versus this 45nmXeon, may be you have to go to Intel website to check for sure. Chances are that 1st generation Xeon should be based on coreduo 32bits as Intel still worked on 64bits codes two years ago alongside with Microsoft 64-bits Vista delay complicated things further. I am so lucky to have this new 45nm MacPro as all of the above transitions hardware(Intel) and software(Vista) already completed, that's why Apply have full 64bits drivers support in the included Restore CD in my New MacPro. Welcome everybody to the New Era of 64bits Multiprocessing Multithreaded Computer.......Enjoy.
hc10m is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2008, 10:58 AM   #18
ctishue
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Would anyone with the new Bootcamp64.exe mind zipping it up and putting it on rapidshare or something equivalent? I 'd love to get keyboard support in vista 64 on my 2006 mac pro..
ctishue is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2008, 11:18 AM   #19
nikhsub1
macrumors 68000
 
nikhsub1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: mmmm... jessica.'s beer...
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctishue View Post
Would anyone with the new Bootcamp64.exe mind zipping it up and putting it on rapidshare or something equivalent? I 'd love to get keyboard support in vista 64 on my 2006 mac pro..
Yes that would be great!
__________________
Laptop --> 17" Hi-Res AG 2.3 Sandy Bridge / 16GB RAM / Crucial M4 SSD 512GB / 10.9
iPhone --> 128GB iPhone 6+ GSM
iPad --> rMini White 64GB AT&T LTE
nikhsub1 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2008, 11:30 AM   #20
TheThirdMan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London, UK
Look at MacRumours front page!

They are OFFICIAL apple drivers for 64-bit vista! At last! 3ds max....
TheThirdMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2008, 11:34 AM   #21
TBi
macrumors 68030
 
TBi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by hc10m View Post
If you examined closely the last 2 years in transition stage, the Intel processors also in transition from coreduo(only support 32bits) to core2duo(supports 64bits extention). But I dont know about first generation 65nm Xeon architecture(probalby from coreduo? 32bits) versus this 45nmXeon, may be you have to go to Intel website to check for sure. Chances are that 1st generation Xeon should be based on coreduo 32bits as Intel still worked on 64bits codes two years ago alongside with Microsoft 64-bits Vista delay complicated things further. I am so lucky to have this new 45nm MacPro as all of the above transitions hardware(Intel) and software(Vista) already completed, that's why Apply have full 64bits drivers support in the included Restore CD in my New MacPro. Welcome everybody to the New Era of 64bits Multiprocessing Multithreaded Computer.......Enjoy.
All Xeons used in macs are 64bit, thus all Mac Pro's are 64bit.
__________________
<BLANK>
TBi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2008, 11:40 AM   #22
equis.zero
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Send a message via AIM to equis.zero Send a message via MSN to equis.zero
I'm uploading the drivers to Rapidshare right now, I'll post the link when it's done.
equis.zero is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2008, 11:45 AM   #23
sickracer2015
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by equis.zero View Post
I'm uploading the drivers to Rapidshare right now, I'll post the link when it's done.
thanks really appreciate it, i was going to see about going to my local apple store to get the file..
sickracer2015 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2008, 11:50 AM   #24
ctishue
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by equis.zero View Post
I'm uploading the drivers to Rapidshare right now, I'll post the link when it's done.
Thanks! Really appreciate it. Between this and the news that Nvidia is going to get a 2006/2007 compatible 8800 GT out, I'm a very happy Mac Pro owner this week.
ctishue is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2008, 11:52 AM   #25
Peace
macrumors P6
 
Peace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Space--The ONLY Frontier
If you go out buying Vista Ultimate do not get the system builders version of Ultimate.It only includes the 32-bit version.
Peace is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Working Drivers for Macbook 2,1 running Windows 8 (64-bit) using Boot Camp 5 (Mo z0oinks Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 8 Apr 24, 2014 03:17 PM
Need 64-bit Windows installation USB drive or DVD boot camp Syphon Mac Basics and Help 0 Nov 12, 2013 09:27 PM
Windows 7 64 Bit via Boot Camp crankeymankey Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 6 Aug 23, 2013 05:58 AM
iMac 2008, Boot Camp 5, and Windows 7 32-bit & 64-bit mcrazza Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Mar 20, 2013 10:57 PM
Mac Pro 2008 3.1 - Can it boot camp a x64 bit windows 7? Metalshopteach Mac Pro 20 Mar 2, 2013 08:27 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC