Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 5, 2008, 05:05 PM   #1
chadrob30
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: In front of my Mac.
"Voicemail unavailable"

So, all day today I've been getting the "Voicemail Unavailable. Unable to connect. Try again later" Any ideas what's going on?
__________________
20" iMac, 2.4 Ghz 16 GB iPhone 4 S⃣
chadrob30 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2008, 05:25 PM   #2
waterskier2007
macrumors 68000
 
waterskier2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: White Lake, MI
Send a message via AIM to waterskier2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by chadrob30 View Post
So, all day today I've been getting the "Voicemail Unavailable. Unable to connect. Try again later" Any ideas what's going on?
you have no edge service. the voicemail service uses edge data service
__________________
2012 Mac Mini, 2.6 GHz, 16GB RAM, 1TB HDD
2.4Ghz 15" Macbook Pro
16 GB iPhone 5 : 32 GB iPhone 4S : 16 GB iPad 3
16 GB Nexus 7 (2012)
waterskier2007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2008, 07:04 PM   #3
tjcampbell
macrumors 6502a
 
tjcampbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Vancouver
Can people still leave voicemail though?

I was in Spain and turned data roaming off, which disables visual voicemail and someone told me that when they called they said my number was out of service.
__________________
My latest comedy videos
http://www.funnyordie.com/tommycampbell
IMDB
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1035174/
tjcampbell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2008, 07:28 PM   #4
iHerzeleid
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2007
Yea it directly goes to VM.
iHerzeleid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2008, 08:03 PM   #5
chadrob30
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: In front of my Mac.
Quote:
Originally Posted by waterskier2007 View Post
you have no edge service. the voicemail service uses edge data service
So if I'm at home on my wi-fi but EDGE is down I can't get voicemails? Doesn't make much sense but I guess it is what it is...anywho, I rebooted the phone and I got a whole day's worth of voicemail. All is well now.
__________________
20" iMac, 2.4 Ghz 16 GB iPhone 4 S⃣
chadrob30 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2010, 09:37 AM   #6
akirkorian
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Solution

After traveling in Europe for three weeks and having data roaming off, I had this issue as well. I tried a number of different solutions that I found on the Internet, but ultimately I was able to finally get it resolved after spending time on the phone with the ATT support tech. The problem seemed to be that the iPhone "forgot" what the features were to access voicemail. Here's what we did:

1. Go to Settings->General->Reset and reset the network settings. The phone will restart.

2. Go to the Phone and open the dialpad. Type in the following sequence on the iPhone and hit the CALL button.

*5005*86*8622513567#

3. After you hit the CALL button you will notice the screen flashes.

4. That's it.


After implementing these steps, visual voicemail popped up and worked right away on both 3G and 2G.

Alen
akirkorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2011, 02:52 PM   #7
imelda
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by akirkorian View Post
After traveling in Europe for three weeks and having data roaming off, I had this issue as well. I tried a number of different solutions that I found on the Internet, but ultimately I was able to finally get it resolved after spending time on the phone with the ATT support tech. The problem seemed to be that the iPhone "forgot" what the features were to access voicemail. Here's what we did:

1. Go to Settings->General->Reset and reset the network settings. The phone will restart.

2. Go to the Phone and open the dialpad. Type in the following sequence on the iPhone and hit the CALL button.

*5005*86*8622513567#

3. After you hit the CALL button you will notice the screen flashes.

4. That's it.


After implementing these steps, visual voicemail popped up and worked right away on both 3G and 2G.

Alen
Dear Alen, It worked just beautiful, I had exactly the same situation after I spent a couple of weeks in Europe. Let me tell you that at first I had my doubts because of the carrier, it is different from mine, but it helped me to solve my problem transparently. Thank you so much for sharing.

Imelda
imelda is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2011, 12:21 PM   #8
BeckyA
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Thank you Alan Kirkorkian - your solution worked great! Beforehand, though, I went in and looked at all my network settings so I could make sure I knew how to configure it again. I had to enter in my wi-fi password again once I got the voicemail working again.
BeckyA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2012, 08:27 PM   #9
lousley
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Voicemail unavailable. Unable to connect. Try again later.

[/COLOR]I just bought a iPone 4S and I'm getting the above message every time I try to set up my voicemail. Any ideas?
lousley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2012, 04:49 PM   #10
imswimmin
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
I'm having this issue as well on my 4s. It tells me that the voicemail is unavailable. Does anybody know why?
__________________
2010 i7 740QM HP Envy 14 Beats Edition
2011 13" i5 2557M Macbook Air
2011 iPhone 4S - Black - 64 GB - Verizon
imswimmin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 02:46 PM   #11
hikeril
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
AMAZING! IT WORKED! I contacted verizon to see what they could do to assist with the problem. They are sending me a new iPhone because they think it is the iPhone that is not working properly. I am amazed that following the steps noted above only took two minutes yet verizon is sending a new phone. Oh well at least it is working. Thanks!!!!!
hikeril is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 29, 2012, 10:55 AM   #12
MacProFCP
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Michigan
Still works on iPhone 4s for Verizon

Works great. I did some research and it seems to reset how the iPhone connects to VM system.
MacProFCP is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2012, 11:02 PM   #13
DSHoisington
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
WORKED FOR ME: Check if you have an application called Onavo Extend on your phone. I found deleting the profile in Settings > General fixed the error.

Last edited by DSHoisington; Oct 11, 2012 at 11:02 PM. Reason: Spelling
DSHoisington is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2013, 06:03 PM   #14
Charlie769
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Deleting the Onavo Profile! Genius.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSHoisington View Post
WORKED FOR ME: Check if you have an application called Onavo Extend on your phone. I found deleting the profile in Settings > General fixed the error.
Deleting the Onavo Profile also worked for me. Thanks DSHoisington
Charlie769 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMovie Theater videos "unavailable" on Apple TV dgalvan123 Apple TV and Home Theater 2 Dec 13, 2013 10:20 AM
Error "Activation server is temporarily unavailable" yuvib iOS 7 25 Oct 6, 2013 03:25 PM
Leopard 10.5.8 Safari says, "Java is Unavailable" j0ester OS X 1 Dec 20, 2012 04:41 PM
Leopard 10.5.8 Safari says, "Java is Unavailable" j0ester MacBook 0 Dec 12, 2012 03:03 PM
"Resource Temporarily Unavailable" when Mounting Disk Image faroZ06 OS X 0 Nov 7, 2012 05:58 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC