Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 16, 2008, 05:57 PM   #1
Deezer-D
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Belfast
Time Machine With 2 Macs

I currently have a MBP and a Lacie Porsche 250Gb USB external drive which I use with Time Machine for my backups. I will be buying an iMac in a couple of weeks as the family computer which will be used for photos, muic etc. Question is, would I be better buying another external drive for the iMac to backup to or can I use the one drive for both Macs?
I realise I'll run out of space pretty quickly and I'll eventually need a bigger drive but 500Gb can be had for about 75.
Any help greatly appreciated
D
Deezer-D is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2008, 08:01 PM   #2
chocolate632
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
http://www.apple.com/macosx/features/timemachine.html

"The moment you choose a Time Machine drive, a single folder is created on the drive. Inside this folder is a subfolder for each Mac being backed up. (Yes, multiple Mac systems can share the same backup drive.) And within each subfolder is another list of folders one for every backup performed on that Mac. Time Machine uses a standard file system to store all of its information. Nothing hidden anywhere."

So yes you can use two machines on one hard drive, but your going to have to buy another one because time machine needs an external hard drive that is bigger than you internal hard drive and im pretty sure the iMac has 250Gb standard.
chocolate632 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2008, 08:10 PM   #3
Kilamite
macrumors G3
 
Kilamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Scotland
Yes. 250GB just isn't enough.

Especially if it is going to be the family computer - that means multiple user accounts, and assuming you have kids then they'll want their own music on their account, and it all mounts up.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro 2GHz i7 8GB 750GB Hybrid | Mac mini 2.3GHz i7 16GB 1TB Fusion | OS X 10.10
iPhone 5 64GB | Apple TV 3 1080p | iOS 8.0.2
Home Theatre Hackintosh i3 3.5GHz 4GB 3TB | OS X 10.9
Kilamite is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2008, 08:21 PM   #4
iPhil
macrumors 68030
 
iPhil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: A$$hat free location,and helping Mac bring back teh sexy-ness era back
Send a message via AIM to iPhil
If your backing up (2) Macs with TM, The minimum GB space i'd recommend @ least 650 GB of Storage...


To have any time 'saved' for both machines..
iPhil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2008, 02:18 AM   #5
Deezer-D
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Belfast
Thanks guys. I'll be ordering the iMac with a 350Gb hard drive so I'll order a 500Gb backup drive. I could also replace the drive in h Lacie enclosure for another 500Gb one - has anyone done this?
Cheers
D
Deezer-D is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2008, 05:53 AM   #6
Kilamite
macrumors G3
 
Kilamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Scotland
Is your Lacie HD a 2.5" portable drive or a full sized one? If it's a full sized one, replacing it is easy peasy. I've replaced my 320GB Iomega HD with a 500GB hard drive.

Just unscrew the enclosure, unplug the drive's power and IDE cable and put the new one in. It is as easy as replacing a hard drive on a desktop machine.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro 2GHz i7 8GB 750GB Hybrid | Mac mini 2.3GHz i7 16GB 1TB Fusion | OS X 10.10
iPhone 5 64GB | Apple TV 3 1080p | iOS 8.0.2
Home Theatre Hackintosh i3 3.5GHz 4GB 3TB | OS X 10.9
Kilamite is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2008, 06:40 AM   #7
Deezer-D
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Belfast
The drive is a full size one. Had a quick look and I don't see an easy way to open it! Just bought a 500Gb Lacie Porsche USB2 to match mine for 72 delivered which is less than I paid for the 250Gb one! I'll eventually upgrade my MBP HD to a 320Gb (only have the 120Gb) so I'll replace the 250Gb HD with a 500Gb one when the time comes.
Has anyone got any tips on opening the Lacie Porsche enclosure?
Cheers
D
Deezer-D is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is the Drobo 5N overkill for a Time Machine Backup for my Macs? AndrewMRiv Mac Peripherals 12 Jan 27, 2014 03:12 PM
Time machine for two Macs, plugged to Mac Mini r6mile Mac mini 7 Jun 2, 2013 02:02 AM
Time machine for two macs onto one external drive drtanz Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Jan 2, 2013 12:15 PM
Using older OSX version Time Machine Server to backup Mountain Lion macs. A bad idea? ooans Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 1 Nov 30, 2012 12:10 AM
Do I need server for time machine from multiple Macs dimme Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 10 Oct 25, 2012 09:23 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC