Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 22, 2008, 12:29 PM   #1
mykoljay
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
List games that work on your MacBook Air

Please list games that you've sucessfully run on your MBA.

Don't forget to note whether it required Bootcamp (Windows) or the Superdrive.

And please do not make this a discussion of how the Air is not a gaming machine...we know that.

Thanks!
mykoljay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2008, 12:46 PM   #2
dahcheet
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Harrisburg, PA
I installed WoW by downloading the files from their site and installing. I haven't actually gotten around to playing it. I logged in and was in a small town (Grom'Gor or something in SV) and it looked great. Fan starting going full blast though. I might try and log in this weekend and see how the game actually plays. We shall see.
__________________
-dahcheet-
The system is down....
1st Gen iPod Nano 4GB
MacBook Air 1.8/80HDD
New to the world of Apple computing so bear with me
dahcheet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2008, 03:13 PM   #3
TheMadBrewer
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
Civilization IV (native Mac) runs but the disk must be in the superdrive

Also crashes if I turn the grid lines on.
__________________
27" iMac; Orig MacBook Air + 11.6" Max; 3 Minis (one a HTPC) Ipods: Many; i; iPad: 3G 64GB mini
TheMadBrewer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2008, 03:17 PM   #4
ayeying
macrumors 601
 
ayeying's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Yay Area, CA
Send a message via AIM to ayeying
Sins Of A Solar Empire, Call of Duty 4 (Hopefully, gonna try it later today)
__________________
Mac Pro | 2.8GHz Xeon, 4GB FB-DDR2, 640GB, GTX285 1GB, 10.10
MacBook Pro | 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3L, 1TB, GT750M 2GB, 10.10
iPhone 6+ | Gray, 128GB, iOS 8.1
iPad Mini | White, 32GB, iOS 8.1
ayeying is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2008, 03:35 PM   #5
vakej
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
When the mac mini first came out folks stated that certain games were not ideal to play on it (e.g. WoW). They mentioned the frame rates were slow. Being that the MBA is a much more advanced machine than the first gen mac mini, I would think that it would have no issue playing most games. Unless games have advanced that much more in the last few years....
__________________
MacBook Air 1.8GHz, 80GB HD
vakej is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2008, 04:22 PM   #6
JWest
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ayeying View Post
Sins Of A Solar Empire, Call of Duty 4 (Hopefully, gonna try it later today)
HA! Good luck with that... integrated graphics don't really run modern games folks. Even the processor in the MBA is too weak for these games. Have fun trying though...

'Course it largely depends on how you define "runs well". I'm more of a hard core gamer, so my standards are a bit high.

Last edited by JWest; Feb 22, 2008 at 04:29 PM.
JWest is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2008, 03:50 AM   #7
ayeying
macrumors 601
 
ayeying's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Yay Area, CA
Send a message via AIM to ayeying
Quote:
Originally Posted by JWest View Post
HA! Good luck with that... integrated graphics don't really run modern games folks. Even the processor in the MBA is too weak for these games. Have fun trying though...

'Course it largely depends on how you define "runs well". I'm more of a hard core gamer, so my standards are a bit high.
Regardless, unless I've tried it, I'm not going to make assumptions of how it'll run. 30+ fps is good enough in most conditions. Surprising, most games I've played ran pretty well on a GMA950 card.
__________________
Mac Pro | 2.8GHz Xeon, 4GB FB-DDR2, 640GB, GTX285 1GB, 10.10
MacBook Pro | 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3L, 1TB, GT750M 2GB, 10.10
iPhone 6+ | Gray, 128GB, iOS 8.1
iPad Mini | White, 32GB, iOS 8.1
ayeying is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2008, 03:53 AM   #8
Ryuukumori
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ayeying View Post
Regardless, unless I've tried it, I'm not going to make assumptions of how it'll run. 30+ fps is good enough in most conditions. Surprising, most games I've played ran pretty well on a GMA950 card.
Did you try cod4 yet? lol
__________________
2G iPod Touch 32GB
Ryuukumori is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2008, 04:18 AM   #9
xparaparafreakx
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Send a message via AIM to xparaparafreakx Send a message via MSN to xparaparafreakx Send a message via Yahoo to xparaparafreakx Send a message via Skype™ to xparaparafreakx
Starcraft + brood war with blizzard no cd update run great.
xparaparafreakx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2008, 06:55 AM   #10
ThinkGeek
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Jakrta, Java, Indonesia
Will Sims 2 run well on it. Coz I really want to play Spore on it when it comes out (and Will Wright said Spore'll take less resources than the Sims 2). Obviously you'll need a SuperDrive to play The Sims 2 or Spore, but will the performance be slower via a USB SuperDrive? Thanks.
__________________
001010101010100 101010100101 0010101010010101
ThinkGeek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2008, 11:09 AM   #11
xparaparafreakx
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Send a message via AIM to xparaparafreakx Send a message via MSN to xparaparafreakx Send a message via Yahoo to xparaparafreakx Send a message via Skype™ to xparaparafreakx
I don't think it will run because of no graphic card on it.
xparaparafreakx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2008, 04:10 PM   #12
grimslade
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Has anyone tried Age of Empires III? The box claims it will run on the Intel integrated graphics chipset...
grimslade is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2008, 05:17 PM   #13
rittchard
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
OS X Native:

Warcraft 3/TFT
Diablo 2/LoD
HOMM V

Bootcamp (XP SP2):

Sins of a Solar Empire
Space Rangers 2
Hellgate London
rittchard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2008, 01:31 AM   #14
ThinkGeek
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Jakrta, Java, Indonesia
Can't the integrated graphic chip (the GMA X3100) run Sims. I am aware the MacBook uses that. Can the MacBook run Sims 2. If it can, then maybe the Air can. Is t possible for anyone to test that out.
__________________
001010101010100 101010100101 0010101010010101
ThinkGeek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2008, 09:23 PM   #15
pumskie
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Please Keep Posting

I am looking for recommendations on games that work on Macbook Air. Key criteria are 1) able to run on the Intel integrated graphics chip and 2) don't need the DVD to play after the install.

Ages of Empire III seems to fit this bill based on the written specs. Can anyone confirm? Any other suggestions?
pumskie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2008, 01:21 PM   #16
lisag
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Dallas
Thumbs up

It runs fine on my 1.6GHz HDD Air.


Quote:
Originally Posted by grimslade View Post
Has anyone tried Age of Empires III? The box claims it will run on the Intel integrated graphics chipset...
lisag is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2008, 01:27 PM   #17
trip1ex
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Talking

All I have to say is that some of you all have some pretty low standards when it comes to determining whether a game runs or not.
trip1ex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2008, 01:28 PM   #18
ctt1wbw
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Seaford VA
Send a message via AIM to ctt1wbw Send a message via MSN to ctt1wbw Send a message via Yahoo to ctt1wbw
I'm in to the hardcore games like you can find at www.glennsgames.com.

I also like klondike forever, SolitaireXL, and Rockgarden. Nothing but hardcore shoot'em ups for me!
ctt1wbw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2008, 01:34 PM   #19
luffytubby
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Is there any more information about how WC3 and WoW runs on a MBA...?
__________________
Life is a game. Play till your dead, then restart.
luffytubby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2008, 01:38 PM   #20
ayeying
macrumors 601
 
ayeying's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Yay Area, CA
Send a message via AIM to ayeying
W3 runs fine on both OSX and Boot Camp
__________________
Mac Pro | 2.8GHz Xeon, 4GB FB-DDR2, 640GB, GTX285 1GB, 10.10
MacBook Pro | 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3L, 1TB, GT750M 2GB, 10.10
iPhone 6+ | Gray, 128GB, iOS 8.1
iPad Mini | White, 32GB, iOS 8.1
ayeying is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2008, 06:54 PM   #21
luffytubby
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Ok. What about Guild Wars? Maple Story Gunz? Quake 3? Anyone know how these games run?


I heard someone say that the X3100 is worse than the intel 900! Can that be right? Aint x3100 the succesor to 900? is it a driver issue?
__________________
Life is a game. Play till your dead, then restart.
luffytubby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2008, 12:04 PM   #22
hephem
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Hi to all,

I'm really interested knowing if BF2, NBA Live 07/08 or Collin Mac Rallye (Dirt? Nah...) run (well) on MBA. If anyone can help here I would really apreciate it.

Thanks.

Cheers.
hephem is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2008, 01:53 PM   #23
jwtadmin
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Return to dark castle runs, but works MUCH better if you turn off the 30fps option in options-->game.
jwtadmin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2008, 02:23 PM   #24
ayeying
macrumors 601
 
ayeying's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Yay Area, CA
Send a message via AIM to ayeying
Quote:
Originally Posted by hephem View Post
Hi to all,

I'm really interested knowing if BF2, NBA Live 07/08 or Collin Mac Rallye (Dirt? Nah...) run (well) on MBA. If anyone can help here I would really apreciate it.

Thanks.

Cheers.
No, maybe, Yes (rally 2005 runs well), Dirt, no.
__________________
Mac Pro | 2.8GHz Xeon, 4GB FB-DDR2, 640GB, GTX285 1GB, 10.10
MacBook Pro | 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3L, 1TB, GT750M 2GB, 10.10
iPhone 6+ | Gray, 128GB, iOS 8.1
iPad Mini | White, 32GB, iOS 8.1
ayeying is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2008, 11:19 PM   #25
icchan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
ive installed the sims2 on my 1.8ghz macbook air and it runs... but it is pretty horrible. i wouldnt consider it to be playable cept maybe the tutorials.

ive got all graphics to the lowest settings but everything feels like its in super lag mode.
icchan is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Games on MacBook Air giorgos7777777 Mac Peripherals 5 May 26, 2014 06:16 PM
Games on macbook air georgeu Mac Basics and Help 1 Jun 10, 2013 05:47 AM
Let's Make a List of Games That the Retina MacBook Pro Can/Can't Play at 2880x1800 MICHAELSD Mac and PC Games 10 Aug 30, 2012 08:40 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC