Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 26, 2008, 01:42 AM   #1
mogrefy
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Diego
Send a message via AIM to mogrefy Send a message via Yahoo to mogrefy
Disable Ctrl+Click Emulating Right Click?

I apologize if this has already been asked before, I tried searching for quite awhile but didn't find an answer...

I'm interested in disabling the ctrl+click keyboard combination in Leopard from emulating a mouse right click; I already have a 3-button TrackMan Wheel and would prefer that while in VMWare and other applications that the right click work the way it does and the ctrl click functions appropriately in VMWare Fusion.

I know that there are other key+mouse combos to replace ctrl+click in Windows, but old habits die hard and I'd like to just use ctrl+click since I'm not using it in OS X due to my 3-button Logitech mouse.

Is it possible to prevent OS X from interpreting CTRL+Click as a right mouse button?
__________________
- Mac Pro 2 x 2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon "Harpertown", 16GB RAM, 2.82TB HD, 8800GT, Wi-Fi, SuperDrive
- Dell D620 14" C2D 1.83Ghz, 2GB RAM, 60GB HD
mogrefy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2008, 01:24 PM   #2
bgertzfield
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by mogrefy View Post
Is it possible to prevent OS X from interpreting CTRL+Click as a right mouse button?
Try the VMware Fusion -> Preferences menu. Deselect the option:

"Enable Mac OS mouse shortcuts (Control-click for right-click)"
bgertzfield is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2008, 06:28 PM   #3
mogrefy
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Diego
Send a message via AIM to mogrefy Send a message via Yahoo to mogrefy
Thanks, I was hoping to even get ctrl+click multiselect to work in OS X too but I didn't have high hopes that it would be possible.

For now at least having Windows act like windows in terms of ctrl+click is a big step in the right direction.

Thanks!
__________________
- Mac Pro 2 x 2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon "Harpertown", 16GB RAM, 2.82TB HD, 8800GT, Wi-Fi, SuperDrive
- Dell D620 14" C2D 1.83Ghz, 2GB RAM, 60GB HD
mogrefy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2008, 02:32 AM   #4
SiriusExcelsior
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canis Major
I find I can't do some things in programs like Adobe Illustrator, which rely quite heavily on modifier+click actions... is there any way to disable ctrl-click completely? I have never used ctrl-click on my macbook's double-finger-tap-enabled trackpad and sometimes use my external mouse...
__________________
Try not!
Do, or do not.
There is no try.
SiriusExcelsior is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2008, 01:45 PM   #5
John01021988
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2007
If you want to select multiple objects in OS X, try Command+click
__________________
Macbook Pro 13" 2.4 Ghz 8GB RAM
iMac 20' 2.4 Ghz Aluminum
John01021988 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2008, 06:33 PM   #6
SiriusExcelsior
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canis Major
Nope.. that wasn't what I was trying to do in Illustrator... If you draw a square in Illustrator, then try to make a textbox in it, it'll want to make the square into a textbox instead (the cursor shows the I beam with a dotted circle), unless you hold down control when you drag the textbox (the cursor shows the I beam with a dotted square).. but really that's not the point.. I don't want to have the ctrl-click because I simply don't use it.. never have, and don't see a reason I ever will...

Is the control-click a part of the OS, a driver, or hardwired into the keyboard? I'd assume it wasn't hardwired or Mac OS X won't be able to let you change modifier keys around...
__________________
Try not!
Do, or do not.
There is no try.
SiriusExcelsior is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2008, 07:05 AM   #7
atleee
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Is it not possible???

I too want to get rid of the to me completely useless ctrl+click equals right-click feature. My apple mouse has a right button and the trackpad can be two-finger clicked for right click so why would I want to ctrl+click?? In flash apps this is a pain in the ...!
Anyone to the rescue?
atleee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2008, 11:31 AM   #8
portent
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
It's part of the OS. Ctrl+Click is the command for a context menu.

Some (not all) mouse drivers support right-clicking to emulate ctrl-click. Not the other way around. If you don't use it, then don't use it. Nobody is forcing you to, and no Mac application will use ctrl-click for anything else. (Command-click, yes, like Illustrator.)

(EDIT: You can swap the keys, though.)
__________________
"And then I got fired. How can you get fired from a company you started?"
portent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2008, 06:48 AM   #9
atleee
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Thanks anyway

Well flash applications don't care if you're running mac os, and this is where I need to use ctrl+click. Suppose I'll just have to run it in vmware instead. I still think it's kinda dumb not to have this as an option..
atleee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2009, 10:10 AM   #10
a2ashraf
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Disable right click in Fusion

Quote:
Originally Posted by bgertzfield View Post
Try the VMware Fusion -> Preferences menu. Deselect the option:

"Enable Mac OS mouse shortcuts (Control-click for right-click)"


This is not entirely correct, the steps you must follow are:

Command , (which gets you into the fusion preferences)
Second button on top (keyboard & mouse)
second tab (Mouse Shortcuts)
Disable the first checkbox, namely: Secondary button -> control - primary button.

This will remove the right click inside fusion.
I use to never reply to posts, but so many of you have helped me out..

See screen shot of attachement (if it came through)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 2.png
Views:	318
Size:	57.6 KB
ID:	168078  
a2ashraf is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2009, 05:14 PM   #11
kutenai
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
There ARE good reasons to disable Control-Click

Some of the posts to this were a bit flippant.. "if you don't like it, don't use it.." or something to that effect.

I am using Chicken of the VNC to connect to Unix servers.. I need to use Control-Click to access applications there. They do not understand Command-click, or that has not been mapped, and Control-click brings up the context menu.. I would really like a way around that..
kutenai is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2009, 04:15 AM   #12
Jolapuss
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Another reason for disabling it...

I completely agree with kutenai, if people are asking for a way around control+click it's probably for a reason...

I log on to my work PC via Java-based terminal server which creates a virtual Windows environment (so no VMWare) and find it realy irritating not to be able to control-click to multi-select items (cmd-click doesn't work as the applications think they are in a Windows environment).

Any help (or a friendly word to some developers at Apple!) would be greatly appreciated.
Jolapuss is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2011, 05:28 PM   #13
johnnyxhuynh
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by a2ashraf View Post
This is not entirely correct, the steps you must follow are:

Command , (which gets you into the fusion preferences)
Second button on top (keyboard & mouse)
second tab (Mouse Shortcuts)
Disable the first checkbox, namely: Secondary button -> control - primary button.

This will remove the right click inside fusion.
I use to never reply to posts, but so many of you have helped me out..
This worked beautifully for me. Thank you so much!
johnnyxhuynh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2011, 02:15 PM   #14
johnodonovan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
this is clearly still an important and unsolved issue

Has anyone been able to solve this problem? There are tons of web based apps that require ctrl-click as input (flash, flex, javascript etc etc). I'm pulling my hair out trying to figure out how to enter ctrl-click to do multiple selects on a JS-based graph application that i'm working with.

These apps are OS-independent, so it is important that OSx supports this input, whether it was in apple's initial design or not.

ergo, "if you don't like it don't use it" is not a useful answer to this thread.

cheers.



Follow up:
I managed to get my app working by changing the code to use shift instead of ctrl. Of the two JS functions below, the first returns true on a mac
when shift is pressed, but the second returns false when ctrl is pressed.
On windows, both return true when the appropriate button is pressed.

function isShiftPressed(e)
{
var shiftPressed=0;

if (parseInt(navigator.appVersion)>3) {

var evt = navigator.appName=="Netscape" ? e:event;

if (navigator.appName=="Netscape" && parseInt(navigator.appVersion)==4)
{
// NETSCAPE 4 CODE
var mString =(e.modifiers+31).toString(2).substring(3,6);
shiftPressed =(mString.charAt(1)=="1");
}
else
{
// NEWER BROWSERS [CROSS-PLATFORM]
shiftPressed =evt.shiftKey;
}
if (shiftPressed)
{
alert('shift pressed!');
return true;
}
}

return false;
}


function isCtrlPressed(e)
{
var ctrlPressed=0;

if (parseInt(navigator.appVersion)>3) {

var evt = navigator.appName=="Netscape" ? e:event;

if (navigator.appName=="Netscape" && parseInt(navigator.appVersion)==4)
{
// NETSCAPE 4 CODE
var mString =(e.modifiers+32).toString(2).substring(3,6);
ctrlPressed =(mString.charAt(1)=="1");
}
else
{
// NEWER BROWSERS [CROSS-PLATFORM]
ctrlPressed =evt.ctrlKey;
}
if (ctrlPressed)
{
alert('ctrl pressed!');
return true;
}
}

return false;
}

Last edited by johnodonovan; Mar 8, 2011 at 04:00 PM.
johnodonovan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2011, 08:45 AM   #15
Mal
macrumors 603
 
Mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Orlando
Besides, portent is right. It cannot be changed. It's been implemented at a very low level, and you'll never find a solution. If you're mad about that, then be mad at Apple (though that's... useless).

jW
__________________
The Bearded Nerd
13" MacBook Pro; 64GB iPod touch
"It's a real burn, being right so often."
NoiseTrade.com/Walker

Last edited by Hellhammer; Jul 9, 2011 at 08:46 AM. Reason: Deleted response to deleted post
Mal is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
terminal, extending service - ctrl-click on filename ericsmythe OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Oct 4, 2013 03:14 PM
Problem with 'click to tweet' & 'click to post' in mountain lion 10.8.3 arranjenks MacBook Air 0 May 23, 2013 03:16 AM
How to disable Alt + Click for closing windows? chrono1081 Mac Basics and Help 0 Jan 19, 2013 07:01 PM
iMac won't right click with ANY mouse (secondary click IS set) J.C iMac 9 Dec 9, 2012 11:47 AM
Is there a way to disable background window click-throughs? Undecided OS X 0 Oct 31, 2012 12:51 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC