Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 27, 2008, 08:41 AM   #1
foltzie
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Parallels on Macbook Air

I'm considering a Macbook Air.

I would be using it as my primary machine and retire my iMac 17inch.

Has anyone ran Parallels (Windows XP), how does it run?

Thanks,
foltzie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2008, 09:17 AM   #2
Flowero4ka
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
YEPP!!! I run it and I enjoy it!!! No problems with speed and I can economize my money and not to repay for alternative progs which I have already bought licenses for PC... Have you already bought parallels? If you haven't do it yet, I may advise you a good offer Because I use it too!!

Last edited by Mitthrawnuruodo; Feb 27, 2008 at 09:31 AM. Reason: No need to quote the entire first post...
Flowero4ka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2008, 09:20 AM   #3
MacRumorUser
macrumors Demi-God
 
MacRumorUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
Yep run it here too. No problems what so ever.
__________________
A gentleman is one who never hurts anyone's feelings unintentionally.
MacRumor:User
Microsoft MVP : Macintosh
MacRumorUser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2008, 09:21 AM   #4
user13
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
I use Parallels Desktop every day and it suits me. Everything works pretty fast. I use Parallels mainly for office apps. Windows works perfectly well
user13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2008, 09:50 AM   #5
Kendall015
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
I use it too for stuff like Access...It works great.
__________________
MacBookPro8,2 | 32GB iPhone 5
Kendall015 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2008, 10:57 AM   #6
markwise
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Almere / Netherlands
parallels and specifications of your MBA

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacRumorUser View Post
Yep run it here too. No problems what so ever.
Some replied positively on the question whether parallels runs smoothly on the air. Not all however indicated the specifications of their MBA

As I was actually phoned today that an MBA is reserved and waiting for me (1.6/80HD), and I too plan to install parallels (/ XP) and use it with Access applications, I am curious to know which specifications your MBAs have ; also 1.6 80 HD ? or other?

Please can you input ASAP as I am forced to decide to buy or let it go by tomorrow

THX
markwise is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2008, 11:16 AM   #7
twynne
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: London, UK
Parallels runs well here on a 1.8 SSD. Afraid I can't comment on the lower spec.
__________________
15" Macbook Pro Core i7 8GB, Mac Mini Core Duo 2.0 4GB x 2, iPad 64GB Wifi, iPhone 3GS 32GB, iPhone 4 on order
twynne is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2008, 11:32 AM   #8
mcvaughan
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston, TX
I just re-installed it on my new Air. It's quite speedy, especially with the SSD model.
__________________
Matt
MacBook Pro, ACD, iPod, iPad, iPhone, Airport Extreme, Apple TV
mcvaughan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 29, 2008, 07:35 AM   #9
bjdraw
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tampa FL
Send a message via AIM to bjdraw
I use it all the time on my 1.6/80 to access my companies VPN (mo Mac support).

My XP image which includes Office etc, is about 6GB so it's not too big to keep on the 80GB HDD.
__________________
Ben Drawbaugh
How good can it be, if it isn't HD?
Engadget HD
bjdraw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 29, 2008, 08:15 AM   #10
kyleen66
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
I'm using VM Fusion with Windows XP.

It runs great.
kyleen66 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 29, 2008, 08:15 AM   #11
user13
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by markwise View Post
Some replied positively on the question whether parallels runs smoothly on the air. Not all however indicated the specifications of their MBA

Please can you input ASAP as I am forced to decide to buy or let it go by tomorrow
I run Parallels not on MacBookAir - I think I didn't read the first post attentively.
I used to run Parallels with 1 gig of Ram until I upgraded and even then it worked pretty fast. Access applications work fine in Parallels too
user13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 29, 2008, 09:29 AM   #12
ddd269
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Torrance, CA
Parallels works great with the MBA (1.6 80gb)

I've used it for about 3 weeks with xp. No problems so far.

The only thing I can notice is the display not being very smooth, when scrolling. I guess I can make it smoother if I allocate a bit more resource to Parallels, but it works well enough for me to not tinker with it. Other than that, it's perfect.

I have to use Parallels because some international sites I frequent only works with IE... Otherwise, the the site displays erratically with Firefox and Safari.
ddd269 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 29, 2008, 04:33 PM   #13
ViperrepiV
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by twynne View Post
Parallels runs well here on a 1.8 SSD. Afraid I can't comment on the lower spec.
how much space did parallels and winXP take up?
ViperrepiV is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2008, 06:14 AM   #14
Capt. Morgan
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
I hope this isn't too far off topic - I have a MBA on order (1.6 HDD) and bought Parallels.

Being a Mac guy it just kills me to have to purchase a Microsoft OS, but like some have noted, there are just some web sites that require IE on a peecee. 1) Should I go for XP or Vista; and 2) Where is the best place to obtain this for low cost? Used on EBay?
Capt. Morgan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2008, 07:51 AM   #15
saisrujan
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capt. Morgan View Post
1) Should I go for XP or Vista
I've tried both XP and Vista using VMWare Fusion on MBA, and the choice is a no-brainer.

Definitely XP. Vista needs at least 2gb of RAM for itself to run smoothly. So, virtualization is not an option for Vista on MBA because both OS X and Vista nee a lot of memory to run smoothly. So, unless you're planning to run Vista on bootcamp, don't buy Vista. XP runs great on VMWare Fusion. I use XP all day at office with 8-10 applications open at the same time. No issues at all.
__________________
iPhone 8gb
Macbook Air 1.6/80

Last edited by saisrujan; Mar 1, 2008 at 07:52 AM. Reason: Clarity
saisrujan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2008, 08:16 AM   #16
BryanLyle
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by ViperrepiV View Post
how much space did parallels and winXP take up?
When you create the virtual machine, you can specify how big you want it to be.
__________________
follow me on twitter: @bryanlyle
BryanLyle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2008, 09:08 AM   #17
cohibadad
macrumors 6502a
 
cohibadad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by twynne View Post
Parallels runs well here on a 1.8 SSD. Afraid I can't comment on the lower spec.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcvaughan View Post
I just re-installed it on my new Air. It's quite speedy, especially with the SSD model.
agreed. runs great. I wouldn't expect 3D to be very speedy though I haven't tried it on the MBA. It was a dog when I tried it on my iMac 2.8 but I heard it has improved.
cohibadad is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2008, 09:57 AM   #18
ddd269
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Torrance, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capt. Morgan View Post
I hope this isn't too far off topic - I have a MBA on order (1.6 HDD) and bought Parallels.

Being a Mac guy it just kills me to have to purchase a Microsoft OS, but like some have noted, there are just some web sites that require IE on a peecee. 1) Should I go for XP or Vista; and 2) Where is the best place to obtain this for low cost? Used on EBay?

Just like the other posts... XP is the answer. The best place to get it would be a site that sell OEM package Windows. These are not the retail packaged versions and was meant to be sold with new computers/manufacturers at a discounted price. Even if you get the retail version, make sure you don't get an "upgrade" version, because it will not install unless you have a previous version of Windows and the Parallels and VM Fusion need XP with service pack 2... I think. Regardless, make sure you get the full version.

newegg.com is a good place to get these, but most computer sites carry these OEM Windows.
ddd269 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2008, 09:35 PM   #19
aristobrat
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
FWIW, only Boot Camp requires XP SP2.

Fusion and Parallels should be able to install dang near any version of any Intel OS!
aristobrat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2008, 12:27 AM   #20
ddd269
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Torrance, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by aristobrat View Post
FWIW, only Boot Camp requires XP SP2.

Fusion and Parallels should be able to install dang near any version of any Intel OS!
You're right... It was bootcamp that I was thinking about.
ddd269 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2008, 05:10 AM   #21
MacRumorUser
macrumors Demi-God
 
MacRumorUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by markwise View Post

As I was actually phoned today that an MBA is reserved and waiting for me (1.6/80HD), and I too plan to install parallels (/ XP) and use it with Access applications, I am curious to know which specifications your MBAs have ; also 1.6 80 HD ? or other?

Please can you input ASAP as I am forced to decide to buy or let it go by tomorrow

Just the stock 1.6 / 80GB HDD
__________________
A gentleman is one who never hurts anyone's feelings unintentionally.
MacRumor:User
Microsoft MVP : Macintosh
MacRumorUser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2008, 06:22 AM   #22
chicken123
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Please do not use Parallels on the Macbook Air. It keeps crashing. There are already some discussions about this on the Parallels forum. I have just bought the Macbook air and is very frustrated because Parallels keep crashing with increasing frequency with my MBA.
chicken123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2008, 06:36 AM   #23
MacRumorUser
macrumors Demi-God
 
MacRumorUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by chicken123 View Post
Please do not use Parallels on the Macbook Air. It keeps crashing. There are already some discussions about this on the Parallels forum. I have just bought the Macbook air and is very frustrated because Parallels keep crashing with increasing frequency with my MBA.
Hasn't crashed on mine.
__________________
A gentleman is one who never hurts anyone's feelings unintentionally.
MacRumor:User
Microsoft MVP : Macintosh
MacRumorUser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2008, 07:42 AM   #24
chicken123
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Please see this link about MBA crashing

http://forums.parallels.com/showthread.php?t=19507
chicken123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2008, 08:37 AM   #25
dicin
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I had a Dell XPS / M1210 about 9 months old and purchased a MBA 1.6 / 80.

I first installed bootcamp along with Win XP and made sure it ran properly. I installed all of the Microsoft Office 2003 suite. I made sure it operated fine and then I did all of the upgrades to both Win XP and Office.
After all of that I installed Parallel as a VM and it works fine with no crashes etc.
dicin is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolved: Windows VM under Parallels in MacBook Air Areopagus MacBook Air 0 Jun 15, 2013 07:05 PM
How do I install Windows 8 RTM on my MacBook Air with Parallels? PretZL Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 3 Jan 9, 2013 06:44 PM
Air or Pro for Parallels, HD Space chris654 MacBook Air 7 Dec 27, 2012 02:48 AM
Parallels on 2012 Air 13" i7 with 8GB... XP or 7? majordude MacBook Air 24 Dec 15, 2012 04:44 PM
Macbook Air 13 2.5 Parallels Performance tey112 MacBook Air 4 Jun 18, 2012 03:17 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC