Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 27, 2008, 11:34 AM   #1
mmcxiiad
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
webserver accessible from the internet

we have an xserve with 10.5.2 running. DNS is working properly & internal clients can get to the web server through the fully qualified domain name (servername.domain.com)

The problem is i can't access it from the internet.

we have a dynamic ip address and i am using dyndns. I know it is working because I can pull up the config page for the router (dlink dir-655) outside of my network. (hostname.homeip.net:routerport)

The web server is just set for the standard port 80. I have tried port forwarding 80 to my server's ip address, using virtual server to fwd 80 to the server and even used dmz to open the server wide up to the internet. None of these allow me to access my web server. Any ideas what i am doing wrong?

Last edited by mmcxiiad; Feb 27, 2008 at 11:49 AM. Reason: error
mmcxiiad is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2008, 11:40 AM   #2
jeremy.king
macrumors 603
 
jeremy.king's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Fox Lake, IL
Tried just hitting your outside IP address?
jeremy.king is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2008, 11:52 AM   #3
mmcxiiad
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
yes, here is what i have tried:

ip address xx.xx.xx.xx - nothing
ip address xx.xx.xx.xx:routerport - pulls up router config page

which is the identical results using the dyndns host

hostname.homeip.net - nothing
hostname.homeip.net:routerport - pulls up router config page

so i know that my ip address is being updated to my dyndns account. I am pretty sure that it is either something in the router preventing this from working.
mmcxiiad is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2008, 12:02 PM   #4
jeremy.king
macrumors 603
 
jeremy.king's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Fox Lake, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmcxiiad View Post
yes, here is what i have tried:

ip address xx.xx.xx.xx - nothing
ip address xx.xx.xx.xx:routerport - pulls up router config page

which is the identical results using the dyndns host

hostname.homeip.net - nothing
hostname.homeip.net:routerport - pulls up router config page

so i know that my ip address is being updated to my dyndns account. I am pretty sure that it is either something in the router preventing this from working.
Yeah, I would assume the same - but I can't help your there as I have no experience with DLink.

Do you have any funky firewall rules on your webserver. Have you tried turning off firewall to test?
jeremy.king is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2008, 12:03 PM   #5
mmcxiiad
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
figured it out:

apparently port 80 is reserved for the router. i have shut off access to the router config on port 80 but it still defaults there. in the virtual port i set the public port as 81 and private port to 80.

so

hostname.homeip.net:81 redirects to my server ip address on port 80. since this is not a public web server this is fine for my needs
mmcxiiad is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2008, 12:12 PM   #6
jeremy.king
macrumors 603
 
jeremy.king's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Fox Lake, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmcxiiad View Post
since this is not a public web server this is fine for my needs
Congrats.

You use an xserve for personal needs? Must be nice
jeremy.king is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2008, 12:14 PM   #7
WildPalms
macrumors 65816
 
WildPalms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Honolulu, HI
What brand of router is that?
__________________
Shiny !
"Yep!..... that went well."
WildPalms is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2008, 12:18 PM   #8
mmcxiiad
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingjr3 View Post
You use an xserve for personal needs? Must be nice
I wish. we run a family business from our home. I needed to set up the wiki server so other members of the family can access it from their home. We were going to get a Mac Pro and use that as the server, but we ordered a refub'd xserve instead. All things considered, to get OSX server unlimited and an xserve for under $2000 was a pretty good deal. Plus having everything in a rack has really helped to cut down on the space needed for all the stuff. So when I said my needs - I meant the company's needs.... but you are right. it is nice!
mmcxiiad is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2008, 12:29 PM   #9
mmcxiiad
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by WildPalms View Post
What brand of router is that?
it is a dlink consumer router. I have tried a lot of routers. Since we just are a home business I quickly realized that we didn't need 75% of the features of a business class router.

I have also used various linux routers (ipcop, smoothwall, untangle, endian, pfsense, clarkconnect... i am sure there were others too) all with mixed results. we are on a fios connection (30mbit down/5mbit up), and i have found that most of those seem to have problems with the MTU setting that fios uses. I am so frustrated that the best results i get are with the crappy off the shelf routers. The only upside is you can just plug them in and basically go. I don't like the babysitting that linux routers sometimes require. I am not 100% satisfied with the dlink. I am probably going to switch to a dd-wrt based router.

the short version is with linux routers my speeds were cut to 33% of what i get with the off the self routers. not a good trade off in my opinion.

I do miss the transparent proxy filtering i could do with a linux router though (spam, phishing, web, etc). I am always on the look out for something that i could implement that won't kill my speed and still give me more features.

*sigh* the joys of technology.
mmcxiiad is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2008, 01:16 PM   #10
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
glad you figured it out. i have a similar thing going on also
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How can you get back the '@' on your dock that is direct access to the internet? SpotOn Mac Basics and Help 12 Aug 13, 2009 11:13 AM
can i connect to local network but limit access to the internet? nick_harambee Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 2 Jun 28, 2008 10:57 AM
Can I access my USB Drive off my Airport Extreme from the Internet? Sinsinnati Mac Peripherals 7 Oct 12, 2007 10:55 AM
Access mac from the internet MacDonaldsd OS X 13 Apr 20, 2007 04:50 PM
Access over the internet? Macbook pro and mac mini onemacmini Mac Basics and Help 8 Feb 8, 2007 04:33 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC