Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 27, 2008, 06:19 PM   #1
Pomme
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Vermont
Why won't my Macbook connect to the Internet with wireless?

Hi everyone,

Strange question. I spent over an hour on hold with Apple tech support only to have my question go unanswered, so I'm turning to my resident experts.

I have a MacBook bought in August that I've been using without any problems for a few months now. It's never had a problem connecting to the internet via wireless in fact, I'm sitting in my college's library right now typing away, happy as a clam. A few weeks ago, though, my roommate and I moved into a new apartment. We went in on internet with our neighbors, and bought a router that's installed in another girl's apartment. At first, I was able to connect via wireless. It wasn't a great connection, and the internet would stop working every now and then even though Airport showed a full signal. If I turned Airport on and off, it would come back for a bit.

We finally got a password put on the wireless account, and now my Airport shows a full signal at home, but every time I try to load a page in Safari or Firefox I can't connect to the internet. I've done all of my system updates, firmware updates, etc. My roommate is using a Macbook bought about fourteen months ago and isn't having any trouble at all. When we moved to the password protection we set up our internet connections at exactly the same time, in exactly the same way. No luck. We're both pretty confused.

Any ideas or suggestions? I'm absolutely befuddled.
Pomme is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2008, 06:49 PM   #2
Hankster
macrumors 68000
 
Hankster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Washington DC
What happens when you connect a LAN line?
__________________

iMac - MacBook Air - iPhone - iPad - Shuffle - Nikon
Hankster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2008, 06:50 PM   #3
Kalafut
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: pocatello
Send a message via AIM to Kalafut Send a message via MSN to Kalafut
i don't know if this will help, but some routers only let a certain amount of people on the router, and the rest get self assigned IP's, i have the same problem at my friends house, and you might want to install the routers program on your comp maybe that will fix things. and try unplugging your router from the wall for a few mins.

sorry your having trouble.
__________________
MacBook 120gb
Intel Core 2 Duo 2 GHz
2.5 GB Ram
bluetooth mighty mouse.

Last edited by Mitthrawnuruodo; Feb 27, 2008 at 06:55 PM. Reason: No need to quote the entire first post...
Kalafut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2008, 11:00 PM   #4
Pomme
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Vermont
We went in on internet with a few of the other girls in our apartment building and sadly don't have the LAN line in our apartment. So no luck there, at least not for the long run. (I'm on my roommate's computer at this point.)

I'll look into installing the router software. Any other suggestions? I'm confused as to why this worked just fine (although my connection WAS sketchier than my roommate's all along) until we assigned the password to the account.
Pomme is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2011, 12:37 AM   #5
remoteONE
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Try this link ... it worked for me http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=760401
remoteONE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2011, 05:40 PM   #6
Gretschmann
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Montreal
Hello all,

I did what Johngalt1945 recommended in the thread above but i still can`t log to the internet.
I set IPv4 to manual and was able to get a airport signal but I still have a ! in my airport signal on the menu bar. I really don`t know what to do.

I have a 2007 macbook and I have the 10.6.6 version.

I also have the same situation as other member here on this thread, I can log to the internet when I am at work, no problem but not at home.

I hope somebody can help me.
Thanks
Gretschmann is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2011, 12:09 PM   #7
craigrussell17
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Solution

I had the same problem. Macbook would not connect to wireless OR ethernet. Here is what worked for me.

1. type in to web browser (depending on router brand) 192.168.1.1
2. copy the SUBNET MASK number
3. Go to SYSTEM PREFERENCES-NETWORK-ADVANCE- TCP/IP Tab, then type in the SUBNET MASK number you found from your router and APPLY
4. RENEW DHCP LEASE-APPLY

This worked AFTER I went through the steps John provided about "renewing."
Hope this helps!
craigrussell17 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issues connecting to the internet with my new wireless base station danalc Mac Basics and Help 4 Aug 13, 2009 05:25 PM
Can my Mac connect to the internet via my PC's wireless network? jgiles Mac Basics and Help 9 Dec 26, 2008 07:54 PM
Can I use my iPhone to connect my MacBook Pro to the internet in Europe 9290steve MacBook Pro 2 Mar 21, 2008 12:28 PM
Why won't my iPod connect to my G3 Desktop through the Keyboard? BiikeMike iPod 4 Apr 12, 2007 03:45 PM
Connecting to the internet with mini? mr breaker Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 11 Mar 18, 2006 01:13 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC