Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 28, 2003, 11:36 PM   #1
Rower_CPU
Moderator emeritus
 
Rower_CPU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
How to hide icons in the dock

OK, has anyone found a way to do this in Panther yet? I tried doing it the way I did in Jaguar and it's not working at all.

Adding this to the Info.plist file inside the app's contents doesn't seem to do anything.

Quote:
<key>NSUIElement</key>
<string>1</string>
__________________
Join MacRumors.com - Team Folding!

Last edited by Rower_CPU; Oct 29, 2003 at 02:24 AM.
Rower_CPU is offline   0
Old Oct 29, 2003, 02:00 AM   #2
snickelfritz
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Tucson AZ
If the app is running, just right-click the dock icon and choose "hide".

I assume you already know this though, and want some way, for example, to launch the activity monitor at startup as a hidden application that displays status info in the dock.
Not sure how this is done, or if it's possible.
snickelfritz is offline   0
Old Oct 29, 2003, 02:23 AM   #3
Rower_CPU
Thread Starter
Moderator emeritus
 
Rower_CPU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Yeah, I'm actually talking about the icon not displaying in the dock while the app is running.

Let me touch up the topic to make that clearer.
__________________
Join MacRumors.com - Team Folding!
Rower_CPU is offline   0
Old Oct 29, 2003, 02:33 AM   #4
LimeLite
macrumors 6502a
 
LimeLite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Send a message via AIM to LimeLite
Can I just ask why you need to do that? Seems like that hack necessary to do it isn't really worth it.
LimeLite is offline   0
Old Oct 29, 2003, 02:38 AM   #5
Rower_CPU
Thread Starter
Moderator emeritus
 
Rower_CPU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
It's not a need, but more of a want, and it was doable in Jaguar.

For instance, I've got an app that's always visible on my desktop and launches when I log in. I'd prefer to not have it taking up space in my dock when I won't be interacting with it via the dock. Also, I'm curious to see if it disappears from the app switcher as well.

Also, it was a very simple hack in 10.2...not a lot of "trouble" at all.
__________________
Join MacRumors.com - Team Folding!
Rower_CPU is offline   0
Old Oct 29, 2003, 03:40 PM   #6
Macco
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
This is really really weird. It's working with iPulse, but not Stickies, both of which I added NSUIElement to under Jaguar. I tried doing it to TextEdit today under Panther, and it didn't work. It seems rather inconsistent.
__________________
"Whereas Apple is indeed planning to continue its 'controlled, methodical expansion' through the end of next year, the first half of 2005 will see a switch to a 'haphazard, higgledy-piggledy expansion,' followed by two weeks of a 'mellow, nougat-filled expansion,' then three to five minutes of a 'frenzied, cactus-colored contraction,' and finally a thousand-year era of 'perfect Zen retail balance' and 'free Enlightenment to the first billion customers.' "
- As the Apple Turns, regarding Apple Store expansion (8/7/03)
Macco is offline   0
Old Oct 29, 2003, 05:56 PM   #7
Bear
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sol III - Terra
In System Preference->Account Preferences under the Startup Items tab, you can add an application and check the Hide check box to hide the icon from the dock.

The above will work for items you want started when you log in.
__________________
-----Bear
Bear is offline   0
Old Oct 29, 2003, 06:36 PM   #8
Rower_CPU
Thread Starter
Moderator emeritus
 
Rower_CPU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Quote:
Originally posted by Bear
In System Preference->Account Preferences under the Startup Items tab, you can add an application and check the Hide check box to hide the icon from the dock.

The above will work for items you want started when you log in.
Doing that still leaves the icon in the dock, it only hides the app.

Macco-
I wonder if they disable it for Apple apps. I'm trying it on stickies as well, and it's a no go.
__________________
Join MacRumors.com - Team Folding!
Rower_CPU is offline   0
Old Oct 29, 2003, 06:38 PM   #9
mnkeybsness
macrumors 68030
 
mnkeybsness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Moneyapolis, Minnesota
Send a message via AIM to mnkeybsness
download dockless
__________________
Scribbls - a collaborative drawing community designed to combine drawings into outcomes—no talent required.
mnkeybsness is offline   0
Old Oct 29, 2003, 06:45 PM   #10
Rower_CPU
Thread Starter
Moderator emeritus
 
Rower_CPU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Quote:
Originally posted by mnkeybsness
download dockless
I'm getting unexpected quits in Panther. So close, and yet...
__________________
Join MacRumors.com - Team Folding!
Rower_CPU is offline   0
Old Oct 29, 2003, 07:49 PM   #11
MetallicPenguin
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
hmm.....that's weird, isn't TextEdit Carbon or something (sorry, I'm not a programmer of any sort ), and Stickies too? Maybe that has something to do with it. Or maybe I'm just assuming things.
MetallicPenguin is offline   0
Old Oct 29, 2003, 08:55 PM   #12
cb911
macrumors 601
 
cb911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: BrisVegas, Australia
Send a message via ICQ to cb911 Send a message via AIM to cb911
i was going to mention Dockless as well.

i guess the next version will be Panther compatible. i'll be keeping my eye out for it...
__________________
PostPixel.com.au
cb911 is offline   0
Old Oct 29, 2003, 09:07 PM   #13
Phil Of Mac
Banned
 
Phil Of Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Washington State University
Send a message via AIM to Phil Of Mac
Quote:
Originally posted by MetallicPenguin
hmm.....that's weird, isn't TextEdit Carbon or something (sorry, I'm not a programmer of any sort ), and Stickies too? Maybe that has something to do with it. Or maybe I'm just assuming things.
Stickies is Cocoa. It was ported. In Mac OS X Public Beta, the default Stickies said, "This is an example of how easy it is to port apps to Cocoa!"--surely a vestigial feature remaining from Rhapsody!

TextEdit is Cocoa as well.
Phil Of Mac is offline   0
Old Oct 29, 2003, 09:12 PM   #14
MacManDan
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Re: How to hide icons in the dock

Quote:
Originally posted by Rower_CPU
OK, has anyone found a way to do this in Panther yet? I tried doing it the way I did in Jaguar and it's not working at all.

Adding this to the Info.plist file inside the app's contents doesn't seem to do anything.
I know exactly what you're talking about! For some strange reason, Panther actually cache's the Plists. To reset it, with the NSUIElement set to 0 (just like in Jag), quit the app, move it to another folder (say, your desktop), then back to your applications folder. That should do the trick. That resets the cached file and it should do the expected behavior.
MacManDan is offline   0
Old Oct 29, 2003, 09:29 PM   #15
Rower_CPU
Thread Starter
Moderator emeritus
 
Rower_CPU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Re: Re: How to hide icons in the dock

Quote:
Originally posted by MacManDan
I know exactly what you're talking about! For some strange reason, Panther actually cache's the Plists. To reset it, with the NSUIElement set to 0 (just like in Jag), quit the app, move it to another folder (say, your desktop), then back to your applications folder. That should do the trick. That resets the cached file and it should do the expected behavior.
That's not doing the trick, either. I tried my desktop and another partition, and I tried set to 0 and 1...nothing...hmmm.
__________________
Join MacRumors.com - Team Folding!
Rower_CPU is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: Hide icons on 5s possible? borgqueenx Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Jan 25, 2014 03:09 AM
iPhone: Apphide to hide icons bmms8 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 4 Jan 12, 2014 07:18 PM
iPhone: hide icons? rick snagwell Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 16 Jan 6, 2014 02:42 AM
Hide Icons On Only One Desktop Jug-Seb Mac Basics and Help 3 Feb 23, 2013 07:14 PM
Hide selected icons on desktop acuriouslad Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 4 Jul 5, 2012 06:55 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC