Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 4, 2008, 09:28 PM   #1
jericho53
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Center of the Universe
CS 3 on a G4?

I enrolled in a photoshop class for one of my electives in college. Will CS3 run well on my iMac G4 listed in my profile. Adobe lists a G4 in its system requirements. Just curious about how well it actually runs. Thanks.
__________________
iMac G4 17 1.25 1.25 Tiger
iBook G4 12 1.2 768 Tiger
iMac G3 333 (upgraded to G4 400) 288 9.2
1G iPod Nano 1GB
2G iPod Shuffle 1GB
1G iPhone 4GB
jericho53 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2008, 09:38 PM   #2
IgnatiusTheKing
macrumors 68040
 
IgnatiusTheKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: das Fort
Send a message via AIM to IgnatiusTheKing Send a message via Skype™ to IgnatiusTheKing
Quote:
Originally Posted by jericho53 View Post
I enrolled in a photoshop class for one of my electives in college. Will CS3 run well on my iMac G4 listed in my profile. Adobe lists a G4 in its system requirements. Just curious about how well it actually runs. Thanks.
If the "512" is 512 MB RAM then you need to upgrade. 1GB is the minimum and I would suggest you have at least 2GB.
__________________
[ Gig 'em ]
IgnatiusTheKing is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2008, 09:47 PM   #3
jericho53
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Center of the Universe
I intend to upgrade the ram. I just haven't yet. Adobe says 512 is the min.
__________________
iMac G4 17 1.25 1.25 Tiger
iBook G4 12 1.2 768 Tiger
iMac G3 333 (upgraded to G4 400) 288 9.2
1G iPod Nano 1GB
2G iPod Shuffle 1GB
1G iPhone 4GB
jericho53 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2008, 10:00 PM   #4
puckhead193
macrumors G3
 
puckhead193's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NY
runs fine on my pb (just not crazy rendering stuff but it works ok for a intro class)
__________________
nMP - 6 core, D700s, 32 gig, 1 TB, NEC PA272W
20" iMac C2D
17" MBP i7
iPod Touch, 64 GB iPhone 5, 64 GB iPad 3
puckhead193 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2008, 10:26 PM   #5
jericho53
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Center of the Universe
Thanks for the answers. It is an into class, so it sounds like I can get by with my iMac. I do need to upgrade the ram though. Thanks again.
__________________
iMac G4 17 1.25 1.25 Tiger
iBook G4 12 1.2 768 Tiger
iMac G3 333 (upgraded to G4 400) 288 9.2
1G iPod Nano 1GB
2G iPod Shuffle 1GB
1G iPhone 4GB
jericho53 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2008, 10:56 PM   #6
IgnatiusTheKing
macrumors 68040
 
IgnatiusTheKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: das Fort
Send a message via AIM to IgnatiusTheKing Send a message via Skype™ to IgnatiusTheKing
Quote:
Originally Posted by jericho53 View Post
I intend to upgrade the ram. I just haven't yet. Adobe says 512 is the min.
Both CS3 Design Premium and Design Standard require you to have 1GB of RAM. The installer won't even run without it.
__________________
[ Gig 'em ]
IgnatiusTheKing is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2008, 11:08 PM   #7
jericho53
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Center of the Universe
Quote:
Originally Posted by IgnatiusTheKing View Post
Both CS3 Design Premium and Design Standard require you to have 1GB of RAM. The installer won't even run without it.
This quote below says Macintosh

PowerPC® G4 or G5 or multicore Intel processor
Mac OS X v10.4.8-10.5 (Leopard)
512MB of RAM
64MB of video RAM
2GB of available hard-disk space (additional free space required during installation)
1,024x768 monitor resolution with 16-bit video card
DVD-ROM drive
QuickTime 7 software required for multimedia features
Internet or phone connection required for product activation
Broadband Internet connection required for Adobe Stock Photos* and other services

I intend on upgrading my ram. I need to anyway.
__________________
iMac G4 17 1.25 1.25 Tiger
iBook G4 12 1.2 768 Tiger
iMac G3 333 (upgraded to G4 400) 288 9.2
1G iPod Nano 1GB
2G iPod Shuffle 1GB
1G iPhone 4GB
jericho53 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2008, 11:20 PM   #8
IgnatiusTheKing
macrumors 68040
 
IgnatiusTheKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: das Fort
Send a message via AIM to IgnatiusTheKing Send a message via Skype™ to IgnatiusTheKing
Quote:
Originally Posted by jericho53 View Post
This quote below says Macintosh

PowerPC® G4 or G5 or multicore Intel processor
Mac OS X v10.4.8-10.5 (Leopard)
512MB of RAM
64MB of video RAM
2GB of available hard-disk space (additional free space required during installation)
1,024x768 monitor resolution with 16-bit video card
DVD-ROM drive
QuickTime 7 software required for multimedia features
Internet or phone connection required for product activation
Broadband Internet connection required for Adobe Stock Photos* and other services

I intend on upgrading my ram. I need to anyway.
Good lord I don't know where you are getting that, because the link I posted says:

Macintosh
PowerPC® G4 or G5 or multicore Intel processor
Mac OS X v10.4.8-10.5 (Leopard)
Java™ Runtime Environment 1.5 required for Adobe Version Cue® CS3 Server
1GB of RAM
6.3GB of available hard-disk space (additional free space required during installation)
1,024x768 monitor resolution with 16-bit video card
DVD-ROM drive
QuickTime 7.1.2 software required for multimedia features
Some 3D features in Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended require an OpenGL 1.4 capable graphics card with at least 64MB of VRAM
Internet or phone connection required for product activation
Broadband Internet connection required for Adobe Stock Photos* and other services
__________________
[ Gig 'em ]
IgnatiusTheKing is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2008, 11:53 PM   #9
jericho53
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Center of the Universe
link provided by my instructor:

https://store1.adobe.com/cfusion/sto...ibutionOID=103
__________________
iMac G4 17 1.25 1.25 Tiger
iBook G4 12 1.2 768 Tiger
iMac G3 333 (upgraded to G4 400) 288 9.2
1G iPod Nano 1GB
2G iPod Shuffle 1GB
1G iPhone 4GB
jericho53 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2008, 07:49 AM   #10
IgnatiusTheKing
macrumors 68040
 
IgnatiusTheKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: das Fort
Send a message via AIM to IgnatiusTheKing Send a message via Skype™ to IgnatiusTheKing
Okay, so you're just going to be running Photoshop. Probably should have put that in your title. When I read CS3 I think of the whole suite, not just one part.

Good luck in your class.
__________________
[ Gig 'em ]
IgnatiusTheKing is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2008, 10:40 PM   #11
tsd
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Greensboro, NC
Yeah, it runs great on a PowerMac G4 933MHz with 1.5GB of RAM. Operations are slow in Photoshop, and some stuff in Illustrator, but it is usable. That said, I would recommend starting to save somehow to upgrade. You're gonna really feel that slow processor.
__________________
Mac Addict since 1998! Quicksilver 2002 (933 MHz) 17" Apple Studio Display 24" iMac, 2.8GHz, 4GB RAM, 1TB HDD
Graphic Design, Web Design and Branding from Trend Setting Design
tsd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2008, 11:03 AM   #12
7on
macrumors 601
 
7on's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Punk Hazard
Well I think he should look into the suite:

Photoshop w/ edu - $299.98
CS3 Web Suite w/ edu - $499.98

And you get all these apps :
Adobe Dreamweaver CS3
Adobe Flash Pro CS3
Adobe Photoshop CD3 Extended
Adobe Illustrator CS3
Adobe Fireworks CS3
Adobe Acrobat Pro 8
Adobe Contribute CS3

Though of course if you're just sticking to ps then it doesn't make sense to spend the extra $200, but it is $200 well spent.
__________________
jonshipman.com
7on is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2008, 11:08 AM   #13
IgnatiusTheKing
macrumors 68040
 
IgnatiusTheKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: das Fort
Send a message via AIM to IgnatiusTheKing Send a message via Skype™ to IgnatiusTheKing
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7on View Post
Well I think he should look into the suite:

Photoshop w/ edu - $299.98
CS3 Web Suite w/ edu - $499.98

And you get all these apps :
Adobe Dreamweaver CS3
Adobe Flash Pro CS3
Adobe Photoshop CD3 Extended
Adobe Illustrator CS3
Adobe Fireworks CS3
Adobe Acrobat Pro 8
Adobe Contribute CS3

Though of course if you're just sticking to ps then it doesn't make sense to spend the extra $200, but it is $200 well spent.
Depends on what he's going to do. For the same price, Design Premium, which is what people like me (who do mostly print work) use, gets you:

Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended
Adobe Illustrator CS3
Adobe InDesign CS3
Adobe Acrobat 8 Professional
Adobe Dreamweaver CS3
Adobe Flash Pro CS3
__________________
[ Gig 'em ]
IgnatiusTheKing is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2008, 11:15 AM   #14
7on
macrumors 601
 
7on's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Punk Hazard
Quote:
Originally Posted by IgnatiusTheKing View Post
Depends on what he's going to do. For the same price, Design Premium, which is what people like me (who do mostly print work) use, gets you:

Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended
Adobe Illustrator CS3
Adobe InDesign CS3
Adobe Acrobat 8 Professional
Adobe Dreamweaver CS3
Adobe Flash Pro CS3
Yeah I tried to find the print collection but I couldn't find it on JourneyED. I'm still kicking around CS1
__________________
jonshipman.com
7on is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2008, 11:35 AM   #15
ChrisA
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by jericho53 View Post
I enrolled in a photoshop class for one of my electives in college. Will CS3 run well on my iMac G4 listed in my profile. Adobe lists a G4 in its system requirements. Just curious about how well it actually runs. Thanks.
A 1.25Ghz G4 is still a reasonable machine. Not fast but good enough to run CS3 for homework assignments. However RAM is now so cheap that you should just buy the full amount of RAM to max out the iMac. 512MB is very minimal for tiger and PS CS3. Adding more RAM with keep the iMac usfull for a long time
ChrisA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2008, 07:57 PM   #16
jericho53
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Center of the Universe
Update. Photoshop runs great. Upgraded my RAM to 1.25. Thanks for everyones help.
__________________
iMac G4 17 1.25 1.25 Tiger
iBook G4 12 1.2 768 Tiger
iMac G3 333 (upgraded to G4 400) 288 9.2
1G iPod Nano 1GB
2G iPod Shuffle 1GB
1G iPhone 4GB
jericho53 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2008, 10:34 AM   #17
flrazor
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by IgnatiusTheKing View Post
Both CS3 Design Premium and Design Standard require you to have 1GB of RAM. The installer won't even run without it.
It will run, but it will warn you that you are below the line for requested memory. I'm running CS3 Design Premium on a G4 tower (dual 1GHz MDD) with 768 MB RAM here at work and it's all good. A couple of our machines have under 1 GB and it works, though it's not what I'd consider the best performance. My personal Macs all have 1GB+ RAM and they skate all over what I work with. I'd LOVE to have more RAM, but I know that I won't be getting any upgrades anytime soon. So it's not impossible, but I would not recommend it give the choice.
__________________
2.2 GHz Core i7 MacBook Pro, 4G iPod Touch, G3 & G4 Power Macs
flrazor is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC