Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 2, 2003, 06:20 PM   #1
jaesk8er
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Bay Area
Send a message via AIM to jaesk8er
160 gig only 128gigs when formatted

Alright I have an older Dual 533 G4 tower and I just installed a Maxor 160gig H/D and when I formatted it would not get any bigger than around 128gigs. I know that I have a slower ATA i think 66 but is there any way to get that drive up to 160 with out going to a firewire case??? Any one know of an pci card?? or any other idea's?????

Thanx
jaesk8er is offline   0
Old Nov 2, 2003, 06:22 PM   #2
manitoubalck
Banned
 
manitoubalck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Adelaide, Australia
take it back
manitoubalck is offline   0
Old Nov 2, 2003, 06:29 PM   #3
LethalWolfe
macrumors Demi-God
 
LethalWolfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles
For anything pre 2nd gen MDD I think 135gig is the limit for Apple's onboard IDE controller. If you buy a PCI controller card you'll be in business.


Lethal
LethalWolfe is offline   0
Old Nov 3, 2003, 01:28 AM   #4
LimeiBook86
macrumors 604
 
LimeiBook86's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hanging around in NJ with his cutie. :)
Send a message via AIM to LimeiBook86 Send a message via MSN to LimeiBook86 Send a message via Yahoo to LimeiBook86
You need a ATA 133 PCI Card, Sonnet sells it, (www.sonnettech.com) but OWC also sells them for about $25 cheaper (www.otherworldcomputing.com)

Sonnet= $99
OWC=$75

Good Luck, I have a 200gb HD and I need to save up for one of those cards
__________________
My 'How to Draw Fun Animals' iBook is now on iTunes
"Just you try and stop me..."
My Site Thrift Fails Tech Blog

Last edited by LimeiBook86; Nov 3, 2003 at 01:30 AM.
LimeiBook86 is offline   0
Old Nov 3, 2003, 02:44 AM   #5
jonapete2001
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Just to be clear, the limit on most older machines is 137GB. When formated 137Gb would not suprise me to turn out to be 128Gb. Get a pci ide controller.
jonapete2001 is offline   0
Old Nov 3, 2003, 02:48 AM   #6
LimeLite
macrumors 6502a
 
LimeLite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Send a message via AIM to LimeLite
Actually, the limit on ATA/66 is exactly 128GB, if I recall correctly.
LimeLite is offline   0
Old Nov 3, 2003, 04:21 AM   #7
jonapete2001
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Quote:
Originally posted by LimeLite
Actually, the limit on ATA/66 is exactly 128GB, if I recall correctly.
Thanks for the correction, I must have been thinking of ATA 133 because with ATA 133 i am pretty sure it is 137 but i could be wrong.
jonapete2001 is offline   0
Old Nov 3, 2003, 09:28 AM   #8
saabmp3
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tacoma, WA
Send a message via AIM to saabmp3
Quote:
Originally posted by jonapete2001
Thanks for the correction, I must have been thinking of ATA 133 because with ATA 133 i am pretty sure it is 137 but i could be wrong.
The limit on ATA133 is in the thousands of gigs. This is why he needs to get one . The limit on the ATA100 chipset is 137 and the limit on the ATA66 was much smaller I thought but I guess it's obviously 128.

Cheers

BEN
saabmp3 is offline   0
Old Nov 3, 2003, 11:03 AM   #9
LimeiBook86
macrumors 604
 
LimeiBook86's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hanging around in NJ with his cutie. :)
Send a message via AIM to LimeiBook86 Send a message via MSN to LimeiBook86 Send a message via Yahoo to LimeiBook86
Yeah I think ATA 100 is what I have in my G3 MiniTower because I have a 200gb Drive in there and I think I formated the drive at 137gb or so, as soon as I get that ATA card it looks like I'm ready for another format..
__________________
My 'How to Draw Fun Animals' iBook is now on iTunes
"Just you try and stop me..."
My Site Thrift Fails Tech Blog
LimeiBook86 is offline   0
Old Nov 3, 2003, 12:16 PM   #10
plinkoman
macrumors 65816
 
plinkoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: New York
if your going to end up having to buy a pci card for it, then why go with ata/133? take the hd back and get an sata one, and an sata card.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro | 2.66 GHz i7 | 8GB RAM | HiRes Anti-Glare
2nd Gen iPod touch 16GB
iPad 2 WiFi 32GB - on order
plinkoman is offline   0
Old Nov 3, 2003, 11:18 PM   #11
Wyrm
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Toekeeyoe, Japan
I guess you have the latest firmware?

Isn't this related to LBA 48 bit access, but I'm not sure if Apple changed this in their firmware... so if you have the latest firmware, the only option would be to use a controller that has LBA48.

-Wyrm
Wyrm is offline   0
Old Nov 4, 2003, 02:30 AM   #12
florio
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Penticton, BC, CANADA
Same problem

I had the same problem...the question is.... if I instal a new ide controller, will I have to reformat the drives to reclaim the space? I partitioned the 160GB drive into 3 partitions (1-20GB, 1-50GB, 1-58GB). When I place the drive on a new controller, will I have to reformat? I could move all the info to another drive and then back again.

Florio
florio is offline   0
Old Nov 4, 2003, 04:01 AM   #13
LimeLite
macrumors 6502a
 
LimeLite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Send a message via AIM to LimeLite
Check the third partition. While the first two will fill up fine, the third one will stop you at the point that makes it 128GB. Partitioning is a proposed workaround that does not work for the ATA/66 128GB limit issue.
LimeLite is offline   0
Old Jan 18, 2004, 08:54 PM   #14
corebreech
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Red face I think the conclusions here are wrong

I have a Seagate 160GB drive installed in my Bondi Rev. A iMac, and I was able to access the full 160GB when installing Yellow Dog Linux, so that would imply that it is *not* a hardware issue.

I've since installed Mac OS X (because network performance under Yellow Dog Linux is abominable) and ran into this limit (both Mac OS 9's and OS X's disk setup software limit you to 128GB.)

So it's something in the software. Has to be.
corebreech is offline   0
Old Jan 18, 2004, 09:45 PM   #15
MoparShaha
macrumors 68000
 
MoparShaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: San Francisco
Re: I think the conclusions here are wrong

Quote:
Originally posted by corebreech
So it's something in the software. Has to be.
No, this is a hardware issue. The original poster needs a PCI ATA controller card to access the full 160GB.
MoparShaha is offline   0
Old Jan 19, 2004, 09:26 AM   #16
Lanbrown
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Don't confuse the bus speed with the addressing ability of the controller. To get past the 137GB limit, you need 48-bit addressing.
Lanbrown is offline   0
Old Jan 19, 2004, 10:40 AM   #17
virividox
macrumors 68040
 
virividox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Manila - Nottingham - Philadelphia - Santa Barbara - Boston (ugh hate not knowing where to call home)
get a new controller, like what they said. or firewire enclosure
__________________
17" MBP , 2 gig ram, 200 gig fw800 + 120 gig fw400 + 250 gig usb2 ext, 5g 80gig Ipod, Tiger
d200 & d70
virividox is offline   0
Old Jan 24, 2004, 12:51 AM   #18
corebreech
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Guys, you're not making any sense.

Are you implying that the disk controller in my Rev. A Bondi 233MHz iMac is more recent/capable than that in a dual-G4?

Did you read my post??? How can it be hardware if I can access the full disk using Linux?

(and BTW the limit is 128GB, not 137GB. And this is true regardless of whether I try to use Mac OS 8, Mac OS 9.1, Mac OS 9.2.1, OS X Beta, Jaguar or Panther to format.)
corebreech is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8 gig vs 16 gig in a Mini 2012 2.3 i7? Vincenzok Mac mini 65 Feb 15, 2014 11:14 AM
iPad: Would you upgrade for $160? puma1552 iPad 6 Nov 1, 2013 11:48 PM
How to move data from PC formatted External HD to my new HFS+ formatted External driv desmotesta Mac Peripherals 6 Oct 25, 2013 09:48 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC