Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 16, 2008, 01:28 PM   #1
Frozn1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wetaskiwin, Alberta, Canada
Internet without Wifi, iPod Touch

Haven't seen much on this topic but I think it would be great for everyone to be able to use the internet through their usb connection compared to having to find a wifi connection. I don't think there are any installer apps for doing this yet. I don't see why it can't be done, so I hope someone has ideas.
__________________
"Knowledge is not wisdom unless used wisely"
Frozn1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2008, 01:38 PM   #2
Cepe Indicum
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
I don't understand... How do you get the Internet through a USB connection without having an Internet enabled PC or Mac attached to the Touch in the first place... therefore, you might as well use the computer, no?

Sorry - might be missing your point?
Cepe Indicum is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2008, 01:43 PM   #3
Frozn1
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wetaskiwin, Alberta, Canada
Sorry, I didn't say that I want to use the internet on my iPod touch and use installer without having a wifi connection.
__________________
"Knowledge is not wisdom unless used wisely"
Frozn1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2008, 04:49 PM   #4
Nitromaster
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ireland.
If you have a mac its easy to share your internet via wifi:
1.Turn on 'Internet Sharing' from your connection to Airport in 'Sharing' in 'System Preferences'.
2.Enable Airport.
3.Connect via wifi on your ipod touch.

I'm sure theres a way to share your internet wirelessly on windows but I spent days looking for a way with no luck
__________________
Macbook 2.2ghz | 32GB iPod Touch
Nitromaster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2008, 06:05 PM   #5
Frozn1
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wetaskiwin, Alberta, Canada
Great tip, Thanks.

Were I work there is no wireless internet at all, completely wired, I want to plug my iPod Touch into the USB port and have internet from the wired connection go into my touch through the USB. I really want to know if thats possible.
__________________
"Knowledge is not wisdom unless used wisely"
Frozn1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2008, 03:55 AM   #6
rakesh
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitromaster View Post
If you have a mac its easy to share your internet via wifi:
1.Turn on 'Internet Sharing' from your connection to Airport in 'Sharing' in 'System Preferences'.
2.Enable Airport.
3.Connect via wifi on your ipod touch.

I'm sure theres a way to share your internet wirelessly on windows but I spent days looking for a way with no luck
i was able to connect to internet on ipod touch 1.1.2 through ad hoc network creted on my laptop(vista) but once i upgraded to 1.1.4 no such luck, i guess these may be one of those bug fixes apple was talking about.
rakesh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2008, 10:44 PM   #7
jm9534
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitromaster View Post
If you have a mac its easy to share your internet via wifi:
1.Turn on 'Internet Sharing' from your connection to Airport in 'Sharing' in 'System Preferences'.
2.Enable Airport.
3.Connect via wifi on your ipod touch.

I'm sure theres a way to share your internet wirelessly on windows but I spent days looking for a way with no luck
Hi Nitromaster,

I can't connect my ipod touch through wifi from my iMac G5, I'm on firmware 1.1.4. Is that causing the problem? Any suggestion!! Thanks.
jm9534 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2008, 06:11 AM   #8
4DThinker
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
You can enable network sharing on a PC, but only if it has at least two networking options installed such as a wifi card (or USB wifi dongle) and ethernet jack in it. Notebooks almost all come with wifi and an ethernet jack, but desktops usually have just ethernet. If you're plugged into the interent/network via ethernet then you can turn on the wifi and share it as an ad-hoc network. In corporations that are all wired, it is often done for security. Anyone opening up a wireless node would be strongly discouraged.

I can see the desire to have internet on the Touch anyway that is possible, but in an office were your could do all the internet browsing you wanted on the PC you'd be sharing from I don't really see the point. If you think using your Touch would allow you some privacy not available on the company's PC, realize that all your traffic will be going through the same network and the company's network administrator would see your Touch activity the same as he/she would see your offic PC's activity.
__________________
Visit my blog!
4DThinker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2008, 04:13 PM   #9
Frozn1
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wetaskiwin, Alberta, Canada
All right

so is it impossible to share the internet through the USB connection?
__________________
"Knowledge is not wisdom unless used wisely"
Frozn1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2008, 04:14 PM   #10
sramirez02
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
I too would love wired internet on the iPod touch!

Well, for one do see why one would want to do this. Before getting my iPod Touch, I had an iPaq HX4705 Windows Mobile 5 PDA with WiFi but when I docked it at work to my PC, I was still able to surf the internet on my PDA while docked to the PC. I would love to do this on the iPod so that I could run Installer APP and install more applications. Lunch time is often my only free time to do this. Then I could play the cool games I installed on my train ride home!
sramirez02 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2008, 12:07 AM   #11
Frozn1
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wetaskiwin, Alberta, Canada
I guess its impossible?
__________________
"Knowledge is not wisdom unless used wisely"
Frozn1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2008, 06:24 AM   #12
EvanLugh
macrumors 68000
 
EvanLugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Developer land
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frozn1 View Post
I guess its impossible?
Yes. Just go on ebay or best buy/Asda and spend 5 on a cheap wireless card.
__________________
Been here a long, long time.
EvanLugh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2008, 12:26 PM   #13
mojothemonkey
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Noo!

I get this on every forum that I read. People ask a simple question or want help with one thing, connecting without wifi, and all they get is "why would you want to do that? use your computer!"

I'm sure there are a multitude of reasons for other people, but I am at a no-wifi office and the only way I could ever sync my work MS-Outlook public/shared calendar and public/shared task list would be directly connected to my work internet. Without wifi, I am forced to look for a pass-through-my-desktop system. It would really make my ipod touch the ultimate organizer/datebook on top of everything else and such a minor oversight, as not allowing USB internet is ridiculous. Every other device with 1/100 the complexity of this device has had this feature.

If someone has found something since the last post here, please let me know!
mojothemonkey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2008, 07:25 PM   #14
Ocrizo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
http://alk2blog.blogspot.com/2008/08...e-via-usb.html

is this what you're refering to?
Ocrizo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2008, 06:28 AM   #15
hooplehead
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/u...02april08.mspx

OK, I want the same. I don't have a wireless router, but have a laptop with a Wireless card. Thanks to the above poster mentioning adhoc networking. I googled and got this link. I followed the instructions yesterday to a tee, and no luck. Tried several tweaks, and finally when I firewalled my ethernet connection and DISABLED firewall on the wireless, viola!

Good luck!
hooplehead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2008, 04:22 AM   #16
mi986
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Victoria, Australia
Question USB Dongle???

Ok, so I have a Windows XP SP2 desktop computer connected to a dial-up modem (i can't get broadband where i live), is there like a USB dongle that i can plug into my computer that would create enough WI-FI that I could use on my iPod (2nd gen)

YES I KNOW I COULD JUST USE THE INTERNET THROUGH MY COMPUTER, but: i had to pay for the ipod and the price included all the WI-FI components and stuff so I might as well use it or else i am getting kinda ripped off.

Do such dongles exist???
P.S. I know this may be hard to understand, but i typed it really quick :} Sorry!


MI986
--------------------
mi986.deviantart.com
ASUS Windows XP SP2 Desktop, iPod Touch 2G, and uh, a Nintendo DS Lite

Last edited by mi986; Sep 23, 2008 at 04:24 AM. Reason: Forgot a line of text
mi986 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2008, 06:07 AM   #17
dawnraid
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by mi986 View Post
Ok, so I have a Windows XP SP2 desktop computer connected to a dial-up modem (i can't get broadband where i live), is there like a USB dongle that i can plug into my computer that would create enough WI-FI that I could use on my iPod (2nd gen)

YES I KNOW I COULD JUST USE THE INTERNET THROUGH MY COMPUTER, but: i had to pay for the ipod and the price included all the WI-FI components and stuff so I might as well use it or else i am getting kinda ripped off.

Do such dongles exist???
P.S. I know this may be hard to understand, but i typed it really quick :} Sorry!


MI986
--------------------
mi986.deviantart.com
ASUS Windows XP SP2 Desktop, iPod Touch 2G, and uh, a Nintendo DS Lite
yeah any usb wifi adapter should work, 802.11b/g
just bridge the networks and it should be all good.
probably not worth while on dial up though. (whats that like 7 kb per second download)
dawnraid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2008, 04:31 AM   #18
mi986
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Victoria, Australia
Question Please Elaborate

Could be a stupid question, but:
'Bridge the networks'? What does this mean???

Oh and dial-up -- try more like 4kb per seccond lol (it sucks!)
By the way, does anyone know why you use a 56kbps modem, but stuff downloads at only 4kbps ??????


Thanx!

MI986
--------------------
mi986.deviantart.com
ASUS Windows XP SP2 Desktop, iPod Touch 2G, and uh, a Nintendo DS Lite
mi986 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2008, 07:02 AM   #19
johnnypalmera
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by mi986 View Post
By the way, does anyone know why you use a 56kbps modem, but stuff downloads at only 4kbps ??????
56 kiloBITSpersecond is roughly 7 kiloBYTESpersecond ideally, minus line noise, network overhead, etc.. you get the 4kbps.

Remember 8 bits = 1 byte!
johnnypalmera is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2008, 07:20 AM   #20
cdwmobile
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
This would help since I'm in a corp setting where everything is wired for security reasons. I have a wireless card in my machine, but IT would kill me if I shared the network.

I'm sure there is a way to do it through USB - I use to do it all the time with some older WM devices. If there isn't an app, I'm sure it can be done.
cdwmobile is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2008, 06:04 PM   #21
jbernie
macrumors 6502a
 
jbernie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Denver, CO
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdwmobile View Post
This would help since I'm in a corp setting where everything is wired for security reasons. I have a wireless card in my machine, but IT would kill me if I shared the network.
We have wireless but you need the MAC address loaded, so unless you are budy budy with someone who can do that the wireless isn't possible.
__________________
Talk is cheap, sometimes it is on sale!
ibernie.com
jbernie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2008, 03:48 AM   #22
wwi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canberra, Australia
On a semi related topic, now that the G2 iPod Touch has audio input via the headphone jack enabling VoIP with mic-enabled headphones, will there be possibility of getting one of the mobile broadband for laptops working with the Touch?
wwi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2008, 05:21 AM   #23
MrSEC
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by wwi View Post
On a semi related topic, now that the G2 iPod Touch has audio input via the headphone jack enabling VoIP with mic-enabled headphones, will there be possibility of getting one of the mobile broadband for laptops working with the Touch?
The best way (IMO) to use a broadband card with the iPod Touch is to get a USB data card through your wireless carrier and put it in one of these http://www.cradlepoint.com/

It will make a personal "wifi hotspot" in your house,or you can get a "mobile" sized model # PHS300 and take it with you and use it any where your carrier has broadband.The PHS300 has a battery built in that will let you surf for 3-4 hours.

If it wasn't for wireless broadband,I would be in dial-up hell.

Oh yeah, to answer your question about VoIP.It can be done easily IF you have a good signal to a cell tower.I found REV B EVDO to be lacking too much speed(and too much latency) for VoIP,but if you have a REVA 3G tower in your area you should be good to go.

Last edited by MrSEC; Sep 27, 2008 at 05:27 AM.
MrSEC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2009, 01:53 PM   #24
corb
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cepe Indicum View Post
I don't understand... How do you get the Internet through a USB connection without having an Internet enabled PC or Mac attached to the Touch in the first place... therefore, you might as well use the computer, no?

Sorry - might be missing your point?
Ug, yes you're missing the point.

Basically if you don't have wireless, then everything that separates the touch from an ipod is completely useless.

I really hate "I don't see why you'd do that" answers. So many people are coming to this thread to find an answer, and you've created a useless post by explaining why you - out of the thousands who want to find an answer - wouldn't use it.

I'm sorry for cluttering this forum with my response, but no matter how many threads I look for, and how many google searches I do, every answer is the same... "Why would you want to do that." Such a useless response
corb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2009, 06:16 PM   #25
sr20det91
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
easy to do wirelessly if you have a windows smartphone. download this program at www.wmwifirouter.com and turn wm 6.0 and above smartphone/pocket pc into an ad hoc wireless router. I use it everyday with my tilt and it works like a champ. Oh yeah..make sure you have an unlimited data plan.
sr20det91 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ipod Touch 5g ... not connecting to internet ... ip 169. etc Barbara-Paris iPod touch 4 May 12, 2013 04:15 AM
iPod touch 5 wifi issue Tayko iPod touch 1 Jan 14, 2013 06:25 PM
iPod Touch: connect my iPod to internet via USB, and turn it into a wifi hub? wohdin Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 6 Aug 30, 2012 01:03 PM
iPod Touch WiFi Logo pow012 iPod touch 3 Jun 9, 2012 03:46 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC