Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 5, 2003, 10:53 PM   #1
ChrisH3677
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Victoria, Australia
How do I copy a PC only CD on a Mac??

I have a TiBook with 10.2.8 on it and a SuperDrive.

I tried to copy a CD and although the copy appears the same when read in my Mac, it appears blank in a PC.

The process I followed was:

- Run Disk Copy
- Drag original CD to Disk Copy which created an image (said Ignore rather than initialize)
- Put blank CD in drive (yeah ok, i took the original out first!! )
- Clicked Burn

What'd I do wrong?!!

Also, how do I create a CD that is readable in Windows drives? I made a data CD last week only to find Windows couldn't read it.

thanks

chris
ChrisH3677 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2003, 11:12 PM   #2
Tarje
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: México
What are you doing wrong...

let's see...

how 'bout everything?

No matter how hard you try, the way you're doing it will only make Mac readable cds.

Get Roxio Toaster and when you insert the cd, Toaster will run. Make an Hybrid PC/Mac format and then you'll be able to read the cd in Windows.

I hope I made myself clear.


Greetings
Tarje is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2003, 11:15 PM   #3
ChrisH3677
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Victoria, Australia
ok.... i just discovered in the preferences i can choose the format. Changed it to MS-DOS. Still didn't work.

(I'm a switcher and I'm still not used to the application's menu bar being always at the top of the screen, so had forgotten to check the preferences)


Thanks Tarje. I guess I will have to get Toast.

ChrisH3677 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2003, 11:53 PM   #4
TMJ1974
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Send a message via AIM to TMJ1974
Toast Titanium

You need to buy Roxio's Toast Titanium, currently on versoin 6. Will work like a charm on any kind of CD :-)

It's $99, but one of the programs I've used most.

Tim
TMJ1974 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2003, 10:50 PM   #5
ChrisH3677
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Victoria, Australia
Woohoo! I found a way to do it. all i did was Duplicated the original CD (which stuck it on the desktop. I then stuck blank CD in and the dragged the files from the copy to the blank. then ejected and burnt.

it may not auto launch or work for bootable cds but should work for most.



chris
ChrisH3677 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2003, 12:30 AM   #6
Hugin777
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Copenhagen
Send a message via ICQ to Hugin777 Send a message via AIM to Hugin777
Disk Copy -> New Image From Device

Have you tried opening Disk Copy and selecting New -> Image from device ?

I used it for taking a backup of my (bootable) Panther install cd's. Worked perfectly.

In Panther just select the device in Disk Utility and select New -> Image from disk1.
Hugin777 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Copy cloud backup (from copy.com) and CPU usage PeterSmith Mac Basics and Help 2 May 21, 2014 06:46 AM
How to Copy iMessages from Mac to Mac drizzzt OS X Mavericks (10.9) 4 Dec 3, 2013 05:21 AM
Copy Itunes from PC to Mac Jmacj Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Nov 1, 2012 12:15 AM
Mac OS Poor File Copy TrackZ OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Sep 9, 2012 05:17 PM
copy cd collection to mac jwjsr Digital Audio 5 Jul 15, 2012 10:28 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC