Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 10, 2003, 03:41 PM   #1
chaz50
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New York, New York
G3 All in one Problems Booting Jaguar Install Disc

I have been trying everything possible to install Jaguar on my G3 AIO (500 MH with three 256M DIMMS and USB/Fireware PCI card). I have read elsewhere that others have successfully performed this operation. The internal HD is only 4G, however, I don't anticipate running much software from this unit and using as a "server" for some of my still very usable SCSI peripherals and as a USB printer sharer. Whenever I try to startup using the install disc the gray bitten apple logo appears together with the revolving bar. After a few seconds the screen garbles a bit and then freezes. I would appreciate any help that anyone might have. (NOTE: I have tried to use the Xpostfacto utility, along with removing the PCI card and extraneous RAM, none of which actions have been effective.)
chaz50 is offline   0
Old Nov 10, 2003, 04:24 PM   #2
LimeLite
macrumors 6502a
 
LimeLite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Send a message via AIM to LimeLite
Why are you installing Jaguar? Is the system in question even supported? If it is, it only barely is. I'd reconsider it, probably not worth it.
LimeLite is offline   0
Old Nov 10, 2003, 05:28 PM   #3
Makosuke
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Cool Part of CA, USA
Hey, a little in-house server is a perfectly legit reason to install X on a barely supported system.

And although it's pushing it, the AIOs are indeed supported by Jaguar (not Panther, though). I've gotten Jaguar running on a beige G3 266, which are the same age as the AIOs and share most of the same components, so it certainly should work if you've pulled everything that didn't originally come with it out and disconnected all the peripherals other than the keyboard and the mouse.

Do you have enough RAM, out of curiosity? I don't know what OSX does in extreme low RAm situations, but I don't imagine it's pretty.

Nothing else I can think of other than there's a hardware problem that 9 is forgiving of but X can't handle. You could zap the pram or replace the motherboard battery to see if that helps.
Makosuke is offline   0
Old Nov 10, 2003, 06:23 PM   #4
chaz50
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New York, New York
I've zapped the PRAM many, many times all to no avail. I have seen the battery suggestion in other threads (replace the battery even though it seems to be working just fine, i.e. not forgetting the time when powered down). Is it possible that the internal CD Rom drive is too slow to load boot sequence fast enough. Is there any way to get around the requirement that the install CD must be the boot drive?
chaz50 is offline   0
Old Nov 10, 2003, 08:38 PM   #5
applemacdude
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Over The Rainbow
Send a message via ICQ to applemacdude Send a message via AIM to applemacdude Send a message via MSN to applemacdude Send a message via Yahoo to applemacdude Send a message via Skype™ to applemacdude
I would say try getting a bigger hard drive...
applemacdude is offline   0
Old Nov 11, 2003, 01:13 AM   #6
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
I think the AIOs needed a firmware update in order to run Jaguar.

Edit: Also, I just found this:

Quote:
You can only boot OS X from a "master" drive in the beige G3. This applies to hard drives and CD-ROM drives. If the CD-ROM is set to slave, you will not be able to install OS_X. If the hard drive is set to slave, you will not be able to boot from it.
Nermal is offline   0
Old Nov 11, 2003, 11:32 AM   #7
Horrortaxi
macrumors 68020
 
Horrortaxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally posted by LimeLite
Why are you installing Jaguar? Is the system in question even supported? If it is, it only barely is. I'd reconsider it, probably not worth it.
It'll run it just fine. I run Jaguar on 2 of these, which are even slower than chaz50's. No problems at all.

I don't know about a firmware upgrade on these--I didn't do one.

If you have another Mac you can swap in your AIO's hard drive, install Jaguar, then put everything back. That should work.

EDIT: I'd suggest a new hard drive. I don't know if that's causing your install problems, but the old one is slow and old.
Horrortaxi is offline   0
Old Nov 11, 2003, 09:42 PM   #8
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
It might've been a different model that needed the firmware upgrade. I thought it was the all-in-one, but maybe not. But check that the CD drive is secondary master, not slave.
Nermal is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems Booting From a Snow Leopard Disc JohnDev OS X 5 Jan 21, 2014 03:15 PM
Help Booting from a Disc with Wifi ZmyDust MacBook Pro 2 Oct 18, 2013 09:06 PM
MBP not booting from install disc debaserrr MacBook Pro 3 Apr 12, 2013 06:38 PM
Need help on booting from install disc Black Diesel iMac 5 Oct 21, 2012 02:49 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC