Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 11, 2003, 10:52 PM   #1
jaw04005
macrumors 601
 
jaw04005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: AR
My Computer Thinks I'm In the UK

The craziest thing is happening with my iMac. Every website I visit that is international, seems to always direct me to UK technical support or information (like Apple.Com & Powershot.Com). I'm in the US, and I can't figure out why this keeps happening. Also, lately software I have tried to install has always highlighted that i'm in UK/Japan, and I have to choose the bullet that says North America/United States, etc. I can't figure this out, in my international preference panel I'm set to US dollars/US Region/etc. Anyone have any ideas?
jaw04005 is offline   0
Old Nov 11, 2003, 11:57 PM   #2
wr0x2
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Have you done anything unusual lately? The web redirect thing sounds like an ISP issue, although everything else is definatly on your system. Try to think of anything you've installed lately that might be doing this.
wr0x2 is offline   0
Old Nov 12, 2003, 12:26 AM   #3
evil
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: chicago ex-toronto
sorry, but that is pretty funny.

and i have no suggestions either.
evil is offline   0
Old Nov 12, 2003, 12:30 AM   #4
SilentPanda
Moderator emeritus
 
SilentPanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Bamboo Forest
Re: My Computer Thinks I'm In the UK

Quote:
Originally posted by joshuawaire
The craziest thing is happening with my iMac. Every website I visit that is international, seems to always direct me to UK technical support or information (like Apple.Com & Powershot.Com). I'm in the US, and I can't figure out why this keeps happening. Also, lately software I have tried to install has always highlighted that i'm in UK/Japan, and I have to choose the bullet that says North America/United States, etc. I can't figure this out, in my international preference panel I'm set to US dollars/US Region/etc. Anyone have any ideas?
Computers are generally right. Therefore you are probably not in the US.



Did you buy the iMac from somebody overseas? I dunno if the "region" is hardcoded into the machine or not. Although I doubt the website could even access that. It's probably an issue with your ISP more so than with your Mac. I'd contact your ISP and nicely ask them to look into the situation. It may very well not be there fault. But I know a lot of "web tracking" software tries to determine the location of the visitors. The code may just be determining you're somewhere you're not... ask the ISP tech support to check a specific site that you are having a problem with. If you're having the problem, they will probably have it to if it's their issue.
__________________
My 24 hour web cam! ʕノᴥʔノ ︵ ┻━┻
And remember.
SilentPanda is offline   0
Old Nov 12, 2003, 12:41 AM   #5
manitoubalck
Banned
 
manitoubalck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Adelaide, Australia
My computer Thinks I live in Austria, I selected the wrong country while installing WinXP.
manitoubalck is offline   0
Old Nov 12, 2003, 12:55 AM   #6
Powerbook G5
macrumors 68040
 
Powerbook G5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: St Augustine, FL
Send a message via AIM to Powerbook G5 Send a message via Yahoo to Powerbook G5
Reminds me of a shirt I saw once at a tourist area in Austria, "Austria: The country without kangaroos".
__________________
iMac, therefore, iAm.
Powerbook G5 is offline   0
Old Nov 13, 2003, 10:41 AM   #7
fukuhela
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Scandinavia
Send a message via AIM to fukuhela
Quote:
Computers are generally right. Therefore you are probably not in the US.
That's just funny - all I can say: FUNNY. But nevertheless I think you're right
__________________
iMac i7, 2.8 GHz, 4 GB RAM, 1 TB HD; MacBook Pro CD 2.0; iPhone 3GS
fukuhela is offline   0
Old Nov 13, 2003, 10:58 AM   #8
jxyama
macrumors 68040
 
jxyama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
1) check your cookies. a lot of preferences are stored there.

2) is your system set to the U.S.? change "international" and "date&time" in sys. pref. back to normal places..?

i'd imagine wiping your cookies may solve some of the problems...

for others, i don't know how to deal with it, but your OS must have been installed as to be used in the U.K. i noticed that when i started up my new eMac, it asked for locality. (this was independent of later adjustments in internationalization... you could be a Japanese speaker living in the U.S., like me. the correct thing to do was install panther with locality U.S. then adjust your language setting to primarily Japanese. if you install panther with locality Japan, then the machine will think it's physically in Japan...) i know clean install should get rid of this problem, but there must be another way without wiping your entire drive... so if you contact your ISP and there's nothing wrong, i'd go look around in Apple Knowledge base..

Last edited by jxyama; Nov 13, 2003 at 11:03 AM.
jxyama is offline   0
Old Nov 13, 2003, 03:35 PM   #9
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
Even though I have my "region" set to Australia (because there's no option for NZ ), it thinks I'm in the UK because I've selected British English as my language. Check what your language is set to.
Nermal is offline   0
Old Nov 13, 2003, 09:49 PM   #10
realityisterror
macrumors 65816
 
realityisterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Snellville, GA
Send a message via AIM to realityisterror
have you checked your own individual address card entry
you can use that to auto-fill forms so maybe the website is somehow accessing it...
not likely, but worth a try
reality
realityisterror is offline   0
Old Nov 14, 2003, 06:59 AM   #11
CrackedButter
macrumors 68040
 
CrackedButter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 51st State of America
Why not just move to the UK, isn't that simpler?
__________________
"Absorb what is useful, Discard what is not, Add what is uniquely your own" - Bruce Lee
http://jonathanjk.com
CrackedButter is offline   0
Old Nov 14, 2003, 09:36 AM   #12
colocolo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Santiago, Chile
As long as your car doesn't think your'e in the UK and starts shifting to the wrong lane... I think you're safe.
colocolo is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All iPads: Am I the only one who thinks that the original iPad NeoiPad iPad 12 Nov 14, 2013 09:01 AM
Apple thinks the 5c is their best phone starry-knight iPhone 72 Sep 30, 2013 01:44 PM
Am I the only one who thinks the 5C is a downgrade? Radiating iPhone 73 Sep 22, 2013 11:39 PM
UK MacBook Air thinks its in the US RichyB MacBook Air 4 Dec 17, 2012 09:52 AM
Who thinks the next iPhone will be USB-3? Gjwilly iPhone 16 Jun 21, 2012 10:39 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC