Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 14, 2003, 03:29 AM   #1
swoolf
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
IP over Firewire 800

Hi again -

Yesterday I started a post to discuss the merits and shortcomings of using a gigabit ethernet network for digital video storage.

On a similar note, I read tonight that Firewire 800 supports up to 100 meters of cabling! Amazing.

So here's a question -- getting creative for a moment, is it possible to network multiple computers to each other, or to an external Firewire 800 drive, using IP over firewire? Is that nuts?

I haven't researched hubs or switches that might accomplish this, nor looked at cable prices, but given the amazing cable length supported through FW800, it's an intriguing thought. I imagine that it could be a technical nightmare if things start going wrong.

Love to hear any input on it.

Thanks,

Steve
swoolf is offline   0
Old Nov 14, 2003, 07:44 AM   #2
MisterMe
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
Re: IP over Firewire 800

Quote:
Originally posted by swoolf
Hi again -

Yesterday I started a post to discuss the merits and shortcomings of using a gigabit ethernet network for digital video storage.

On a similar note, I read tonight that Firewire 800 supports up to 100 meters of cabling! Amazing.

So here's a question -- getting creative for a moment, is it possible to network multiple computers to each other, or to an external Firewire 800 drive, using IP over firewire? Is that nuts?

I haven't researched hubs or switches that might accomplish this, nor looked at cable prices, but given the amazing cable length supported through FW800, it's an intriguing thought. I imagine that it could be a technical nightmare if things start going wrong.

Love to hear any input on it.

Thanks,

Steve
Apple developed IP over Firewire. However, I am unaware of a shipping product that uses it.
MisterMe is offline   0
Old Nov 14, 2003, 08:38 AM   #3
krhodus
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Dublin, OH
if you are a member of ADC, you can download it off the member site.
Kevin
krhodus is offline   0
Old Nov 14, 2003, 02:48 PM   #4
wrc fan
macrumors 65816
 
wrc fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a world where LPs are made like pancakes
Quote:
Originally posted by krhodus
if you are a member of ADC, you can download it off the member site.
Kevin
Or if you have 10.3 it's already installed. If it doesn't show up, choose "Network Port Configurations" from the drop down list, click the "New..." button, and from the Port drop down list choose "Built-in FireWire".

Although I am not sure about FireWire 800 vs. Gigabit, I tested FireWire 400 vs. 100baseTX (using 10.2 and the beta IP over FireWire driver), and 100baseTX was always faster.
wrc fan is offline   0
Old Nov 14, 2003, 03:01 PM   #5
yamabushi
macrumors 65816
 
yamabushi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Several years ago NEC created a small program that enables IP over Firewire400 under Win98SE.
yamabushi is offline   0
Old Nov 15, 2003, 12:08 AM   #6
Nicky G
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Baltimore & NYC
It's things like integrated firewire networking in 10.3 that you notice left and right that make me wonder what kind of crack folks are smoking who say it's not worth the upgrade price...
Nicky G is offline   0
Old Nov 15, 2003, 12:28 AM   #7
Sol
macrumors 65832
 
Sol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Australia
Send a message via Skype™ to Sol
Re: IP over Firewire 800

Quote:
Originally posted by swoolf
I read tonight that Firewire 800 supports up to 100 meters of cabling! Amazing.
I read this too but I have yet to see any FireWire cables with that much lenght. Does anyone know where these supposed 100 m. cables can be purchased?

As for the original question, I think that the only way to share the external FireWire drive is by plugging into a networked computer.
__________________
DOWN WITH BIG BROTHER
Sol is offline   0
Old Nov 15, 2003, 10:26 AM   #8
Nicky G
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Baltimore & NYC
I believe the 100m(?) spec is using optical cable. Seems difficult to find, however. I bet it can be obtained.
Nicky G is offline   0
Old Nov 15, 2003, 10:36 AM   #9
iJon
macrumors 604
 
iJon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Re: Re: IP over Firewire 800

Quote:
Originally posted by MisterMe
Apple developed IP over Firewire. However, I am unaware of a shipping product that uses it.
apple didnt invent it, they hopped on the bandwagon about 2 years after windows had it.

iJon
iJon is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firewire 800 to usb archdelux Mac Peripherals 12 Jan 10, 2014 07:13 AM
Firewire 800 RAID 0 gibkibonzo Mac Peripherals 6 May 31, 2013 03:22 AM
Can't see FireWire 800 port iTundra Mac Pro 8 Feb 15, 2013 08:36 PM
FireWire 800 or 400 and what to get DeafRaiders Buying Tips and Advice 5 Dec 24, 2012 09:49 AM
USB 3.0 vs. Firewire 800 afurry13 Wasteland 44 Jul 10, 2012 05:36 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC