Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 24, 2008, 07:22 PM   #1
thiagos
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NYC (Manhattan)
iMac & AppleTV are driving me crazy. How to disable the remote control on my iMac?

Hello, I am not sure if anyone else is experiencing this issue but I have my iMac in the same room as my AppleTV and everytime I use my AppleTV, my iMac activates the Front Row feature.
It is seriously driving me crazy, I have tried everything and I can't seem to fix this issue.

What should I do?

Thanks in advance.
__________________
Proud New Yorker
thiagos is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2008, 07:29 PM   #2
harry454
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
hold menu, forward, on the remote for 6 seconds while pointing it at the iMac hope it helps
__________________
15" Retina MBP/2.6 Ghz i7/16 GB Ram/512 GB SSD
2TB Dual Band Time Capsule
Bluetooth Keyboard, Magic Trackpad
iPhone 5S Grey 32 GB Unlocked | Retina iPad Mini 64GB Wifi/4g |
harry454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2008, 07:31 PM   #3
thiagos
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NYC (Manhattan)
Hi Harry. I tried holding Menu+Rewind+Forward for 6 seconds. It did not work. Is that the only option?
Thanks
__________________
Proud New Yorker
thiagos is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2008, 08:07 PM   #4
kayle12
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by thiagos View Post
Hi Harry. I tried holding Menu+Rewind+Forward for 6 seconds. It did not work. Is that the only option?
Thanks
You tried this and nothing happens??

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1619

It should work...I hope. I know what your problems are...it did the same for me until I paired as well.
kayle12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2008, 08:11 PM   #5
thiagos
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NYC (Manhattan)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kayle12 View Post
You tried this and nothing happens??

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1619

It should work...I hope. I know what your problems are...it did the same for me until I paired as well.
Thank you so much for that link, that's what I was looking for....It works now..
__________________
Proud New Yorker
thiagos is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2008, 08:17 PM   #6
JBmac
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Eastern, PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by thiagos View Post
Hello, I am not sure if anyone else is experiencing this issue but I have my iMac in the same room as my AppleTV and everytime I use my AppleTV, my iMac activates the Front Row feature.
It is seriously driving me crazy, I have tried everything and I can't seem to fix this issue.

What should I do?

Thanks in advance.
Hello, my Apple remotes were also working with my Air Conditioner. I had to put a piece of electrical tape over the ir sensor. I imagine you don't want to do that except as a last resort. Have you tried pairing the specific remotes with a specific device?
JBmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2010, 09:59 AM   #7
josha
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Thanks

Thanks I followed the link and it worked!

iMac 21" i3, 500gb , iPad 64Gb, iPhone 3G S 32gb, Apple tv.... Saving for Air 13"
josha is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2010, 10:25 AM   #8
George Knighton
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Send a message via AIM to George Knighton
Quote:
Originally Posted by JBmac View Post
Hello, my Apple remotes were also working with my Air Conditioner.
Now...that's bordering on hilarious.
__________________
Too many Apple products to list.
George Knighton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2010, 02:24 PM   #9
tc3jg
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Ok I think I have the same problem but it didnt work for me. I have one of the new aluminum remotes that came with my apple TV. I would like to use it just for the tv so I paired it with the apple TV. Now the issue is the remote will work with the imac and the apple TV. I dont want it to work with the computer. So I tried to take my old white plastic iremote that came with my old macbook and pair it with the imac so that the imac didnt work off of the aluminum remote. That didnt work.

THe apple tv will only work off of the aluminum remote that it is paired with and will not work with the white remote which is what I want. But I want the imac to stop working with the apple tv remote and just work with the white remote or for that matter No remote would be fine. ideas?
tc3jg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2010, 03:05 PM   #10
chris650
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
so easy... go to system preference... security and disable IR....
chris650 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2010, 05:08 PM   #11
tc3jg
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris650 View Post
so easy... go to system preference... security and disable IR....
awesome man thanks
tc3jg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2010, 01:14 AM   #12
MacHamster68
macrumors 68040
 
MacHamster68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
reminds me many years ago when i bought my very first wireless keyboard and mouse , it drove me insane , because as soon a my neighbour was starting to use HIS new mouse and keyboard my mouse went crazy jumping and clicking all over the place and the keyboard was writing without me even near it and he had the same problem
__________________
DANGER POST MAY CONTAIN SARCASM
Intelligence does not need Intel inside,
All it needs is good sense outside.
MacHamster68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2011, 09:19 PM   #13
maw4bc
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris650 View Post
so easy... go to system preference... security and disable IR....
a life saver. oh and the search feature on the forums. i love the internet
maw4bc is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to watch the superbowl online on mbp/imac?? ipad3g iMac 3 Feb 6, 2011 06:57 AM
how to use the ps3 controller on leapord ?? bo-waleed Mac and PC Games 15 Sep 14, 2010 01:45 PM
I have an idea on how to make the PS3 work on an iMac... thiagos iMac 2 Dec 31, 2009 03:07 AM
URGENT: Is it safe to block the bottom ports on my iMac? MacPen iMac 6 Jul 3, 2008 02:59 AM
How to disable the 'breathing' light on my PB? Bruce Lee, PhD Macintosh Computers 43 Aug 12, 2004 02:39 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC