Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 7, 2008, 07:03 PM   #1
verygood85
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
What firewire interface should I buy?

I am going to buy my first firewire interface. I have a macbook pro with 2.5GHz, and I have Logic Pro now. I am going to buy Pro Tools LE later.
I was considering M-Audio 1814 because it can work with Logic and Pro Tools. However, I heard that 1814 crases many people's computer, so I don't think I will buy it.
I heard Motu 8 pre is a good one, but it can't work on Pro Tools.
Pro Tools can only work with Digidesign hardware and some M-Audio hardware for recording. However, is there any other ones can also work with Pro Tools?
Can Digidesign hardware like 003 rack work with other recording software such as Logic Pro?

I am looking for a good firewire interface with at least 8 inputs and 2 or more outputs that can work with Logic Pro and Pro Tools. However, I know there might not be one, so any other suggestions would be good too.
My budget is kind of small, but I will consider the ones that are not in my budget range if I have to do it in order to get what I want.

By the way, what about RME 400 or 800?
Their review are good, but a little too expensive...

But RME 800 can only record 4 mics at a time, isn't it?
What if I want more mic inputs?

Last edited by verygood85; Jun 9, 2008 at 01:28 AM.
verygood85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2008, 09:49 PM   #2
steelphantom
macrumors 6502a
 
steelphantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Why do you want to switch to Pro Tools? Are you going to be collaborating with other people that use it? Also, how many tracks will you be recording at once? Some interfaces can only record 2 tracks simultaneously, others 4, and others (like the MOTU 8pre) can record 8 tracks at once. The 8pre is a solid unit, and if you pair it up with Logic Pro, you'll have a great combination of hardware and software.
steelphantom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2008, 12:50 AM   #3
zimv20
macrumors 601
 
zimv20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by verygood85 View Post
Can Digidesign hardware like 003 rack work with other recording software such as Logic Pro?
yes.

Quote:
I am looking for a good firewire interface with at least 8 inputs and 2 or more outputs that can work with Logic Pro and Pro Tools.
then you're looking at the 003, assuming you want to run the LE version of PT.


why do you need both DAWs? it'd be easier to pick one and go with it.
__________________
Oct 2011: check out my band's first album @ boxsetauthentic.com
zimv20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2008, 04:18 AM   #4
verygood85
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by steelphantom View Post
Why do you want to switch to Pro Tools? Are you going to be collaborating with other people that use it? Also, how many tracks will you be recording at once? Some interfaces can only record 2 tracks simultaneously, others 4, and others (like the MOTU 8pre) can record 8 tracks at once. The 8pre is a solid unit, and if you pair it up with Logic Pro, you'll have a great combination of hardware and software.
I'm using logic for myself now, but Pro Tools is more like the industry standard, so I wanna be familiar with it in case I will need to use it in other studios in the industry. Even though, I don't need the that many tracks for now, but I might record something in live later. I think I would still wanna do most things on Logic, and Pro Tools LE will just for practicing using Pro Tools.
Is Motu 8 pre better than 003 rack?
verygood85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2008, 04:05 PM   #5
verygood85
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
By the way, what about RME 400 or 800?
Their review are good, but a little too expensive...
verygood85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2008, 06:03 PM   #6
DJJONES
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newengland usa!
they are awesome cards.
if i was in your position i would snatch one those up over a motu.

also like what everyone else said
choose 1 daw and stick to it.

unless your doing work in multiple daws then get pro tools.
__________________
Macbook Pro 2.4ghz Penryn
Iphone 8gb
Video Ipod 60gb
DJJONES is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2008, 06:22 PM   #7
zimv20
macrumors 601
 
zimv20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by verygood85 View Post
Pro Tools LE will just for practicing using Pro Tools.
instead of getting digi hardware as your sole piece, you can buy one of the mbox's. i love the PT software, but i think the hardware is overpriced for what you get.

if Logic is your main DAW, spend your hardware money on something better like on RME, Metric Halo, or Apogee.
__________________
Oct 2011: check out my band's first album @ boxsetauthentic.com
zimv20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2008, 07:16 PM   #8
DJJONES
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newengland usa!
Quote:
Originally Posted by zimv20 View Post
i love the PT software, but i think the hardware is overpriced for what you get.
so true i agree

Quote:
Originally Posted by zimv20 View Post
if Logic is your main DAW, spend your hardware money on something better like on RME, Metric Halo, or Apogee.
APOGEE
i would go with apogee if your never going to use your interface on a windows machine.
if your gonna use windows and osx then rme.
__________________
Macbook Pro 2.4ghz Penryn
Iphone 8gb
Video Ipod 60gb
DJJONES is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2008, 01:29 AM   #9
verygood85
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJJONES View Post
they are awesome cards.
if i was in your position i would snatch one those up over a motu.

also like what everyone else said
choose 1 daw and stick to it.

unless your doing work in multiple daws then get pro tools.
Are you talking about RME?
verygood85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2008, 01:33 AM   #10
verygood85
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJJONES View Post
so true i agree



APOGEE
i would go with apogee if your never going to use your interface on a windows machine.
if your gonna use windows and osx then rme.
Are you talking about any particular model?
verygood85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2008, 01:45 AM   #11
verygood85
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by zimv20 View Post
instead of getting digi hardware as your sole piece, you can buy one of the mbox's. i love the PT software, but i think the hardware is overpriced for what you get.

if Logic is your main DAW, spend your hardware money on something better like on RME, Metric Halo, or Apogee.
Good idea!
Actually, I don't know every single detail of the product description. That's part of the reason I strugge with to buy.
But which ones has more mic inputs?
Is it better to invest a lot of money on the very first one?
verygood85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thunderbolt to Firewire adaptor using Apogee Duet interface cloudig MacBook Pro 1 Jan 8, 2014 11:21 AM
Problem with Macbook Pro Retina, Firewire Interface and Ableton Live metamatic Digital Audio 2 Jul 1, 2013 10:50 AM
New audio interface: USB2 vs Firewire (or wait for USB3)? 7enderbender Digital Audio 17 Dec 9, 2012 10:22 AM
Audio In through soundcard Versus External USB/Firewire Interface aiterum Digital Audio 0 Nov 21, 2012 06:51 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC