Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

kenyabob

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 13, 2003
San Francisco
Is there a site out there that showcases cool and new sites, things to get peoples minds going about design and what not. a site similar to flashkits showcase of best flash usage?

sonofslim

macrumors 6502a
Jun 6, 2003
there's Kaliber 10000 ...although they're a little too "designey" for me.

that probably doesn't make any sense, but in my head i know just what i mean.

tomf87

macrumors 65816
Sep 10, 2003
Originally posted by mnkeybsness
i wouldn't trust any site that relies on frames.

Can you explain why?

I had one of our web designers say something similar, and not being a web designer, I have no idea why he thinks that..

Tom

Rower_CPU

Moderator emeritus
Oct 5, 2001
San Diego, CA
Frames are a deprecated mode of page design among designers who wish to enhance accessibility, usability, search engine optimization, page bookmarking/linking, document management, to name a few.

They have certain advantages, but there are means of providing the same or similar functionality without having framesets (PHP/server-side includes, for example).

sonofslim

macrumors 6502a
Jun 6, 2003
in a nutshell, frames violate the Keep It Simple, Stupid principle. which, in the world of web design, actually has a significant effect by way of site performance & rankings.

radhak

macrumors regular
Aug 28, 2003
NJ, USA
Originally posted by Rower_CPU
Frames are a deprecated mode of page design among designers who wish to enhance accessibility, usability, search engine optimization, page bookmarking/linking, document management, to name a few.

They have certain advantages, but there are means of providing the same or similar functionality without having framesets (PHP/server-side includes, for example).