Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 26, 2008, 08:59 AM   #1
markfc
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Prestatyn, Wales, UK
Send a message via ICQ to markfc Send a message via AIM to markfc Send a message via MSN to markfc Send a message via Skype™ to markfc
8 Core Handbrake Encoding...

Ha Ha, just had our new Dell Poweredge Server in.

Dual Quad Core 2.0ghz...

Thought I'd have a play encoding some movies on it!!!

It's a little bit faster than my iMac.... ;-)

I'm now tempted to get a Mac Pro....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 1.png
Views:	801
Size:	57.7 KB
ID:	121309  

Last edited by markfc; Jun 26, 2008 at 09:19 AM.
markfc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2008, 09:09 AM   #2
TheSpaz
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Umm.... no.
TheSpaz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2008, 09:40 AM   #3
AliensAreFuzzy
macrumors 68000
 
AliensAreFuzzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Send a message via AIM to AliensAreFuzzy
No way you're even close to using all of you processing power. You should pull up task manager and look at the processor utilization
AliensAreFuzzy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2008, 09:43 AM   #4
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
I get 65-80 fps for the AppleTV preset on my Q6600.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / GTX 970 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2008, 11:21 AM   #5
bacaramac
macrumors 65816
 
bacaramac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
I thought I had read about six months ago on either MacRumors or the Handbrake forums that quad core will use 100% and 8 core will only use 70% of all the processors.

Someone was commenting that it was nice to encode and still have plenty of processor power left for other tasks on their 8 core Mac Pro.
__________________
iMac 27" 3.06Ghz 2TB Time Capsule and AP Express Current Gen AppleTV x 3 iPhone 5s Space Gray 16Gb iPod Touch 4th Gen White iPad mini White/Silver 16GB WiFi
bacaramac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2008, 11:23 AM   #6
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by bacaramac View Post
Someone was commenting that it was nice to encode and still have plenty of processor power left for other tasks on their 8 core Mac Pro.
Like running another instance of Handbrake?
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / GTX 970 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2008, 12:38 PM   #7
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Exactly, HB is most optimized for up to a four core processor, realize that not all of the encoders are as optimized as others. x264 is the most optimized and multi threaded. The muxers are not multithreaded at all so the muxing phase will be slower, also the deinterlacers have crappy optimization so if your deinterlacing that is your bottleneck.

eddyg, one of the HB devs that has an eight core can get better speeds using two instances of HB. Also remember, do not interlace unless you have to.
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2008, 01:30 PM   #8
Andrew Henry
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by markfc View Post
Ha Ha, just had our new Dell Poweredge Server in.

Dual Quad Core 2.0ghz...

Thought I'd have a play encoding some movies on it!!!

It's a little bit faster than my iMac.... ;-)

I'm now tempted to get a Mac Pro....
What are the rest of the machine specs? Ram? HDD ? etc.

I have a spare Dual - Dual Core 2.0ghz Opteron server with 4gb ram, 160gb 7200rpm SATA drive etc. I may use to do some encoding.
__________________
MacBook Air 1.86GHZ/2GB/128SSD
iPhone 4 32GB
iPad 16GB WiFi
Andrew Henry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2008, 02:55 PM   #9
cohibadad
macrumors 6502a
 
cohibadad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
With one instance of HB on my octo MP I get 100-120 fps using CQ 65% VFR on and I can use the computer for all other needs without any hiccup. I'm afraid to peg the meters with two instances.
cohibadad is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2008, 03:01 PM   #10
markfc
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Prestatyn, Wales, UK
Send a message via ICQ to markfc Send a message via AIM to markfc Send a message via MSN to markfc Send a message via Skype™ to markfc
[QUOTE=Andrew Henry;5660685]What are the rest of the machine specs? Ram? HDD ? etc.

It has 8gb Ram
2 x 73gb 15k SAS Raid 1 Boot Boot
2 x 73gb 15k SAS Raid 1 Log Drive
4 x 146gb 15k SAS Raid 10 Data Drive
2 x 300gb 15k SAS Raid 1 Backup Drive
Intel Pro 1000/F Fibre Network Card
markfc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2008, 03:04 PM   #11
netdog
macrumors 603
 
netdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: London
Handbrake uses multiple processors?
__________________
We don't see the world as it is. We see it as we are. -Anais Nin
Classical Homeopath and Naturopathic Doctor in London
netdog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2008, 09:04 PM   #12
bamf
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eidorian View Post
I get 65-80 fps for the AppleTV preset on my Q6600.
Encoding on a Q6600 is nice...
__________________
2011 15" i7 160GB Intel SSD 320 and 640GB Optibay
2010 MBA 13.3" 4GB 128GB Flash, 2010 Mini C2D 2.4, 2009 Mini Server
2008 Mac Pro 2 x 3.0
iPhone 5 32GB Black; RiPad 32GB Wifi; 2 x ATV 2.0
bamf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2008, 01:16 AM   #13
Kurfer
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
My mac pro 2.4 8-core is getting around 181fps average for handbrake encodes. Loving it so far!
Kurfer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2008, 06:48 AM   #14
eXan
macrumors 601
 
eXan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Russia
Send a message via ICQ to eXan Send a message via AIM to eXan Send a message via Skype™ to eXan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurfer View Post
My mac pro 2.4 8-core is getting around 181fps average for handbrake encodes. Loving it so far!
Where did you get a 2.4 Mac Pro?
__________________
My WoW videos
13" Retina MacBook Pro 2.4 GHz | 8 GB | 256 GB | Intel Iris
eXan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2008, 10:03 AM   #15
Cave Man
macrumors 604
 
Cave Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldorf
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXan View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurfer View Post
My mac pro 2.4 8-core is getting around 181fps average for handbrake encodes. Loving it so far!
Where did you get a 2.4 Mac Pro?
She doesn't. She just likes to make things up.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini; i5 Quad Core ITX Hackintosh with Blu-ray playback HTPC; 1 TB eSATA Apple TV; 3.8 gHz i7 Quad Core Hackintosh, 2GB HD5870; MacBook Pro i7; MacBook Air; iPhone 4s; 1st Mac=Centris 610
Cave Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2008, 11:18 AM   #16
Kurfer
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXan View Post
Where did you get a 2.4 Mac Pro?
Sorry I meant to say 2.8ghz.
Kurfer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2008, 11:19 AM   #17
Kurfer
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cave Man View Post
She doesn't. She just likes to make things up.
What the **** is your deal? You're the angriest little message board warrior I have ever seen!
Kurfer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2008, 11:25 AM   #18
Cave Man
macrumors 604
 
Cave Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldorf
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurfer View Post
What the **** is your deal? You're the angriest little message board warrior I have ever seen!
Well, if you were a little more experienced in these forums you'd understand that not only am I quite helpful to others when I can be, but that I also don't like people with poor manners, such as yourself.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini; i5 Quad Core ITX Hackintosh with Blu-ray playback HTPC; 1 TB eSATA Apple TV; 3.8 gHz i7 Quad Core Hackintosh, 2GB HD5870; MacBook Pro i7; MacBook Air; iPhone 4s; 1st Mac=Centris 610
Cave Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2008, 11:32 AM   #19
Kurfer
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cave Man View Post
Well, if you were a little more experienced in these forums you'd understand that not only am I quite helpful to others when I can be, but that I also don't like people with poor manners, such as yourself.
Wow you're one tough internet dude! I bet you roll your cigarettes up in your sleeve!
Kurfer is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Handbrake encoding Problem teobilly Mac Applications and Mac App Store 5 Jun 15, 2014 01:21 PM
Help: Handbrake Cutting Off MP4 Encoding ser968 Apple TV and Home Theater 8 Apr 12, 2014 10:01 AM
Handbrake encoding audio pitch Elho Apple TV and Home Theater 8 Dec 15, 2013 11:28 AM
Handbrake encoding Blu-Ray iOrbit Apple TV and Home Theater 7 Sep 17, 2012 05:23 PM
Handbrake encoding Mac User 8295 Apple TV and Home Theater 3 Jul 18, 2012 01:34 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC