Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 3, 2008, 12:41 AM   #1
aggiebas09
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Just got a G5! Suggestions?

So I recently got a G5 (dual 2.0ghz powerpc processors) and it's awesome! I never owned a Mac before and I have to say I'm loving every bit of it. The machine runs great and I haven't run into any problems at all. I just recently installed OS X 10.5.4 Leopard too.

But I'm doubting how long I'd be able to actually use this machine. It's already probably about 4 years old from what research I've done and since Apple has switched over to Intel processors I'm concerned about compatibility down the line (Spore already doesn't run on PowerPC's ). So is there a way to keep this machine from becoming outdated and left in the dust?
aggiebas09 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2008, 01:04 AM   #2
rockinrocker
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
i don't think there's really much you can do.

use it while you can.
__________________
MBP 2011 15" - Mac Mini 2011 2.3
Mac Pro '08 - iP5 - iPad 3
rockinrocker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2008, 09:00 AM   #3
SmurfBoxMasta
macrumors 65816
 
SmurfBoxMasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: If you come into the forest really late at night, I might tell you...or nOt :)
 
Macs last considerably longer than peecees, so don't worry about it and just use it 'till it dies Don't bother looking for cpu upgrades as they don't exist.
Just stuff it full of ram and big, fast HDD's and be happy !

My QS is way older than your G5 and still does everything I need it to do. Granted it may not be as fast as some newer machines, but stability & reliability are WAY more important, at least to me anyways!

As you are obviously aware of already, games never have been a high priority for macs........some thought that would change drastically with the switch to intel processors, but I still have my doubts
__________________
Please don't judge me...I was created to be AWESOME, not perfect

Last edited by SmurfBoxMasta; Sep 3, 2008 at 09:06 AM.
SmurfBoxMasta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2008, 09:24 AM   #4
Kosh66
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
If you're looking at game compatibility, then, unlike what the previous poster said, no amount of RAM is going to help. Like the PC world, if you want to run games well, you have to stay current. As you've already seen you won't be able to run SPORE, because if memory serves me, SPORE isn't really being portedto the Mac, it's being wrapped in Cider. Basically it's still a PC game, that's the reason for requiring an Intel machine.
__________________
MacPro 2x3.0, 4GB RAM, 150GB & 500GB HDs, X1900XT, Airport & Bluetooth
PowerMac G5, 2GB RAM, 250GB HD, X800XT, Airport & Bluetooth
Kosh66 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2008, 09:29 AM   #5
fluidedge
macrumors 65816
 
fluidedge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
why did you buy it in the first place again?

If you wanted a gaming machine why did you buy a mac?
fluidedge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2008, 09:31 AM   #6
mkrishnan
Moderator emeritus
 
mkrishnan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
As the others said above, if you bought this computer as a workhorse -- as a server, as a graphic design computer, etc, you're probably fine for a few more years, although it's going to get long in the tooth by ... 2010 or 2011 (my guess). By then it's fairly likely even Adobe CS will require Intel processors, and these computers will all be 6-8 years old and few will still be in use. But in the mean time, with a healthy amount of memory, it'll be fine.

If you bought it for general purpose desktop computing, it'll likewise be fine (although you may want to go static and stop updating everything -- like don't go farther than Leopard and use Office 04 or 08 but don't upgrade unnecessarily from there). It's kind of overkill and you're putting a lot of CO2 in the air running a computer that big to do desktop work when a computer that consumed 1/4 as much electrical power could do the work just fine, but meh, I guess people do it all the time.

And if you bought it for games, sorry, but you just really didn't do your research at all.
__________________
Mohan
mkrishnan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2008, 09:39 AM   #7
fluidedge
macrumors 65816
 
fluidedge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkrishnan View Post
As the others said above, if you bought this computer as a workhorse -- as a server, as a graphic design computer, etc, you're probably fine for a few more years, although it's going to get long in the tooth by ... 2010 or 2011 (my guess). By then it's fairly likely even Adobe CS will require Intel processors, and these computers will all be 6-8 years old and few will still be in use. But in the mean time, with a healthy amount of memory, it'll be fine.

If you bought it for general purpose desktop computing, it'll likewise be fine (although you may want to go static and stop updating everything -- like don't go farther than Leopard and use Office 04 or 08 but don't upgrade unnecessarily from there). It's kind of overkill and you're putting a lot of CO2 in the air running a computer that big to do desktop work when a computer that consumed 1/4 as much electrical power could do the work just fine, but meh, I guess people do it all the time.

And if you bought it for games, sorry, but you just really didn't do your research at all.
I agree.

It's a terrible waste of a damn good machine to be using it as a server. If you're using it to do 'stuff' like Photoshop etc it'll be fine. I know people that are still using G4s to pump out amazing work and earning loadsa dosh.

people get hung up on having the latest gear. I know a video editor who still uses Mac OS 10.2 and a G4 because that's all he needs on his work machine to produce his work
fluidedge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2008, 01:10 PM   #8
aggiebas09
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by fluidedge View Post
why did you buy it in the first place again?

If you wanted a gaming machine why did you buy a mac?
Sorry I forgot to say that I didn't buy it. I have a family member that no longer wanted it and gave it to my grandfather who then gave it to me. I don't plan on doing any gaming on my G5. I'll mostly be doing recording, web design, etc (what macs are known for). I'm only just concerned about later versions of software like Photoshop, Cubase, Reason, etc. and if they'll be able to be used on PowerPC processors.

so yeah a G5 for free is pretty nice . the only money im putting into it is stuff like Leopard, more RAM, and stuff like that.

Last edited by mad jew; Sep 4, 2008 at 11:20 PM. Reason: Please use the multi-quote feature.
aggiebas09 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2008, 03:27 PM   #9
fluidedge
macrumors 65816
 
fluidedge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
ah good stuff

a free mac G5 is always nice

In that case you can use it for anything and not have to justify the cost to anyone. Use it as your home desktop, safe in the knowledge that you can safely do anything intensive on it for a good few years to come yet. All the major software companies (Microsoft, Adobe, Apple etc) will continue to support the Power PC chip for a good 4/5 years or so yet.

Once the G5 starts to become 'out of date' (long way away yet) you can strip it out and build a really sweet PC/Server with that gorgeous case.
fluidedge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2008, 10:17 PM   #10
Silencio
macrumors 68000
 
Silencio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: NYC
How much memory do you have in the G5 right now? DDR PC3200 has come down quite a bit in cost so if you have less than 2 GB of RAM, seriously think about getting some more.

I had 4GB of RAM in my own Dual 2.0GHz PowerMac G5 before I sold it off; did a fair amount of graphics and audio/video work without running into pageouts very often.
__________________
"The times they are a changin', and some traditional PC folks feel like their world is slipping away. It is."
Silencio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2008, 07:13 AM   #11
aggiebas09
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silencio View Post
How much memory do you have in the G5 right now? DDR PC3200 has come down quite a bit in cost so if you have less than 2 GB of RAM, seriously think about getting some more.

I had 4GB of RAM in my own Dual 2.0GHz PowerMac G5 before I sold it off; did a fair amount of graphics and audio/video work without running into pageouts very often.
I have 1GB right now but I want to add more. Where RAM would you suggest and where would you advise I get it from?
aggiebas09 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2008, 07:52 AM   #12
unlokia
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by aggiebas09 View Post
I have 1GB right now but I want to add more. Where RAM would you suggest and where would you advise I get it from?

http://crucial.com
unlokia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2008, 08:11 AM   #13
drlunanerd
macrumors 65816
 
drlunanerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by fluidedge View Post
All the major software companies (Microsoft, Adobe, Apple etc) will continue to support the Power PC chip for a good 4/5 years or so yet.
Sorry, but I don't think so. They're already dropping PPC support for some apps. The Power Mac G5s are nice machines, but don't kid yourself about future software support. Obviously, if you don't need to upgrade any software then no worries
drlunanerd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2008, 06:14 PM   #14
SmurfBoxMasta
macrumors 65816
 
SmurfBoxMasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: If you come into the forest really late at night, I might tell you...or nOt :)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by unlokia View Post
shop around for the best prices AND A lifetime warranty with a no-cost, NO-QUESTIONS-ASKED next day replacement policy.

But wherever you get it, start by using one of the many configurators out there to be sure you get the right stuff

Personally, I recommend www.datamem.com and www.macsales.com. 2 of THE best online vendors out there.......I have bought boatloads of memory from them both over the years and neveranottaproblemo
__________________
Please don't judge me...I was created to be AWESOME, not perfect
SmurfBoxMasta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2008, 07:46 PM   #15
leekohler
Banned
 
leekohler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago, Illinois
I have a dual core 2.0 G5 that's great. Stuff as much RAM as you can afford in it, and you'll be loving it for a good few years. I just recently upped my RAM to 8 gigs, and it rocks.
leekohler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2008, 10:29 PM   #16
Firefly2002
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by drlunanerd View Post
Sorry, but I don't think so. They're already dropping PPC support for some apps. The Power Mac G5s are nice machines, but don't kid yourself about future software support. Obviously, if you don't need to upgrade any software then no worries
I'd have to agree with this. They're great machines, but they won't continue support for another five years.... threeish years after PPC was discontinued.

They supported 68K for a while, but not eight years.... or even close. Lol, I guess UB is the equivalent of FAT.

Still though, CS4 will support PPC, so not much to worry about for a while.
Firefly2002 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2008, 10:57 PM   #17
disconap
macrumors 68000
 
disconap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Quote:
Originally Posted by aggiebas09 View Post
Sorry I forgot to say that I didn't buy it. I have a family member that no longer wanted it and gave it to my grandfather who then gave it to me. I don't plan on doing any gaming on my G5. I'll mostly be doing recording, web design, etc (what macs are known for). I'm only just concerned about later versions of software like Photoshop, Cubase, Reason, etc. and if they'll be able to be used on PowerPC processors.
I suggest upping the RAM if you can afford it and picking up some decent drives (since the drives will be compatible with newer machines, go as large as you wish). For everything you are talking about here, the G5 will work perfectly well.

Later versions of those brands likely won't be compatible, as OSX 10.6 won't be PPC compatible. But you don't need to stay current with any of them; I work professionally and still use CS2, in fact I have clients who ask me to save to older versions, and I do professional recording on a G3 in OS9; the bells and whistles change in the newer versions, but if you know what you're doing, what is available now will last you for 5 or more years...
__________________
Mac Mini 4x2gHz i7/16gb/240gb R0 OCZ Vertex450/10.9.2
Mac Mini 2x2.5 gHz i5/8gb/120gb OCZ Vertex4/10.9.2/server
Macbook Pro retina 2x2.4gHz i5/8gb/256gb/10.9.2
disconap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2008, 11:17 PM   #18
rockinrocker
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by aggiebas09 View Post
I'm only just concerned about later versions of software like Photoshop, Cubase, Reason, etc. and if they'll be able to be used on PowerPC processors.
i don't know about adobe, but steinberg and propellerheads seem pretty committed to supporting as much legacy hardware as they can. prop.heads in particular seems like the type of company that does a great job of offering legacy support.
__________________
MBP 2011 15" - Mac Mini 2011 2.3
Mac Pro '08 - iP5 - iPad 3
rockinrocker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2008, 11:17 PM   #19
aggiebas09
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by disconap View Post
I suggest upping the RAM if you can afford it and picking up some decent drives (since the drives will be compatible with newer machines, go as large as you wish). For everything you are talking about here, the G5 will work perfectly well.

Later versions of those brands likely won't be compatible, as OSX 10.6 won't be PPC compatible. But you don't need to stay current with any of them; I work professionally and still use CS2, in fact I have clients who ask me to save to older versions, and I do professional recording on a G3 in OS9; the bells and whistles change in the newer versions, but if you know what you're doing, what is available now will last you for 5 or more years...
Awesome! That's exactly what I wanted to hear lol. I just bought 2GB worth of ram to up it to 3GB right now and maybe some more later if i end up needing it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockinrocker View Post
i don't know about adobe, but steinberg and propellerheads seem pretty committed to supporting as much legacy hardware as they can. prop.heads in particular seems like the type of company that does a great job of offering legacy support.
That sounds great. All I have to do is be able to afford Reason =/ lol

Last edited by mad jew; Sep 4, 2008 at 11:20 PM. Reason: Please use the multi-quote feature.
aggiebas09 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2008, 03:27 PM   #20
leekohler
Banned
 
leekohler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Quote:
Originally Posted by aggiebas09 View Post
Awesome! That's exactly what I wanted to hear lol. I just bought 2GB worth of ram to up it to 3GB right now and maybe some more later if i end up needing it.
Put as much as you can in it. It makes a huge difference.
leekohler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2008, 04:21 PM   #21
Lord Zedd
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denver, Colorado
G5 was outdated and left in the dust two years ago when the MacPro was released.
Lord Zedd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2008, 05:56 PM   #22
leekohler
Banned
 
leekohler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Zedd View Post
G5 was outdated and left in the dust two years ago when the MacPro was released.
Oh OK, so now they just don't work for some reason?
leekohler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2008, 06:15 PM   #23
rfruth
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Texas
Hey if it was free thats hard to beat, add RAM & use that baby !
__________________
G3 iMac - x86 Linux box - iMaci soon ? Why join the navy if you can be a pirate - Steve Jobs
rfruth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2008, 06:56 PM   #24
Fonzijr1964
macrumors 68000
 
Fonzijr1964's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Maryland
Quote:
Originally Posted by aggiebas09 View Post
I have 1GB right now but I want to add more. Where RAM would you suggest and where would you advise I get it from?
by ram now

i would say get it up to 4GB(on a g5 y not)
u will be good to go
__________________
15" 2.66Ghz i7 MacBookPro24"ACD24" 2.8GHz[C2E] iMac 500GB64GB iPhone4S
Fonzijr1964 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any suggestions? Desmodromix MacBook Air 0 May 14, 2014 11:30 AM
Any suggestions on the cause of this? navymannings iMac 2 Jun 29, 2013 05:00 PM
Need help or suggestions... Michael241189 Apple TV and Home Theater 1 Jun 22, 2013 04:17 PM
Suggestions for a new TV sdilley14 Apple TV and Home Theater 39 Jan 2, 2013 08:56 AM
Need Suggestions cennix iPhone 8 Oct 1, 2012 01:03 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC