Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 8, 2008, 09:32 PM   #1
Dan Millen
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Problems printing to a network printer with IP address

We have a savin printer at our office that will not print no matter what I do, the OS is version 10.5x on a iMac. It sees the printer as a IP or ldf but it won't print! I know the printer works cause we print with windows pc's?

Does anyone have suggestions, or a guide?

The iMac is on a windows domain running a Mac os.

Help would be appreciated!

Thanks

Dan
Dan Millen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2008, 07:28 AM   #2
Les Kern
macrumors 68030
 
Les Kern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Alabama
Savin's actually do a pretty good job in Mac-World. We have a few of the giant copiers/printers and we HAD to load the Savin drivers on from the web site to make it work properly off of Leopard, but it worked. Also, see if you can log on to the web console or locally set Bonjour.
There were a LOT of printers broken when OS X moved 10 10.5.3, but I am familiar with that being inkjets only... and they cannot be made to work.
Les Kern is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2008, 09:39 AM   #3
Dan Millen
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Les Kern View Post
Savin's actually do a pretty good job in Mac-World. We have a few of the giant copiers/printers and we HAD to load the Savin drivers on from the web site to make it work properly off of Leopard, but it worked. Also, see if you can log on to the web console or locally set Bonjour.
There were a LOT of printers broken when OS X moved 10 10.5.3, but I am familiar with that being inkjets only... and they cannot be made to work.
Hey thanks for replying, I did load there Savin's SW and still nothing.

I am not familiar with the web console? Can you elaborate on that?

On Bonjour I only see a install for windows PC this is a Mac, am I missing something

Thanks again

Dan
Dan Millen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2008, 01:58 PM   #4
Dan Millen
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
help

Anyone have any ideas?
Dan Millen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2008, 03:48 PM   #5
Dan Millen
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
help with printer

Ok,

After doing some research the Savin printers do not come included with Postscript (PS3) print chipsets.

According to the local rep the only way to print with a Mac is to have this $500.00 part installed in the printer.

I did some more research and this PS3 type of printing is an Adobe file which Savin would have to pay for, thus resulting in the hardware cost.

I can't believe that a Mac can't print via the PLC Protocol?

If someone knows how to get around this please let me know!

I found a site called Gutenprint http://gutenprint.sourceforge.net/ but the Savin is not listed.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Dan
Dan Millen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2008, 07:02 AM   #6
Les Kern
macrumors 68030
 
Les Kern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Alabama
Sorry, I made an assumption, and one should never assume.
We lease our 8 or so giant Savins, so I never even looked into this. While we do let them know that we are a Mac shop, no mention was ever made about "making them work with a Mac", and frankly, that sounds wrong to me. I could be wrong (and I am a often enough thank you) but I'd get a second opinion by calling Savin directly.
Les Kern is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2008, 07:10 AM   #7
Les Kern
macrumors 68030
 
Les Kern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Alabama
I checked Savin's site, and it is as the rep says. PS chipset is needed.
But what model is this thing?
Les Kern is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2008, 08:17 AM   #8
Dan Millen
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
savin

Savin 8025e and we also have a Savin c2410

I can't believe that the Mac can't print in PLC?

Thanks

Dan
Dan Millen is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Printing to a network printer without a Mac el-John-o iPad 7 Nov 30, 2010 09:42 PM
Problem Printing to a Networked Windows 7 Printer Since Upgrading to 10.6.2 lkrushel OS X 0 Dec 7, 2009 10:57 PM
Printing to a network printer andrewsmith729 MacBook 1 Apr 27, 2009 08:44 PM
Printing to windows network printer Alex N OS X 6 Jun 18, 2007 11:53 PM
Problem Printing to a Network Printer Using Airport! sandro Mac Help/Tips 1 Dec 11, 2002 09:07 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:04 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC