Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 3, 2008, 12:35 PM   #1
Drumjim85
macrumors 68020
 
Drumjim85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: DFW, TX
Protools 8

Well Protools 8 just got announced at AES. And it seems to be a really big update.

check it out.
__________________
Creative Commons - because copyright is broken.
Drumjim85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2008, 02:53 PM   #2
xparaparafreakx
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Send a message via AIM to xparaparafreakx Send a message via MSN to xparaparafreakx Send a message via Yahoo to xparaparafreakx Send a message via Skype™ to xparaparafreakx
Catching up to Logic I see.
xparaparafreakx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2008, 03:14 PM   #3
junior
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by xparaparafreakx View Post
Catching up to Logic I see.
junior is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2008, 03:39 PM   #4
Loge
macrumors 68000
 
Loge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: England
Looks like they've improved the Sibelius integration in the score editor (not surprising I guess given the ownership), so you can now export a Sibelius score instead of a midi file.

I should say I don't use Pro Tools , but I use Sibelius every day and so I'm interested in how this works out in practice.
Loge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2008, 03:18 AM   #5
joe.cavers
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
I'm a Pro Tools user and this has me extremely excited. The new MIDI additions are exactly the kinda thing I need for Uni. Very very excited about this update.

JC
joe.cavers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2008, 06:49 PM   #6
Mr Skills
macrumors 6502a
 
Mr Skills's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by junior View Post
As a heavy user of both Logic and Pro Tools I think they can both do with catching up to eachother in different ways.
__________________
Download free songs
Mr Skills is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2008, 07:37 PM   #7
cschreppel
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
I'm pretty excited for the doubling of inserts per track, increased track counts, etc. But mostly, I'm really happy with the new UI. Definitely going to make the long sessions a little easier on the eyes.

I was watching an interview with a PT8 product manager and he's been very vocal about Auto-Delay Compensation coming for LE eventually. I'm not holding my breath, but I'm glad to see that Digi is finally opening up a bit to its end users.
cschreppel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2008, 10:45 PM   #8
zimv20
macrumors 601
 
zimv20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by cschreppel View Post
I was watching an interview with a PT8 product manager and he's been very vocal about Auto-Delay Compensation coming for LE eventually.
was it this video?
__________________
Oct 2011: check out my band's first album @ boxsetauthentic.com
zimv20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2008, 10:46 AM   #9
cschreppel
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by zimv20 View Post
was it this video?
Yes.
cschreppel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2008, 09:23 AM   #10
UgLy KoeRner
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Send a message via MSN to UgLy KoeRner
Hello everyone, my question about pro tools 8 here is that, if I am going to purchase the M-box pro that I want to get soon with my new MBP 4 gig of ram, Can I also purchase this upgrade of pro tools 8 and it will work with what I am purchaseing?
UgLy KoeRner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2008, 10:27 AM   #11
junior
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by UgLy KoeRner View Post
Hello everyone, my question about pro tools 8 here is that, if I am going to purchase the M-box pro that I want to get soon with my new MBP 4 gig of ram, Can I also purchase this upgrade of pro tools 8 and it will work with what I am purchaseing?
I'm pretty sure they'll be offering you a free upgrade if you purchase their product now.
junior is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2008, 10:55 AM   #12
cschreppel
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...23954&langid=1
cschreppel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2008, 05:15 PM   #13
Cromulent
macrumors 603
 
Cromulent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Land of Hope and Glory
Wonder if they have actually managed to write it in a way that means you don't need to keep your system a few updates behind just in order to use it. I doubt it.
__________________
Neural Advance - Mac OS X, UNIX and Windows Development
Last.fm Profile | Extreme Metal Reviews
MP 4x 2.66Ghz Xeons / 6GB RAM / 640GB + 500GB + 750GB + 1TB HDDs / ATI Radeon 4870 / iPad 3
Cromulent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2008, 02:21 PM   #14
kucukbasak
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
what's the best source to use to learn about PT??? from beginner's to professionals? kind of like the best tutorial?
kucukbasak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2008, 08:47 AM   #15
longofest
Editor emeritus
 
longofest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Falls Church, VA
Send a message via AIM to longofest
Good to see Digidesign actually putting effort out. I still think Digital Performer is superior. Can't stand how proprietary ProTools is. It causes a lot of headaches.
longofest is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2008, 01:04 PM   #16
junior
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by longofest View Post
Good to see Digidesign actually putting effort out. I still think Digital Performer is superior. Can't stand how proprietary ProTools is. It causes a lot of headaches.
I'd have thought that like Apple, having proprietary aspects to a product model would give less headaches (It accepts plenty of i/o BTW if you need it: Lavry, Prism, Apogee, Lynx, DAD, etc).

Although it's a very simpleton view and a huge generalization, lots of people say the same thing about PTHD as they do Macs. 'It just works'.
junior is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2008, 11:42 PM   #17
Cromulent
macrumors 603
 
Cromulent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Land of Hope and Glory
Quote:
Originally Posted by junior View Post
Although it's a very simpleton view and a huge generalization, lots of people say the same thing about PTHD as they do Macs. 'It just works'.
Not if you keep your computer software up to date or like to have the latest OS security patches.

Just do a search on the number of Pro Tools users who ask for help on reverting to an earlier version of OS X or Quicktime because Pro Tools is written in such a poor manner as to be so easily broken.
__________________
Neural Advance - Mac OS X, UNIX and Windows Development
Last.fm Profile | Extreme Metal Reviews
MP 4x 2.66Ghz Xeons / 6GB RAM / 640GB + 500GB + 750GB + 1TB HDDs / ATI Radeon 4870 / iPad 3
Cromulent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2008, 01:26 AM   #18
Drumjim85
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Drumjim85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: DFW, TX
the rumors are now that this will be out on Dec 5th.
__________________
Creative Commons - because copyright is broken.
Drumjim85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 01:55 PM   #19
Drumjim85
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Drumjim85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: DFW, TX
Protools 8 is now shipping ...
__________________
Creative Commons - because copyright is broken.
Drumjim85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 08:25 PM   #20
mcpryon2
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Did they mention anything about Pro Tools working with Avid Media Composer...finally?

I like how Avid is at war with everybody, even the people in the same building.
mcpryon2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2008, 02:45 PM   #21
Drumjim85
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Drumjim85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: DFW, TX
with an install file size of around 8gb, Digi wasn't anywhere near ready for the traffic they'd receive today.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 2.png
Views:	33
Size:	51.1 KB
ID:	149028  
__________________
Creative Commons - because copyright is broken.
Drumjim85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2008, 10:59 PM   #22
GregBoccuti
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Digi will never catch up with other software until it allows its users to use non-digi interfaces. Yes, Digi does have a large and loyal group of users out there. But just because Digi is the popular and best known name in the DAW world, doesn't mean it is the best software. Lest we forget some of the major flaws (i.e. only being able to bounce in real time, hardware limitations, etc.)
GregBoccuti is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2008, 07:03 AM   #23
junior
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregBoccuti View Post
Digi will never catch up with other software until it allows its users to use non-digi interfaces. Yes, Digi does have a large and loyal group of users out there. But just because Digi is the popular and best known name in the DAW world, doesn't mean it is the best software. Lest we forget some of the major flaws (i.e. only being able to bounce in real time, hardware limitations, etc.)
In the studio, real time bouncing isn't a flaw at all for many reasons. Hardware limitation? You can use Apogee, Lynx, Lavry, Burl, Prism, Crane Song, stock 192, 96i/o, etc.
So what have they got to catch up on?
junior is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2008, 09:16 AM   #24
GregBoccuti
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
I guess I should have specified.

I'm primarily a remote engineer. The company that I work for does medium to large scale remote classical and jazz concert recordings. Realtime bouncing 5 hours of hard data is awful.

I'm also not saying that Digi doesn't have its place. I use it just as much as I use Logic. All I'm saying is that I wish that people in general would be less narrow minded when it comes to thinking about DAWs
GregBoccuti is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2008, 12:10 PM   #25
Drumjim85
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Drumjim85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: DFW, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregBoccuti View Post
Digi will never catch up with other software until it allows its users to use non-digi interfaces. Yes, Digi does have a large and loyal group of users out there. But just because Digi is the popular and best known name in the DAW world, doesn't mean it is the best software. Lest we forget some of the major flaws (i.e. only being able to bounce in real time, hardware limitations, etc.)
I've had some huge files in nuendo, and the time it took to render the files down was a LOT longer than the actual play time...
now, this isn't an excuse for Digi, i think they should offer a non-real time render as well as real time. But they haven't yet.
Their excuse: "it's so you can use external hardware" (reverb units and such)
__________________
Creative Commons - because copyright is broken.
Drumjim85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProTools 10 Mac Mini funaroma Mac mini 10 Apr 14, 2014 10:14 AM
ProTools and other studio software for Mac Lastmboy Mac Applications and Mac App Store 5 Feb 6, 2014 02:27 AM
Protools 7.4 on Mavericks? flyinhigh Digital Audio 5 Feb 5, 2014 12:15 AM
New imac and protools terry007 Digital Audio 2 Jun 25, 2013 11:57 PM
Logic Pro 9 Or ProTools? Vitiri Digital Audio 22 Dec 17, 2012 02:09 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC