Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Distributed Computing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 22, 2008, 04:12 PM   #1
pgwalsh
macrumors 68000
 
pgwalsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Send a message via Yahoo to pgwalsh
F@H Widget needs testing

There's a new Beta for F@H WUdget http://sites.google.com/site/pgwalsh/beta

Beta 1.5.7k
Note: This client only works with the current beta V7.1.48 and not the previous. FAHControl has had some backend changes in the way they format dates and has also removed some fields. Please keep an eye on Elapsed Time and Estimated Finish as these were effected the most. They appear to be accurate most of the time, but sometimes not.

New:
  • Background Update Agent for widget.
  • Folding@home News RSS feed integrated. Only shows the newest post.
  • Works with latest client.

Changes:
  • Remote stats is now saved in Application Folder instead of preferences.
  • Elapsed Time and Finish have been changed. Should be more accurate.
  • Many backend changes.

Bug Fixes:
  • Fixed some unit name recognition. As before this is an ongoing thing.

Last edited by pgwalsh; Mar 3, 2012 at 09:30 AM. Reason: Updated Project
pgwalsh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2008, 05:52 PM   #2
/dev/toaster
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Oh sweet! This is far nicer looking then the current one I am using. I will install it on my Mac Pro tonight
__________________
Check out my new iOS game - http://word-herd.com
/dev/toaster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2008, 05:55 PM   #3
iShater
macrumors Demi-God
 
iShater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chicagoland
That looks quite nice indeed. OSX version?
__________________
Insert signature here.
iShater is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2008, 06:04 PM   #4
pgwalsh
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
pgwalsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Send a message via Yahoo to pgwalsh
Quote:
Originally Posted by iShater View Post
That looks quite nice indeed. OSX version?
I believe it's 10.4.1 compatible, though that's just via dashcode. I only have 10.5 installed on a Mac Pro and MacBook.
pgwalsh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2008, 06:12 PM   #5
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
this looks very nice. i wouldn't mind trying it out for you
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2008, 04:08 PM   #6
SciFrog
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I would try it too, please email!

An idea: could you support people who have contributed to multiple teams also? FAH provides these stats also...
SciFrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2008, 05:51 PM   #7
pgwalsh
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
pgwalsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Send a message via Yahoo to pgwalsh
Quote:
Originally Posted by SciFrog View Post
I would try it too, please email!

An idea: could you support people who have contributed to multiple teams also? FAH provides these stats also...
I'd prefer if you'd email me through the forum's and then I can email you the widget.

The widget can provide for multiple teams, but you need to create an instance for each widget. The information comes directly from the Folding@home website, not from a third party.

I'll email you the new beta as soon as I'm finished, which will be tonight or tomorrow. /dev/toaster has been very helpful in the initial tests.
pgwalsh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2008, 08:39 PM   #8
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgwalsh View Post
I'd prefer if you'd email me through the forum's and then I can email you the widget.

The widget can provide for multiple teams, but you need to create an instance for each widget. The information comes directly from the Folding@home website, not from a third party.

I'll email you the new beta as soon as I'm finished, which will be tonight or tomorrow. /dev/toaster has been very helpful in the initial tests.
i sent you an email, if you still need more feedback
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2008, 08:06 AM   #9
SciFrog
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgwalsh View Post
I'd prefer if you'd email me through the forum's and then I can email you the widget.

The widget can provide for multiple teams, but you need to create an instance for each widget. The information comes directly from the Folding@home website, not from a third party.

I'll email you the new beta as soon as I'm finished, which will be tonight or tomorrow. /dev/toaster has been very helpful in the initial tests.
I meant even crunching for only one team thus using one widget, can you also show the user total WU/rank combining all the team, numbers provided by the FAH stat in the same place you check the stat for just one team.
Check my FAH individual stat page on FAH to see what I mean (user SciFrog).

Check your PM for email...
SciFrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2008, 09:33 AM   #10
pgwalsh
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
pgwalsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Send a message via Yahoo to pgwalsh
Quote:
Originally Posted by SciFrog View Post
I meant even crunching for only one team thus using one widget, can you also show the user total WU/rank combining all the team, numbers provided by the FAH stat in the same place you check the stat for just one team.
Check my FAH individual stat page on FAH to see what I mean (user SciFrog).

Check your PM for email...
It shows WU total for all teams at the top of the widget from the page of a user and you don't have to provide a team number. Total WU is all work units for a user. Work Units is the total for a user and a particular team. It's all the same information from the stats page without going to the site. The Rank in Team is from the fast user page and therefore is a bit behind, but that is the only page that supports every user from a team.

I hope I answered your question.
pgwalsh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2008, 11:37 AM   #11
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
i sent you an email, if you still need more feedback
well i never received a response. i guess you don't need more feedback
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2008, 12:21 PM   #12
pgwalsh
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
pgwalsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Send a message via Yahoo to pgwalsh
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
well i never received a response. i guess you don't need more feedback
I responded shortly after you sent it. I'll send another.
pgwalsh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2008, 03:40 PM   #13
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgwalsh View Post
I responded shortly after you sent it. I'll send another.
i got it, thanks. i am not on my folding machine right now, but running it to just get my stats, it runs great.
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2008, 11:52 AM   #14
pgwalsh
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
pgwalsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Send a message via Yahoo to pgwalsh
Widget is ready!

Okay.. after some very helpful beta testing by /dev/toaster, twoodcc and SciFrog the widget is ready.

You can find it here: Apple.com


The new look:

Last edited by pgwalsh; Apr 28, 2010 at 11:42 AM. Reason: doesn't exist
pgwalsh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2008, 03:09 PM   #15
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
great job with the widget!
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2008, 03:16 PM   #16
pgwalsh
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
pgwalsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Send a message via Yahoo to pgwalsh
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
great job with the widget!
Thanks... the release version is slightly different than the last beta I sent you, so if you want some very minor improvements.
pgwalsh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2008, 07:17 PM   #17
iShater
macrumors Demi-God
 
iShater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chicagoland
I haven't had a chance to test this. I currently use Increase to get the work. Does the widget also use up all cpu for max output? or is that a "feature" of the SMP cores?
__________________
Insert signature here.
iShater is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2008, 07:45 PM   #18
pgwalsh
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
pgwalsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Send a message via Yahoo to pgwalsh
Quote:
Originally Posted by iShater View Post
I haven't had a chance to test this. I currently use Increase to get the work. Does the widget also use up all cpu for max output? or is that a "feature" of the SMP cores?
I'm not completely following you, but increase should be fine for maximizing your work unit output. This widget is for display your statistics through dashboard. I have no idea if increase does this or not as I've never used it.
pgwalsh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2008, 07:50 PM   #19
iShater
macrumors Demi-God
 
iShater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chicagoland
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgwalsh View Post
I'm not completely following you, but increase should be fine for maximizing your work unit output. This widget is for display your statistics through dashboard. I have no idea if increase does this or not as I've never used it.
hehehehe, never mind, I should have refreshed my memory by reading the original posts again.
__________________
Insert signature here.
iShater is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2008, 11:02 AM   #20
pgwalsh
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
pgwalsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Send a message via Yahoo to pgwalsh
There's an update with better support for G4 Macs running client 5.02.

http://sites.google.com/site/pgwalsh...%40HWUdget.zip

It hasn't been update on apples site yet, but should be in the next few days.
pgwalsh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2008, 10:40 AM   #21
azdude
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Doesn't seem to work for me on my Mac Pro running two clients simultaneously (Prefpane and console-only).
azdude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2008, 11:44 AM   #22
pgwalsh
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
pgwalsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Send a message via Yahoo to pgwalsh
Quote:
Originally Posted by azdude View Post
Doesn't seem to work for me on my Mac Pro running two clients simultaneously (Prefpane and console-only).
That's not very descriptive, so it'll be hard to fix. If you could provide a little detail that would be helpful. For example: which folding version of the clients are you using? Are they 6.02 or 5.02 or the new beta? There's a link on the bottom of the back where you can email me directly. Without more specifics, it would be hard to to fix.
pgwalsh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2009, 10:24 AM   #23
pgwalsh
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
pgwalsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Send a message via Yahoo to pgwalsh
F@H WUdget 1.0 available

Update F@H WUdget. Has several new features. Info on thread 1.
pgwalsh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2009, 08:55 PM   #24
lyzardking
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Website error?

No info on me or team (yes my info is on the "back"), has info on work unit, averages & add info.

Let me know if you additional info
__________________
I make blue cars go away
I'm Folding, are you?
lyzardking is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2009, 10:33 PM   #25
pgwalsh
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
pgwalsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Send a message via Yahoo to pgwalsh
Quote:
Originally Posted by lyzardking View Post
No info on me or team (yes my info is on the "back"), has info on work unit, averages & add info.

Let me know if you additional info
Are you just getting the local computer info information? How long have you been running the widget?

Folding at home's website statistics go down for about an hour every three hours. So if it doesn't update give it some time. You'll see that there's a retry timer that set for 5 minutes and the regular time is 90 minutes.
pgwalsh is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Distributed Computing

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weather Widget color has changed, clock widget Aspen OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Apr 6, 2013 12:59 PM
after testing i5 is really the very best! xploit iPhone 11 Oct 13, 2012 09:28 PM
Resolved: TEsting Doggonit Apple Collectors 0 Jul 30, 2012 01:27 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC