Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 23, 2008, 04:07 PM   #1
jdylan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Bagram, Afghanistan
Send a message via Yahoo to jdylan
250GB Apple TV?

Hi, sorry if this is a stupid question, but I searched the forum and couldn't find an answer. I am a Apple TV newbie, looking to buy one for the first time. I looked on eBay and found the 40GB, the 160GB, and also a 250GB? I didn't see a 250GB on the Apple site, so is this a scam, or did the seller modify the thing? He has a picture of a legit Apple box, so it looks real.

http://cgi.ebay.com/APPLE-TV-250-GB-...d=p3286.c0.m14

Also, can anyone recommend a good place to buy one? Thanks.
jdylan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2008, 04:22 PM   #2
Donar
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Germany
Quote:
Professionally upgraded NEW 250GB Apple TV.
It sounds like the seller has put an 250 Gig HDD in the device.
__________________
MacPro4,1 - 3.33 GHz HEX / Radeon HD 7950 3GB / 24GB RAM / Sonnet Tempo SSD / USB 3.0
Donar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2008, 04:26 PM   #3
tom1971
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdylan View Post
Hi, sorry if this is a stupid question, but I searched the forum and couldn't find an answer. I am a Apple TV newbie, looking to buy one for the first time. I looked on eBay and found the 40GB, the 160GB, and also a 250GB? I didn't see a 250GB on the Apple site, so is this a scam, or did the seller modify the thing? He has a picture of a legit Apple box, so it looks real.

http://cgi.ebay.com/APPLE-TV-250-GB-...d=p3286.c0.m14

Also, can anyone recommend a good place to buy one? Thanks.
It is not a scam, but your Apple warranty will be void. If you need more than 160 GB of HD space, you'd be better off to patch your aTV and connect an external USB harddrive.
tom1971 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2008, 07:04 PM   #4
spencers
macrumors 68020
 
spencers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fayetteville, AR
It's been modified. And if you are any type of person that likes to:
1) DIY
2) Save some money
3) Want the extra space,

then buy the 40gb ATV, and the appropriate 250gb (Western Digital Scorpio WD2500BEVE, PATA ~$50-100) hard drive and do-it-yourself!

Downside: Voided Apple warranty. Not like it truly matters, though. I haven't heard much in terms of AppleTV failure or problems that require warranty service. Do what I did, buy a used 40GB AppleTV. Mine's out of warranty, and I plan on upgrading some time in the future.
spencers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2008, 07:16 PM   #5
Superman07
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by spencers View Post
It's been modified. And if you are any type of person that likes to:
1) DIY
2) Save some money
3) Want the extra space,

then buy the 40gb ATV, and the appropriate 250gb (Western Digital Scorpio WD2500BEVE, PATA ~$50-100) hard drive and do-it-yourself!

Downside: Voided Apple warranty. Not like it truly matters, though. I haven't heard much in terms of AppleTV failure or problems that require warranty service. Do what I did, buy a used 40GB AppleTV. Mine's out of warranty, and I plan on upgrading some time in the future.

If you go this route reference Cave Man's excellent write-up on 'how to' and then some.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=438073
Superman07 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2008, 07:21 PM   #6
consumedsoul
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Boxee?

Does Boxee qualify as one of the 'patching' solutions to get USB connectivity to work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom1971 View Post
It is not a scam, but your Apple warranty will be void. If you need more than 160 GB of HD space, you'd be better off to patch your aTV and connect an external USB harddrive.
consumedsoul is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2008, 07:23 PM   #7
mathcolo
macrumors 6502a
 
mathcolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Massachusetts
I would air on the side of caution and not buy that item. You never really know what has been done to it when the specs don't match Apple's configurations.
__________________
13" MacBook Pro Retina - 2.6 GHz i5 - 512GB SSD - 8GB RAM
- Google Nexus 5
[Retired]13" MacBook Pro - 2.53 GHz C2D - 240GB SSD - 8GB RAM
[Retired]- Samsung Galaxy Nexus LTE
mathcolo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2008, 07:25 PM   #8
paduck
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Just to distract from the OP's question, I have one about upgrading the hard drive on my Apple TV to 250GB.

I'm pretty comfortable with hardware, so I have no qualms about swapping out the drive. My concern is in actually making the copy of the 40GB drive to the 250GB one. Specifically, how can I be confident that when I hook up the 40GB drive to my G5 iMac via a IDE->USB/FW cable that I will not corrupt the HD and brick the whole thing?

A couple of the web sites I have read seem to indicate that using a PowerPC Mac can cause problems with parts of the hard drive. I'm not inclined to drop $150 on a forensic read-only drive bay. I can probably get access to an Intel MacBook for a few days as well. I'm just worried about the risk of having a bricked ATV before I can build myself a backup image.

Anyone whose done this have any thoughts? Thanks in advance!
__________________
Proud owner of every Apple product line since 1978.
paduck is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2008, 08:20 PM   #9
spencers
macrumors 68020
 
spencers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fayetteville, AR
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman07 View Post
If you go this route reference Cave Man's excellent write-up on 'how to' and then some.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=438073
I was moreso referring to this:
http://www.appletvhacks.net/2007/03/...grade-process/

Sorry I didn't link earlier.
spencers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2008, 08:43 PM   #10
tom1971
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by consumedsoul View Post
Does Boxee qualify as one of the 'patching' solutions to get USB connectivity to work?
no, there is a specific USB patch available.

PM me
tom1971 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple TV 2 TV Show Sorting TheCheapGeek Apple TV and Home Theater 40 Nov 21, 2012 02:47 AM
Mac Mini, Eye TV Hybird, Handbrake, Apple TV 2 sblanford Apple TV and Home Theater 5 Jan 11, 2012 09:25 PM
Apple TV and Trackpad jaxw Mac Basics and Help 2 Nov 29, 2011 02:56 PM
Is there likely to be a NEWER apple TV coming for 2011?? cootersgarage6 Apple TV and Home Theater 8 Dec 22, 2010 09:39 AM
Apple TV with iOS 4.0 unable to be jailbroken? sidgriffey Apple TV and Home Theater 11 Nov 10, 2010 04:35 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC