Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Picture Gallery

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 1, 2008, 11:46 AM   #1
xpjx
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Baltimore, MD
Post Your Mac Setup: Past & Present! (Part 7)

Mod Note: Here is a list of the previous threads
Post Your Mac Setup: Past & Present
Post Your Mac Setup: Past & Present (Part 2)
Post Your Mac Setup: Past & Present (Part 3)
Post Your Mac Setup: Past & Present (Part 4)
Post Your Mac Setup: Past & Present (Part 5)
Post Your Mac Setup: Past & Present (Part 6)
Post Your Mac Setup: Past & Present (Part 7) <- This thread
Post Your Mac Setup: Past & Present (Part 8)

Please refrain from quoting images. If you want to see the picture that a post is referring to, you can press this button: .

For large images (over ~800 pixels wide), please use [timg] tags rather than plain old [img] tags

We ask that everyone refrains from reposting the same image in multiple threads. That includes the "Under 18" as well as "Post Your Mac Setup" threads.

We do realize that this will still sometimes occur. If/when that happens, please report it by clicking on the "Report Post" icon () and include a link to both posts. Thank you.


__________________________________________________________________


in our office.


--

__________________
-Patrick
15" macbook pro -- 20" imac -- 80g ipod -- 16g iphone 3gs -- 1tb mybook ex-hdd

Last edited by xUKHCx; Feb 9, 2009 at 04:20 PM. Reason: added mod note
xpjx is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2008, 12:07 PM   #2
KC2
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Lots of stuff and patterns going on there, but VERY organized chaos. Looks sharp!
KC2 is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2008, 12:16 PM   #3
deriko100
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicholas Mosher View Post
I just got everything setup about an hour ago.
It's going to be my workhorse through the rest of the Engineering program I'm in.

<snip>

Ohhhh... I love it...
Nice, How do you like the mac pro, just a random question.
__________________
13" Uni Macbook pro

Last edited by WildCowboy; Nov 1, 2008 at 06:05 PM. Reason: snipped images from quote
deriko100 is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2008, 01:29 PM   #4
Nicholas Mosher
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Quote:
Originally Posted by deriko100
Nice, How do you like the mac pro, just a random question.
So far so good. I'm getting into 3D modeling/animation, and I needed something that could render faster than the 2.0GHz C2D in my Macbook. At school I run everything from Cinema 4D to AutoCAD to Mathematica to Office Apps... usually at the same time. I plan to fully take advantage of the multiple display capabilities of the Mac Pro as my funds replenish from last week's hit. I'm gonna' have to use bootcamp for AutoCAD most likely, but everything else I run is available for the Mac.

I use Mac Pros almost every day at school in the modeling lab, but now I'm glad I have one at home that is available 24/7 for my needs!
__________________
Mac Pro, 2x 2.8GHz QC, 2GB RAM, 500GB HDD, 8800 GT, 2x SD, 23" ACD
Macbook, 2.0GHz, 1GB RAM, 120GB HDD, SD
8GB iPhone
Nicholas Mosher is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2008, 01:39 PM   #5
229dan229
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicholas Mosher View Post
So far so good. I'm getting into 3D modeling/animation, and I needed something that could render faster than the 2.0GHz C2D in my Macbook. At school I run everything from Cinema 4D to AutoCAD to Mathematica to Office Apps... usually at the same time. I plan to fully take advantage of the multiple display capabilities of the Mac Pro as my funds replenish from last week's hit. I'm gonna' have to use bootcamp for AutoCAD most likely, but everything else I run is available for the Mac.

I use Mac Pros almost every day at school in the modeling lab, but now I'm glad I have one at home that is available 24/7 for my needs!
I think you should set up a 2nd display and just run parallels. Probably easier than keep re-booting.
229dan229 is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2008, 02:16 PM   #6
Nicholas Mosher
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Massachusetts
I've heard that AutoCAD has compatibility issues with Parallels... is there any truth to this?
-----
Although I really liked the 30" ACD, it wasn't in my budget. This setup alone was close to $4500!
To be honest, I'm not sure the 30" would have worked in our small office... I do have limited space as I'm sure you can see.
Another 23" ACD might be in the works... I'll have to figure out another way to illuminate my desk though, as my favorite lamps will be displaced.

Someday when I build my own home (or rebuild an old one) I'll be able to design a workspace that allows more displays.
It's definitely a setback to not have everything up and available to work on at once. Oh well... I can manage with this "compromise"...
__________________
Mac Pro, 2x 2.8GHz QC, 2GB RAM, 500GB HDD, 8800 GT, 2x SD, 23" ACD
Macbook, 2.0GHz, 1GB RAM, 120GB HDD, SD
8GB iPhone

Last edited by Nicholas Mosher; Nov 1, 2008 at 02:22 PM.
Nicholas Mosher is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2008, 02:18 PM   #7
dukebound85
macrumors P6
 
dukebound85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 5045 feet above sea level
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicholas Mosher View Post
I've heard that AutoCAD has compatibility issues with Parallels... is there any truth to this?
probably as parallels does not have direct access to the graphics card

i dont know for sure though but it would not surprise me in the least
dukebound85 is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2008, 02:21 PM   #8
GoCubsGo
macrumors Nehalem
 
GoCubsGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
This will be my very last setup in California. Figured I'd make good use of it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0751.jpg
Views:	714
Size:	420.5 KB
ID:	142430   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0752.jpg
Views:	1139
Size:	340.9 KB
ID:	142431  
GoCubsGo is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2008, 02:39 PM   #9
JG271
macrumors 6502a
 
JG271's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
I'm loving the clash poster on the right!
JG271 is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2008, 02:52 PM   #10
queshy
macrumors 68040
 
queshy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by jessica. View Post
This will be my very last setup in California. Figured I'd make good use of it.
I love the "classic" ACD so much better than the new one...nice set up. If you have spare time you can buy an Ikea Signum for $20 which will help you manage those unsightly wires.
queshy is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2008, 02:58 PM   #11
deriko100
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by dukebound85 View Post
probably as parallels does not have direct access to the graphics card

i dont know for sure though but it would not surprise me in the least
What about vmware fusion?
__________________
13" Uni Macbook pro
deriko100 is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2008, 03:04 PM   #12
GoCubsGo
macrumors Nehalem
 
GoCubsGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by queshy View Post
I love the "classic" ACD so much better than the new one...nice set up. If you have spare time you can buy an Ikea Signum for $20 which will help you manage those unsightly wires.
I have it BUT, there are two large power surge protectors in that bin with so many wires that the Signum won't hold everything. The power brick to the ACD is on the Signum as well as a Firewire hub and a couple other things.

The wires don't bug me much and I'm not investing any time in fixing things now that I am leaving come end of year.

At least they're all in one bin.
GoCubsGo is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2008, 03:26 PM   #13
queshy
macrumors 68040
 
queshy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by jessica. View Post
I have it BUT, there are two large power surge protectors in that bin with so many wires that the Signum won't hold everything. The power brick to the ACD is on the Signum as well as a Firewire hub and a couple other things.

The wires don't bug me much and I'm not investing any time in fixing things now that I am leaving come end of year.

At least they're all in one bin.
Hah, that's too bad then about the signum. I really jammed mine up...it's holding power bars, modems, etc.

Yeah, I guess the bin is better than nothing. besides the wires show way more in picture than in real life. Again, I love the display...can't wait til I'm older and can actually have a need for such a big/nice monitor, for now my 24" white iMac will suffice.
queshy is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2008, 03:30 PM   #14
bobfitz14
macrumors 65816
 
bobfitz14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Quote:
Originally Posted by opo101 View Post
Few changes made to mine.
i want your desk haha. it looks sturdy and roomy, where did you buy it?
__________________
2012 MBP 15" {2.3GHz i7, 10GB, 500GB} iPhone 5S {VZW, 16GB, space gray}
Retired: 2010 MBP 13" {2.4GHz C2D} -- iPhone 5 64GB -- iPhone 4S 64GB -- iPod Touch 32GB -- iPod Video 30GB
bobfitz14 is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2008, 03:35 PM   #15
BoyBach
macrumors 68040
 
BoyBach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by shan21 View Post
My New Setup

had to take picture with my iphone

Is that a bullet next to the Apple Remote?
__________________
"I'm sensing a change in management style here, from touchy-feely to smashy-testes."
BoyBach is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2008, 03:46 PM   #16
skyrider007
macrumors 65816
 
skyrider007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bangkok
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoyBach View Post
Is that a bullet next to the Apple Remote?
looks like a lipstick to me
__________________
15.4" MacBook Pro 2.0GHz i7 iPad 3G iPod Touch 16GB (2G)
BlackBerry Bold 9780 (white)
skyrider007 is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2008, 04:19 PM   #17
GoCubsGo
macrumors Nehalem
 
GoCubsGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by queshy View Post
Hah, that's too bad then about the signum. I really jammed mine up...it's holding power bars, modems, etc.

Yeah, I guess the bin is better than nothing. besides the wires show way more in picture than in real life. Again, I love the display...can't wait til I'm older and can actually have a need for such a big/nice monitor, for now my 24" white iMac will suffice.
TBH the 24" iMac is nothing to sneeze at and you're right, I don't see the wires and my chair is always pushed in. So ... short of someone wanting to actually come over and take care of my wires for me, there they shall stay. When I move I think I'll hire a man toy for a month to do all the little things I haven't any desire to do ... and some things I do have a desire to do.

30" is nice and I started to get wiggly about the rumored updates as well. Once that new ACD hit I was nearly giddy knowing it wasn't something I'd ever want to purchase.
GoCubsGo is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2008, 04:33 PM   #18
l3ebs
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
*Official Computer Room Pictures*

Hey Guys,

I did this thread over at www.overclock.net over a year ago now. It is a very popular topic with almost 5000 posts. Its a great way to show off your computer rooms and get inspiration and ideas from other members.

If you want post a couple of pics of your computer room/setup.

If you want, comment on the Person above you and give them a rating out of 10.

Laters

Thumb resize.

Thumb resize.

Thumb resize.

Thumb resize.

Thumb resize.

Thumb resize.

Thumb resize.

Thumb resize.

Thumb resize.

Thumb resize.

Thumb resize.
__________________
Macbook Pro 15" i7 2.2Ghz Quad | 4GB | 500GB HD 7200
Macbook Air 13" (Late 2010) 1.86Ghz | 2GB | 128GB SSD
iPhone 4 32GB
iPod Classic 160GB

Last edited by WildCowboy; Nov 1, 2008 at 06:06 PM. Reason: thumbnailed large images
l3ebs is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2008, 04:34 PM   #19
vohdoun
macrumors 65816
 
vohdoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Far away from Earth.
When did you get the Mac Pro, jessica.?

Quote:
Originally Posted by klaus View Post
Cleaned my desk this weekend:

<snip>

Click for larger view on flickr.

Power Mac G5 dual 2.5 GHZ - 5gb ram - ATI X800XT.
23" Cinema Display
20" Cinema Display

Macbook Pro 2.16 ghz - 3gb ram

Wacom A4

iPhone 8 gb
Damn!
__________________
Bright light. Bright light.

Last edited by WildCowboy; Nov 1, 2008 at 06:07 PM. Reason: snipped image from quote
vohdoun is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2008, 04:41 PM   #20
TJunkers
macrumors 6502a
 
TJunkers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New Jersey
Awesome set up... Just one question... why didnt you get the big mousepad? hahah jk. I have same one and love it. I like your plane collection too! you should get the JU 52; one of my Great Grandfathers planes.
__________________
TJunkers.com - 3D Artist, Designer, and Photography
TJunkers is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2008, 04:54 PM   #21
ChrisN
macrumors 65816
 
ChrisN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Demarest, NJ
Geez 3 monitors, a macbook, and a tv all in the same room this thread seems like a great way to show your wealth lol

But nice room man love all the things you have, i wish i had them.

ChrisN
__________________
24" iMac Alu 2.8GHz, 13" MacBook White 2.0GHz, 8Gb iPhone 1st gen day 1, 8Gb iPhone 3G, 8GB iPod Nano 4G Orange.
ChrisN is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2008, 05:05 PM   #22
deriko100
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicholas Mosher View Post
<snip>

What is that verizon thing?
__________________
13" Uni Macbook pro

Last edited by WildCowboy; Nov 1, 2008 at 06:04 PM. Reason: snipped image from quote
deriko100 is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2008, 05:17 PM   #23
199708
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisN View Post
Geez 3 monitors, a macbook, and a tv all in the same room this thread seems like a great way to show your wealth lol

But nice room man love all the things you have, i wish i had them.

ChrisN
mum and dad didnt let him use other rooms for his junk
199708 is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2008, 05:20 PM   #24
nden
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Where did you buy those desk from?

Nice setup .
__________________
iPad 2 WiFi 32GB
iPhone 5 16GB
iPhone 4 32GB
MacMini Intel C2D 2.53GHz, 4GB RAM, X25-M 80GB SSD
nden is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2008, 05:37 PM   #25
The Samurai
macrumors 68000
 
The Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Glasgow
Liking the table, glass

Nice, big and clean room - unlike mines
__________________
AyeGear l iDevice / Gadget & Travel Clothing - iPad & Macbook Air Pockets
The Samurai is offline   0


Closed Thread
MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Picture Gallery

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Post Your Mac Setup: Past & Present (Part 19) stridemat Picture Gallery 2054 Sep 8, 2014 03:25 AM
Post Your Mac Setup: Past & Present (Part 18) stridemat Picture Gallery 2021 Aug 11, 2013 02:21 PM
Your Past, Present, and Future Car AustinIllini Community Discussion 43 Jun 14, 2013 10:49 AM
Post Your Mac Setup: Past & Present (Part 17) Goftrey Picture Gallery 1537 Nov 25, 2012 02:45 PM
Post Your Windows Setup: Past & Present (Part 1) NbinHD Picture Gallery 2 Jul 6, 2012 07:00 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC